We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Columbus
Ranked #61 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful lobby, very friendly staff, from the valets to the bartenders. We were completely satisfied with our two day stay. The staff went out of their way to please us. When we discovered one of our rooms was small with only one bed, I called down to ask for a room with two beds. The clerk said, "I'll bring you some keys right up." He gave us keys to a huge room. The front desk will give you a free drink coupon if you give them your email and you can get $5 coupons for not having maid service. The only bad thing is the expensive valet, but you can park across the street in the parking garage for $9 a day instead of $22. You can park even farther away in a lot for $5. Also, we got a great rate on express deals on priceline.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, just ask for a different one. They will gladly accommodate you. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    172
    133
    64
    38
See reviews for
119
185
48
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

No detail goes untouched here. From the refreshments available in the beautiful lobby to the perfectly clean and fresh bedrooms, I've stayed here several times and would highly recommend it. The hotel is located downtown and very convenient to good restaurants, the theater and any number of events taking place downtown. The staff has always been friendly and knowledgeable and the hotel offers many accommodations, including allowing pets! The hotels is always involved with local charities and is incredible supportive of the community.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton,Ct.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This old hotel was very charming. The room and bed were very comfortable. The best part was the convenient location to old Germantown as you can walk to the pubs and restaurants. You also have a good choice in the hotel as far as a nice lounge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluejaymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Bluejaymar,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Columbus. We appreciate your patronage and your generous review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again in the future!
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stay here for work and prefer it over the other SPG hotels in the area (Sheraton). The staff is always very helpful and accommodating.

Pros:
Gym with free weights, treadmills, clean towels and TVs
Breakfast is very good, including the buffet
The bar area offers several options on tap, including local varieties (*Also, the bar offers MLB TV - all games)
Beautiful historical building
Great location for work (near State offices)

Cons:
None

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear RobertH,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Columbus. We appreciate your patronage and your generous review and kind words. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything further we can do to keep you coming back!
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, oh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Westin on High Street better known for many decades as the Great Southern Hotel. The place is totally gracious. Meticulously clean, charming staff, and in an area that is easily accessibly to several very good local restaurants and pubs. My wife and I really enjoy the gracious old style hotels and always seek them out when we travel and the Great Southern did not disappoint. The in-room heater/AC was a bit nosy but we have experienced much worse, and it wasn't a problem. Tip: you can park across the street at large municipal garage or go to the next street over from High Street (3rd street} and you can park at a meter for free from 6:00 PM to 8:00 AM , after 8:00 you need to feed the meter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor....the elevators default there so there is always one waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhLac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Ohlac,
Thank you for your taking the time to share your comments! We are delighted to receive such a generous review. I hope that you will continue to choose the Westin Columbus and will return many times in the future.
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Location: Not bad. There were restaurants and pubs nearby (walking distance)

Hotel: The lobby was gorgeous but that's where it ended. We were on the third floor and got an interior room with a view of a wall. That's Ok. It's an old hotel and we were expecting some unique layouts when it came to the room. Everything was fine until we pulled down the comforter to find bloody sheets. Seriously? This was the most disgusting thing I've ever encountered in a hotel. We called down to the front desk and they said they would change our room. Ok. We went down to the lobby to get the new key and was asked what they could do for us. In my opinion, they shouldn't have had to ask. They should have offered upgraded room or free breakfast or free valet. Offer, don't ask. I'm in a hotel and expect to be taken care of. We asked for free valet and the desk clerk said he would have to get manager approval and would call us later to let us know. He did call a little later and said he'd gotten the approval for us to receive free valet for our inconvenience. We were moved across the hall and 2 doors down. The room looked out on the lawn of the county courthouse but we realized the drawback of this room as soon as it got dark. The spotlight for the front of the hotel was pointed into our room (see pics).

The next morning we were going to check out via the TV options but saw that we had charges for valet parking. After going to the front desk and explaining again why we changed rooms, we got the charges removed but someone had to check again.

Hotel breakfast: decent. There were eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, waffles, fruit. The regular fare. Nothing exceptional. We wandered in. Was not acknowledged. Got food (no drinks though). Was still not noticed despite staff walking around. Actually pondered if we would get drinks before we were done eating. Finally got noticed and drinks. The server was great from that point on but, sheesh.

We will not go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shantikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Shantikay,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is important for us to know when we have failed to meet the expectations of our guests and we take your feedback very seriously. Please accept my sincere apology for presenting a less than perfect guestroom to you. This is totally unacceptable and I can certainly understand how disturbing it must have been. I also apologize for the poor response of our Guest Services team. Please be assured that we will use your comments to spur ourselves to improve in all areas.
I hope that you will give us a second chance in the future. I would appreciate the opportunity to demonstrate our true commitment to your complete satisfaction.
Warm regards,
MReddy, General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a hotel in the grand old fashion. I am so glad that Westin took over this historic place and maintained its lovely old features while making it a comfortable place to stay with modern amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear SheilaC,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. The staff and I join you in our enjoyment of this beautiful historic hotel. We are commited to ensuring that we not just maintain the hotel, but improve and refresh it so that it continues to be a one-of-a-kind experience in Columbus.
Please come back again soon!
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Columbus

Property: The Westin Columbus
Address: 310 S High St, Columbus, OH 43215-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Columbusis ideally situated in the heart of the Downtown Columbus business district. This Columbus, Ohio hotel is within walking distance of the Greater Columbus Convention Center, and some of the finest things to do in Columbus, including the State Capitol, Nationwide Arena, the Arena District, the Brewery District, German Village, Ohio's Center of Science & Industry, and the Short North Area. HISTORIC HOTEL IN COLUMBUS Known as The Great Southern Hotel since its grand beginnings in 1897, the city's most-renowned hotel offers guests gracious service and luxurious surroundings. The hotel's grandiose architecture is from a different era and is the perfect backdrop to your big day - begin planning your Columbus wedding today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Columbus Hotel Columbus
Westin Columbus
Columbus Westin
The Westin Columbus Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing