We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Columbus
Ranked #61 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
columbus, oh
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gracious”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Westin on High Street better known for many decades as the Great Southern Hotel. The place is totally gracious. Meticulously clean, charming staff, and in an area that is easily accessibly to several very good local restaurants and pubs. My wife and I really enjoy the gracious old style hotels and always seek them out when we travel and the Great Southern did not disappoint. The in-room heater/AC was a bit nosy but we have experienced much worse, and it wasn't a problem. Tip: you can park across the street at large municipal garage or go to the next street over from High Street (3rd street} and you can park at a meter for free from 6:00 PM to 8:00 AM , after 8:00 you need to feed the meter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor....the elevators default there so there is always one waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhLac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Ohlac,
Thank you for your taking the time to share your comments! We are delighted to receive such a generous review. I hope that you will continue to choose the Westin Columbus and will return many times in the future.
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    175
    134
    68
    38
See reviews for
123
189
48
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Location: Not bad. There were restaurants and pubs nearby (walking distance)

Hotel: The lobby was gorgeous but that's where it ended. We were on the third floor and got an interior room with a view of a wall. That's Ok. It's an old hotel and we were expecting some unique layouts when it came to the room. Everything was fine until we pulled down the comforter to find bloody sheets. Seriously? This was the most disgusting thing I've ever encountered in a hotel. We called down to the front desk and they said they would change our room. Ok. We went down to the lobby to get the new key and was asked what they could do for us. In my opinion, they shouldn't have had to ask. They should have offered upgraded room or free breakfast or free valet. Offer, don't ask. I'm in a hotel and expect to be taken care of. We asked for free valet and the desk clerk said he would have to get manager approval and would call us later to let us know. He did call a little later and said he'd gotten the approval for us to receive free valet for our inconvenience. We were moved across the hall and 2 doors down. The room looked out on the lawn of the county courthouse but we realized the drawback of this room as soon as it got dark. The spotlight for the front of the hotel was pointed into our room (see pics).

The next morning we were going to check out via the TV options but saw that we had charges for valet parking. After going to the front desk and explaining again why we changed rooms, we got the charges removed but someone had to check again.

Hotel breakfast: decent. There were eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, waffles, fruit. The regular fare. Nothing exceptional. We wandered in. Was not acknowledged. Got food (no drinks though). Was still not noticed despite staff walking around. Actually pondered if we would get drinks before we were done eating. Finally got noticed and drinks. The server was great from that point on but, sheesh.

We will not go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingShanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Shantikay,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is important for us to know when we have failed to meet the expectations of our guests and we take your feedback very seriously. Please accept my sincere apology for presenting a less than perfect guestroom to you. This is totally unacceptable and I can certainly understand how disturbing it must have been. I also apologize for the poor response of our Guest Services team. Please be assured that we will use your comments to spur ourselves to improve in all areas.
I hope that you will give us a second chance in the future. I would appreciate the opportunity to demonstrate our true commitment to your complete satisfaction.
Warm regards,
MReddy, General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a hotel in the grand old fashion. I am so glad that Westin took over this historic place and maintained its lovely old features while making it a comfortable place to stay with modern amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear SheilaC,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. The staff and I join you in our enjoyment of this beautiful historic hotel. We are commited to ensuring that we not just maintain the hotel, but improve and refresh it so that it continues to be a one-of-a-kind experience in Columbus.
Please come back again soon!
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Westin is my favorite hotel in Columbus. The staff is amazingly friendly, and having stayed there for 6 consecutive months, they really made an effort to get to know me and make the hotel feel like home. It's a great business hotel because there are lots of nice restaurants nearby, you can grab breakfast to go in the morning if needed, and there are lots of work spaces and a very nice/large gym. Every Tuesday they have a manager reception with wine and appetizers. You can also work and eat in their restaurant which has great food and a nightly special. Really, I can't recommend it enough! If I had one criticism, the hotel is a little older so the rooms aren't sleek and modern but they are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eesauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear eesauter,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a nice review! We are always delighted to see you return and hope that we may continue to welcome you in the future.
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I travel every week for work and have stayed in more hotels in different cities than I can count. The Westin Columbus completely exceeded my expectations and is the best hotel I have ever stayed at...the staff, the service, the rooms, the amenities...honestly, I was very impressed with everything. The Westin staff go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. Carla Farmer and Phil DeMiller in Sales are some of the nicest and most professional people you will ever meet. They have treated us like we were their own since day 1 and are true assets to the Westin. Whether its leaving little gifts in your room, picking up a gift card for you, or helping you with a last minute reservation - the staff bends over backward to meet your every need. George and Rashida at the front desk are true gems and I will miss seeing their smiling faces everyday. I have been spoiled by staying at this property and am sad to move onto a different project in a different city. I do hope I will get to stay here again in the near future though! This hotel is my favorite hands down!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen12345_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Jenn12345_13,
Please let me join with the entire staff to say that we have enjoyed being your host hotel and hope sincerely that we may welcome you back in the future! I also want to thank you for your generous words of praise, it was very thoughtful of you to take the time to share such a warm review.
Best regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've stayed at the Westin Columbus a couple of times. It's always been a pretty good experience. This building is a bit older than most Westin buildings and the rooms are a bit older, but it has a nice classic vibe as well. On one occasion, my room wasn't ready when I arrived at 11pm at night, but they gave me a suite in about a half hour. The location is great, right in downtown Columbus,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I took advantage of their weekend special and stayed for two nights

The room had a nice sized bathroom, well sized desk for doing work, flat screen TV with about 50 channels and a safe. I am a very light sleeper but I slept great both nights. The bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed the fact that they had two different kinds of Starbucks coffee for the coffe maker in the rooms. The hotel brought a little welcome package of bowl of mixed nuts and some bottles of water which was nice.
I was a little worried about the valet because I have had bad experiences with valet service in the past but the guys at the Westin were very quick 4 of the 5 times I needed my car (the 5th time wasn't that bad)
The inside of the hotel was nice looking. I saw their banquet room on the 2nd floor which was impressive. I didn't try the restaurant during my stay and the bar looked nice but hardly anyone was in there so I didn't drink there (nice if you wanted to drink alone or want quiet). Also, check-in and check-out were very quick and simple.

I definitely would stay at the Westin if in Columbus again and will keep an eye out for Westin hotels in my future trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahawk3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Columbus

Property: The Westin Columbus
Address: 310 S High St, Columbus, OH 43215-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Columbusis ideally situated in the heart of the Downtown Columbus business district. This Columbus, Ohio hotel is within walking distance of the Greater Columbus Convention Center, and some of the finest things to do in Columbus, including the State Capitol, Nationwide Arena, the Arena District, the Brewery District, German Village, Ohio's Center of Science & Industry, and the Short North Area. HISTORIC HOTEL IN COLUMBUS Known as The Great Southern Hotel since its grand beginnings in 1897, the city's most-renowned hotel offers guests gracious service and luxurious surroundings. The hotel's grandiose architecture is from a different era and is the perfect backdrop to your big day - begin planning your Columbus wedding today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Columbus Hotel Columbus
Westin Columbus
Columbus Westin
The Westin Columbus Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing