We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Columbus, bar none”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Columbus
Ranked #60 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Columbus, bar none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

At first glance on any travel site, Columbus does not have any 5 star hotels. Without knowing what to choose, one might pick the Hyatt on Capitol Square or the Hilton. Both are decent hotels. I have stayed at all three. The Westin stands out amongst its peers. High class, high luxury, and centrally located. The room service is exquisite and the rooms are quaint (not uncommon in a downtown hotel) but very luxurious. They possess the most comfortable bed in a hotel in central Ohio. The thing that stands out the most is the level of customer service. They treat you like the Ritz Carlton would. The Hyatt is right down the street and offers larger rooms (at typically a higher price) but the rooms are not very clean, need renovated and the overall guest experience is far below par. The Westin is, by far, without a doubt, the best luxury hotel in Columbus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    172
    133
    64
    38
See reviews for
119
185
48
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

In a city that generally lacks Grand Hotels, this is the exception. The hotel is a beautiful old building with a grand lobby and large, well appointed rooms. The beds, like all Westin beds, are amazing. The staff is well trained and friendly. In all, it is my favorite hotel in Columbus.

The hotel is conveniently located between the German Village section of Columbus and Downtown but the real charm is the proximity of the Southern Theatre which is within the building itself. On Saturday night they had quite a good jazz band. The bar is quite nice with an accomplished bar tender.

My only complaint about the hotel is that the valet parking was overwhelmed by a ball and a wedding while I was there. The valets coped heroically with the overflow but it was a little inconvenient. If you are faced with such a situation there is a fine public parking garage across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdh1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We live in Columbus, but decided on an end-of-winter anniversary overnight stay at the Westin Columbus, combined with dinner at Cameron Mitchell's Steakhouse and attendance at the Columbus Jazz Orchestra show at the Southern Theater. We had a great experience. Our stay at the Westin was perfect. The hotel is very historic and older, with smaller rooms (we had a very nice junior suite with king bed), which is understandable give the age of the hotel. Our room was very nicely decorated in muted tones with a contemporary appearance. The bathroom is smaller than typical, but it gets the job done quite effectively. We had a Westin bath robe waiting which was indeed heavenly, as was the bed. There were several events going on the weekend we stayed - a wedding reception and a university dinner/dance - and we groaned as we checked in, expecting the worst. However, our check-in and check-out moved rapidly and our floor was quiet with an occasional door slam from a latenight return. The only problem we had from the crowd was that the hotel parking lot was full, but right across the street is a public parking garage that is very nicely lit, and actually had quite a few cars staying overnight alongside ours. It cost us $12 to park our car overnight in the garage. I was afraid our car might get broken into or stolen overnight, but no problem whatsoever. We walked to dinner at Cameron Mitchell, an easy 15 minute walk, but took a taxi back to the hotel/theater, cost about $5. We have actually eaten dinner at the hotel several times before, and each time it has been very very good, not run-of-the-mill hotel food/menu but very nicely conceived/prepared/presented; however, we decided to try something different this time. It was wonderful going to our event at the Southern Theater, directly attached to the hotel, and is just as historic and beautiful as the hotel. We enjoyed the Sunday buffet at the hotel restaurant and received good food and good service. Just a wonderful anniversary celebration and nice to enjoy aspects of the city we live in, but as "tourists."

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OhioTravelers9663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear OhioTraveler9663,
Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of the hotel and your stay! We are delighted that you had an enjoyable, relaxing Anniversary and we hope that we may welcome you back many times in the future.
Warm regards,
Mahesh Reddy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel building itself if beautiful. Very old building but it was tastfully done. The lobby had so much detail that you don't get to see anymore. The room was the most comfortable room I have ever stayed in. The bed was cozy (AMAZING) and everything was clean! The towels were plush and the shower was a huge walk in with a double shower head. Even the bars of soap were shaped like a leaf with a nice fragrance. Valet parking was efficient and quick. Only one little mishap with people in the hall that evening. There was a wedding party on our floor and someone got to a fight in the hall around 2:30 in the morning. I didn't call the front desk but they finally went to bed. The staff treated us really nice and they even went and filled my ice bucket when I ran into her in the hall. A special suprize of buckeye candy at check-out. We were going to a concert at the Bluestone and the location was perfect. Just a mile and a quarter away. There is a parking fee of $20.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryElkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second trip here this year. The first time we came on a weekend and enjoyed a quiet stay at this downtown hotel, and a weekend bargain to boot. Our week day stay was altoghter different. The beautiful lobby was crowded with folding tables, conference materials and conference attendees. The valet parking was quite a bit slower than we had previously experienced making it inconvenient for in and out trips. The bellman was almost forceful with his assistance and appeared more motivated to earn a tip than to assist as needed. On the positive side, the room was clean and we were able to attend the Todd Snider concert at the Southern Theater without ever walking outside. I would still consider a weekday stay here if attending a show at the Southern, but otherwise, we'll stick to the weekends for this busy downtown locale.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice hotel in re-purposed, old office building. Semi-grand lobby, nice staff. Room floors have long, long hallways. I was in a 2 room corner suite. Room was very big, high ceilings. Bathroom was functional but comparatively small. Windows and/or the through wall HVAC units allowed ample street noise into the room.

Location might be considered 'isolated' so double check its proximity to your destination etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Chitown2,
Thank you for staying at the Westin Columbus. I am afraid that you may have received a misunderstanding. The Westin Columbus, the Great Southern Hotel, was built in 1896, the first fireproof hotel in Columbus, a response to several major hotel fires of the period. We were also the first hotel to be have electricity. The hotel originally had 250 guestrooms, and 50 rooms had private baths! The majority of travelers enjoyed the large communal bathrooms located at the ends of the hallways. Many famous Americans have stayed at the hotel during the last 117 years and we are still renown for our service and hospitality. We are located just a few blocks south of the center of town and the State Capital building, across from the new Franklin County courthouse. We are on the edge of historic German Village, sitting at the crossroads of route 70 and 71, the center of Ohio! Our guestrooms were completely renovated recently (and they all have private baths now!) and we are proud to be a member of the Starwood Hotels and Resorts family.
I hope that you will return any time you are in Columbus.
Warm regards,
MReddy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I got in late and the staff were so nice. They got me checked in quick and were really friendly. The room was small and unimpressive. The most amazing part of the room was the bed! It was so comfortable and perfect. Go for the bed and sleep in!
I do think that with such an expensive hotel you shouldn't have to pay $10/night for WiFi. It should be included.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonitaRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear BonitaRebel,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Columbus and for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our Heavenly Bed. I hope you will return again soon.
Warm regards,
Mahesh Reddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Columbus

Property: The Westin Columbus
Address: 310 S High St, Columbus, OH 43215-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Columbusis ideally situated in the heart of the Downtown Columbus business district. This Columbus, Ohio hotel is within walking distance of the Greater Columbus Convention Center, and some of the finest things to do in Columbus, including the State Capitol, Nationwide Arena, the Arena District, the Brewery District, German Village, Ohio's Center of Science & Industry, and the Short North Area. HISTORIC HOTEL IN COLUMBUS Known as The Great Southern Hotel since its grand beginnings in 1897, the city's most-renowned hotel offers guests gracious service and luxurious surroundings. The hotel's grandiose architecture is from a different era and is the perfect backdrop to your big day - begin planning your Columbus wedding today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Columbus Hotel Columbus
Westin Columbus
Columbus Westin
The Westin Columbus Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing