We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Columbus
Ranked #63 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Westchester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I hate to bash a hotel, but had several complaints.

First there were numerous things wrong with my room. The hook on the bathroom door to hand towels was almost totally unscrewed when I checked in, and looked like it would fall out. I unscrewed it and put it on the sink, and there it sat for two days. Also the built in surge protector outlet on the desk was burnt out and inoperable. It's an older property and looks like it could use some updating.

Second I ate at the breakfast dining room twice - the first day ordered a corn beef hash which was totally unlike any corn beef hash I've ever gotten, more fried cold cuts on top of big chunks of potato. Second day, I went early to get some breakfast buffet so that I could do some work. It was scheduled to open at 6am, but it took until 620 before everything was totally out.

Third location was a bit off the beaten track - a few long blocks from downtown on one side and German Brewery district on the other. Across from the court complex. Not too much going on around there.

Next time will book closer to the capital building.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiki1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Kiki1980,
You are a valued guest and I deeply regret that your stay was marred by the issues you described. I have forwarded your remarks to our managers so that we can all strive to improve in the future. Ours is not just an older property, we are a 117 years old! We must always be on our toes to ensure that our guestrooms are in perfect condition. Please come back again.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    173
    133
    67
    38
See reviews for
122
187
48
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while traveling for business. The Westin brand has the Heavenly Bed, it was heavenly! Best hotel bed I've tried! And the shower - 2 shower heads!! Awesome!

I was also impressed by the option to have New Balance shoes & clothes delivered to the room for only $5 to use to work out (unfortunately, I did not have time to take advantage of that option).

The size of the rooms reminded me of downtown Manhattan high rise rooms (smaller, but efficient use of space).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkabernathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear lkabernathy,
Thank you for your kind words! I hope that you will return again in the future!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stopped here for a night on a road trip south with our dog. The staff was welcoming of us all and we spent a very comfortable night here. Within walkin distance of the German Village neighborhood and riverside parks, and only a short drive to downtown, we were able to explore more of Columbus than we expected in 24 hours. This a great place to tuck away and still experience the city and the staff is very friendly to humans and animals. Our room was quiet and peaceful, soothingly decorated with neutral colors and simple elegant furniture. The bed is firm and wide and the shower was hot and strong. We didn't have to worry about anything. We'll definitely come back the next time around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtc8z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear jtc8z,
Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again in the future. We have even more to offer when the weather warms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The physical property is above average, though not gorgeous. The lobby is nice, the bar is depressing. The room was decent, bed comfortable, bathroom a bit cramped. The price was great though, and I didn't mind the 3-4 block walk to the main intersection at Front and Broad where I had business. At night, the area was a little desolate, but evidently safe. Nothing to really walk across the street to, in terms of food or drink. If you're heading to a Blue Jacket game, you'll need a cab.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGOTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear CGOTVLR,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I hope that you will return when the weather warms and experience more of the downtown Columbus attractions. The city is really striving to make the downtown area a true destination.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We look forward to an annual getaway at this hotel, just for fun. We love the boutique, unique feel of this historic hotel. The staff are friendly and professional. The Thurber Bar is comfortable and classy. The size of the room never concerns us. The beds are comfy and the shower great. We enjoyed the jazz concert in the Southern Theater attached to the hotel, and we love that we can walk the distance to German Village and the Brewery Distrist as well as great restaurants within a block or two..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Andy S,
We are delighted that you choose the Westin Columbus for a get-away! Please don't forget to check for special promotions on our website, or let my assistant know that you are returning and she will be happy to make your reservation personally!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was a nice stay. The hotel is a restored historic building.. The lobby is very nice and grand. It has a lounge and a small restaurant. We only had breakfast there. It was a nice buffet although you could order from the menu also. There is a fairly large workout room. The staff were all very nice and polite. The room was a good size and clean. The king bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located across the street from the courthouse and businesses so at night the streets are closed up. My husband and I were uncomfortable walking around at night. We valet parked so we used the car for everything. Also, while we were there on Sat night there was a wedding and a law school "prom" if you will. The building was packed and VERY noisy. The law school party was on the balconies over the lobby and you could hardly hear yourself think. You may want to ask what's booked for events before booking a room. Overall, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacheragain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Teacheragain,
Thank you for staying at the Westin Columbus. I appreciate the time you took to give an evaluation, and thank you for the generous words. Please accept my sincere apology for the disturbances that you experienced. I cannot change the past, or erase a poor first impression, but I hope that you will return in the future and permit us to demonstrate our true commitment to YOUR comfort and satisfaction! Please let me know if you are thinking of returning and I will be delighted to personally supervise your reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Westin Columbus, after getting an excellent rate directly from the Westin (Starwood) online booking. (Hint: Find your property, then click on 'Offers' in the banner menu.) The deal was a great rate on a room (equal to the apparent Hotwire price for the same hotel), plus either free parking or breakfast for 2 for each night of the stay.

Overall, we had a good stay, and everything was pretty much as promised (we got the free breakfast, the hotel amenities were exactly as described, the room -- we booked a 2-room suite -- was exactly as described, etc.), and we got a great rate relative to the rack rates for this hotel. However, given that the Westin is only one of a handful of 4-star hotels in Columbus, I feel it's worth pointing out that in some ways this hotel falls short:

- There is no pool or spa (note that this is "accurate" in the amenities, as there is no pool listed, but it seems odd that a 4-star hotel wouldn't have a pool)
- The food in the restaurant seemed equivalent to most average hotel restaurants (we only dined for breakfast, and it was a typical buffet with limited menu)
- There are a few "perks" such as being able to rent fitness gear for $5, the "heavenly" dual shower head, etc., but these still don't add quite up to 4 stars.
- The room sizes seem to be equivalent to 3.5-star hotels I have stayed in the same area. (We booked a suite, which had a separate "living room" from the bedroom, but the bedroom alone would have been just a queen-sized room.)

There are a few ways this Westin does rise a bit above -- all the staff were very friendly, expedient, and helpful. Also, the building itself is a wonderful restoration of a historic building, and the room appointments are a notch higher than a 3-star hotel, and there is a fairly large workout room -- better than most hotels.

Overall, this is a good hotel, but be advised you should weigh your choice between the actual rate you pay and the amenities you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dferencz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear dferencz,
I want to thank you for staying at the Westin Columbus. I appreciate the time that you took to evaluate the hotel, and I want to also thank you for recognizing the excellent service that our associates provide to our guests. We are proud to share our unique hotel, a historic property, and a winner of the AAA 4 Diamond Award each year for the last decade and more. I hope that you will return again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Columbus

Property: The Westin Columbus
Address: 310 S High St, Columbus, OH 43215-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Columbusis ideally situated in the heart of the Downtown Columbus business district. This Columbus, Ohio hotel is within walking distance of the Greater Columbus Convention Center, and some of the finest things to do in Columbus, including the State Capitol, Nationwide Arena, the Arena District, the Brewery District, German Village, Ohio's Center of Science & Industry, and the Short North Area. HISTORIC HOTEL IN COLUMBUS Known as The Great Southern Hotel since its grand beginnings in 1897, the city's most-renowned hotel offers guests gracious service and luxurious surroundings. The hotel's grandiose architecture is from a different era and is the perfect backdrop to your big day - begin planning your Columbus wedding today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Columbus Hotel Columbus
Westin Columbus
Columbus Westin
The Westin Columbus Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing