We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Columbus
Ranked #43 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Ashland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel but dated”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a conference. I liked the set up of the rooms and the meeting areas. It was a very comfortable bed and we did not hear any noise whatsoever. The only complaint about the room is that it needs to be updated especially with the carpet. Things are looking worn. The hotel was gracious in donating us an executive room upstairs so we had some extra room to stretch out between meetings. The hotel is located in a safe neighborhood. We had our dinner catered and for the price we paid, it was terrible. Don't even bother. They reallly, really need to step this part of their hotel up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    234
    94
    37
    27
See reviews for
168
129
30
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am now in the midst of my second extended work related trip to the Columbus area. Years ago I stayed exclusively at the Marriott in Dublin, and returned again this year, only to find that property somewhat dated. So, I decided to head over to SPG properties in the area, and landed on the Sheraton Suites, where I have stayed for about 4 weeks now. Overall, I can't complain about anything, and would recommend the property, but a few tweaks could make it better.

The Good:
-Large suite rooms
-Comfortable bed, especially on the club level
-Updated, though not overly luxurious bathrooms
-Good location with many restaurants available in the area
-Newly refreshed gym, though a bit small for a property of this size
-The internet service actually works with pretty good speed
-Ability to decline maid service for 500 bonus SPG points per day

The OK:
-Weak, low quality breakfast selection, even if you pay for it
-Property does feel a little dated, though priced fairly for what you get
-Service is not great but not bad, but again, about right for the price/star level
-Room service menu is limited

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the non-highway side, though I haven't found noise to be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgordon24d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear jgordon24d,
Thank you for sharing you experience with us. We are glad to hear that your overall experience was a good one. If there is anything we can do for you in the future please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room, service and experience at this location was very good. The room was serviced quickly and the hotel offered many services. The work out area is very good and room had a very good coffee service. The hotel is getting a little warn. The carpet shows age as well as the fixtures. The bar area was small and the bar tender was more worried about us leaving without paying than service. This hotel is very close from going from good to great. It needs some help. You can hear a train so choose your room very carefully.

Room Tip: Stay away from the train side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RibMountain60370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Ribmountain603,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

To me Ohio doesn't scream vacation or fun time (perhaps because it's a short drive and so close to my home town) but this hotel makes me want to go back. This is an all suites hotel so you don't have to worry about all the suites being booked. I stayed here with my husband (my boyfriend at the time) so we could see the Ducks vs. Blue Jackets. It was November and snowy so there wasn't much to do outside, but that was fine because the hotel was so nice we didn't really want to leave.
The space was comfortable and all the rooms were privately divided. The bedroom and living area were seperated by lovely french doors that gave a homey feeling. The countertops were nice granite and it was equipped with a microwave and fridge. There was a wide selection of tv channels and movies to rent. The pool was nice, but it was november so we stuck to the hotub which was very nice. The area had trees and large windows so you didn't feel like you were in a stuffy gross gym jacuzzi like some hotels have.
The area around the hotel was nice with a fun sports bar a few parking lots away.
Very nice stay. Next time we catch a game we'll be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Owl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Owl85,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Columbus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Often overrun with kids in town for sporting events as it was this last weekend; common areas are then impossible to utilize without having noisy rugrats running around. Parents and hotel management are equally to blame. With two working elevators (and a total of three luggage carts) in service, everyone is vying for scarce resources. When one elevator is out of order (as it was for most of our stay) it is just plain unpleasant. Yet, our room on the 7th floor was a haven of peace and quiet and we had no major complaints about the condition of the room if you can overlook worn out carpets, damaged lampshades, and furniture that has the finish chipped away in areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 102Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear 102Reno,
Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay. We are so sorry some of our younger guests created an unpleasant experience for you and your family. Northern Columbus does play host to a number of youth events in the late spring and early summer. While generally everyone’s experience if very positive on occasion when moving that many people from one place to another at the same time there can be congestion in our comment space. I will bring your thoughts up to our team to see how we can improve the process even more. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is always the people that save the hotels from getting a one star rating. This hotel has seen better days. Everything was old and worn out. No comfortable place to meet colleagues in lobby to plug in and work. Rooms were large and had potential, but again it felt dirty sitting on the ripped couch. There was what looked like mold on the wallpaper next to the sink.

April who was our hostess, bus girl, and waitress for breakfast was the shining star. She had a great attitude and smile despite the amount of work she had to do.

Breakfast was the worst part. I looked at the buffet and it looked horrible so i looked at the menu, but it was pretty much the same as the buffet! EVERYTHING was worse than bad, cold dry eggs and potatoes, just bad, bad bad.....

There are so many other choices in this area, I can't see going back. The area is great as there are a TON of restaurants very close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upintheairtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Upintheairtomuch,
Thank you for feedback concerning the property. I’m very sorry to hear your stay was not a pleasant one. We will address the issues you have mentioned with the appropriate departments so that correct action can be taken. I hope you will consider trying us again. The renovation/expansion of our fitness center and club lounge completed last fall are spectacular and other exciting upgrades are coming soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well located for a hockey tournament. Very clean rooms with clean bathrooms, as well. Nice shower. Comfortable king beds ... small, but well set-up living room. Certainly pleasant and knowledgeable staff. The "private" floors are a little odd, as you need to put your key card in to access them, but can't go to a friend's room on another private floor. It wasn't a problem, really, just odd. Also, seems to me there should be more elevators for so many rooms. They were pretty slow at busy times. Overall, a pleasant experience that we enjoyed and especially for a great AAA rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodhi0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear bodhi0916,
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We truly appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbus North I - 270
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Columbus

Property: Sheraton Suites Columbus
Address: 201 Hutchinson Ave, Columbus, OH 43235-4689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Columbus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Suites Columbus is close to Columbus International Airport, off Interstate 270 and Route 23, and attractions such as the #1 rated Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, COSI, and the Ohio Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Suites Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Columbus Hotel Columbus
Sheraton Columbus Hotel
Columbus Sheraton
Sheraton Suites Columbus Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing