We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, very convenient to interstate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East
Ranked #122 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We have been staying at the Hawthorn Suites every August for about 10 years now, since back when it was a Marriott Residence Inn. We are more than happy with it! It is very quiet and we feel very secure there with their security an no party policies. We have stayed in 10 different suites in those ten years and never once had a "dirty room", they have always been spotless, and believe me, I have high standards. I have more than once left an estalishment after discovering it was less than clean!!

The suite we were in this year had a new flat screen TV and the new bed and bedding are delightful!!! We especially love the fact that it is a full suite with a fully applianced kitchen and living room with fireplace, (though we don't use it as we travel in August).

Gregory, the manager was extremely professional and very personable. We were excited that they have reinstituted the hot breakfast as it saevs us a lot of time in the morning.

It is VERY easy to find, practically visible from I-70, yet far enough away that you don't get any road noise. True there is an abandoned motel next door, but I heard that they are trying to buy it to make more parking, etc.

All in all, it is a good value and a very clean, convenient estalishment. If you are looking for a place to party and carry on, go somewhere else as they will not tolerate that there, for which I am grateful!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 602 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

This was by far the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel! I travel frequently with kids and for business as a nurse as does my boyfriend who is a cop. We arrived at this hotel after 8 hours in the car with 3 kids under the age of 7 and a 14 year old to be told there was an error with our reservations and it was for the previuos night. I will except that this was our fault but the girl behind the desk then said "I remember you calling last night and I told you to do the reservation online and you didn't want to". I asked if they had rooms avaliable and was told they had a room with a king size bed and could give us a cot. Not really big enough but we were 8 hours from home so we were going to take it until they told us it would cost twice what the room we were charged for the night before did. They refused to give us the internet rate and told us that the no show charge would then also increase since it was a special promotion for 50% off if you stayed one night and we were now going to stay two. Our bill would have went from $86 to $344. Needless to say we could not afford this. The desk clerk and a man who said he was the manager refused to give us a 1800 customer assistance number and told us no one else would be able to help us ,it was this or nothing. Customer assistance was unable to help us once we got home since this is independently owned. Don't stay here if you expect to be treated like a human being. Horrible !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Tammiemoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed here because Wyndham is supposed to be a nice hotel. First room was dirty, bathroom was never clean and carpets were not vacuumed and it smelled musty. Second room had a moldy mattress, it was truly disgusting. Third room the sheets had never been changed! Hotel Manger would not return any of my calls, and he was not available both days we were there. Called the customer service line about the Hotel they were less then helpful. Truly disgusted with our stay. Warning stay far away from this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rissyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelie, Owner at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2010

I apologize for your experience. We actually installed all new Sealy Posturepedic pillowtop mattresses (same as Ritz Carlton) at the hotel this past quarter so Im concerned about your comments regarding the mattress. In addition, the entire bedding package is brand new and consists of luxurious linens, new pillows, pillowcases, duvets and blankets. We also replaced all the TVs with 32 inch flat LG high definition Tv's (Penthouse Suites have 3 of them) and we redid the entire exterior of the hotel as well as our breakfast room, pool area, sports court and all new landscaping. All of these renovation were just completed last month. Our manager is at the hotel daily and I apologize if he was unavailable to assist you. Please contact us so that we may accommodate your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I called ahead of time to make sure my daughters (18) (20) could check-in (because i was at work and couldn't get off until later that evening) the lady i spoke to told me yes and that she would leave a note to let the next employee know. When my daughter arrived to check-in the lady at the desk said they couldn't stay because the card holder have to be with them and they were under age. My daughter called me and explained what was going on, so i spoked to the lady and she said she never said anything like that or couldn't find any note on file. So my husband had to check them in. After that my daughters and there friends told me that the hotel was dirty. The beds, the tubs, and toilets was nasty they had stains on them. On top of that the floors had dirt all over them, the pillows was also dirty because they had dirt markes on them. The people at the front desk were absolutely rude. They wouldn't give them any towels or rags until an adult was present which makes no since because they are (18) (20) years of age. The two male workers at the front desk were mocking them when they were asking for the towels and rags. One of my daughters friend who came didn't know what room number they were in so she asked the front desk and they jump to conclusion that they were having a party which they were not, there were only 4 of them in the hotel room. Both the 2 males were threatening to kick them out and getting smart to her for no reason at all. The location was absolutely bad because it was hard to find, then everything around it looked horrible and in back of the hotel there was factory. The truckers were loud around 3 and 4 in the morning, and they couldn't get any sleep at all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelie, Owner at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2010

I'm fully aware of your children's stay and we have a strict no party policy. I apologize for any issues at checkin. In regards to your other comments, our hotel has brand new luxury bedding, all new luxury linens, all new Egyptian cotton towels, new TV's as well as other upgrades completed in June 2010. I spoke with my General Manager in regards to this situation. We cater to corporate clients as well as families and groups and provide high end extended stay accommodations. While the size of our suites are sometimes viewed as perfect for entertaining, we have a very strict no party policy and do not tolerate any misconduct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This hotel was awesome, extremely clean, very attentive to all our needs.
The staff at check in desk were super friendly and very efficient.
The beds very comfortable

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jg2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Could not believe this hotel the first time time I stayed here in March! We were on the last part of a road trip to Southern US and we got to the Columbus Gatehouse Inn at around 2 AM. Stayed up till 5 to enjoy the room. 2 Floor penthouse with 2 beds and a pullout queen, with refrigerator, oven, dishes, cutlery, the works!! Amazing value, wish we could have stayed longer. A short drive to downtown Columbus, and the staff were super friendly (Hey Bryan!). They have an outdoor pool, basketball court, and fitness room. Can't say enough about this place and cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandhabs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

While this may have initially been a 3 star property, the overall appearance, location and service are not up to par. The studio rooms are definitely spacious and work out well for the business traveller. Overall my room was clean enough but there were a few areas that were overlooked. The location is out of the way and hard to find. It is in an area that is "transitional" in that it may have once been OK but there are lots of vacant hotels and retail in the immediate area. A little worrisome for a single female traveller -- even a road warrior like me. The outside of the buildings need paint and repair. Stairs to the units and decking need a good sweeping and power wash. While the grounds are maintained in terms of cut grass, there are no flowers or other touches to enhance the overall appearance making it look somewhat dreary for this time of the year.

My tub/shower did not drain and I wasn't able to complain until after 6 that day. I was told that they would call somebody the next day but that didn't help me as I wanted to shower that evening and not stand in dirty water. So I requested a plunger and fixed it myself --at least so I could take a shower. They did offer to switch rooms which would have been (for me) more of a hassle than unclogging the drain.

This is a studio hotel with full kitchen so they do not straighten your room i.e. make the bed each day. Someone did come around to see if I needed more towels.

I am forgiving of many issues as I only paid ~ $40 plus tax per night for this via a discount site. Regardless, my expectations were of a 3 star, not the 2 star hotel this has become due to ownership change and lack of maintenance. If you are willing to pay $70 or more a night then definitely choose another property and check the discount sites.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyInOhio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East
12.6 mi away
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
#116 of 145 in Columbus
177 reviews
5.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbus Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#97 of 145 in Columbus
50 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Airport
Days Inn Columbus Airport
#112 of 145 in Columbus
730 reviews
12.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#75 of 145 in Columbus
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East

Address: 2084 S Hamilton Rd, Columbus, OH 43232-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $89 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having completed a renovation in Feb 2017, the Hawthorn Suites Airport Columbus East offers 80 suites with full kitchens, sundry shop with cold and frozen items, business center, fitness center, coin laundry, outdoor pool and a sports court. The property is gated and fenced and security guards are present on weekends for guest security & comfort. Rooms range between 550 to 840 square feet with either queen or king beds and all rooms offer pull out sofa beds as well. The property is only 6 miles from downtown, 4 miles from Nationwide Children's Hospital and 4 miles from Port Columbus Airport (CMH). The Hawthorn Suites offers free hot breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 9:30AM. Airport shuttle is provided same day with 6 hour notice to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Airport Columbus East Hotel Columbus
Columbus Gatehouse Hotel
Residence Inn Columbus
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Airport Columbus East Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing