We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back; Do yourself a favor and stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East
Ranked #122 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is the worst Wyndham property I have ever stayed in. It appears to be a tired recycled Marriott Residence Inn, but is has many miles on it. The front desk clerk was very nice and I had no problems with her. The gated parking lot gave us a sense of security, but that is where the fun ends. Our room looks tired and worn out. It smelled like smoke, cleaned only with perfume. There were only two towels, despite the fact that we had four guests in our room. The door lock did't work right, so we had to walk all the way back out to the front office to figure out how to get in. The clerk explained that the locks are installed backwards, so you have to pull up on the knob. (Fix them!!!) The walls in our unit were very much in need of paint. Looked like someone used the wrong cleaner on a large portion of our wall. The smoke detector began to chirp at 5:00 am (ever heard of maintenance??!!!). No trash can in the bathroom, so you have to carry your trash to the kitchen (gross!!!). This was a $29.00 hotel under the Wyndham name. They should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 591 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked this hotel through a third party site. I'm not very picky but this place was awful. The toilet didn't work. We had no clean towels. This place is terrible. Wyndham eventually gave me some of my money back but I will never stay with a wyndham property again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very comfortable and roomy hotel, love the security gate feature. The upstairs buffet breakfast area was not handicap accessible, nor did this hotel have an elevator access to assist guests in wheelchairs. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelie, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your review! In regards to your concern about handicap accessibility, we have dining tables downstairs in the lobby as well with a server available to provide all items. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have spent $100,000 since the summer to make improvements to the property and will continue to do so into 2014. We recently added a brand new fitness center, new gate entry, resurfaced parking lot, Time Warner Fiber internet and cable, improvements to our breakfast and Wednesday social hour and also to our landscaping and property exterior. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank FishnetPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Janet D Ms P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

No top sheet on the bed, the duvet cover had a large hole in it, the extra blanket was stiff and very scratchy, the air return vent was filthy, no TV channel list, the lock on the door was broken, a light bulb and the air filter had to be replaced...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Zella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The walls were dirty, dishes were dirty, mold in bathroom, cracked flooring...needs to be updated and deep cleaned. Comfortable bed, good heating system, cable tv and wifi. Excellent breakfast!! Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelliBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
14.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbus North I - 270
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#97 of 144 in Columbus
47 reviews
8.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/Rickenbacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Airport
Days Inn Columbus Airport
#110 of 144 in Columbus
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus Hamilton
11.0 mi away
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
#99 of 144 in Columbus
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East

Address: 2084 S Hamilton Rd, Columbus, OH 43232-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $87 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having completed a renovation in Feb 2017, the Hawthorn Suites Airport Columbus East offers 80 suites with full kitchens, sundry shop with cold and frozen items, business center, fitness center, coin laundry, outdoor pool and a sports court. The property is gated and fenced and security guards are present on weekends for guest security & comfort. Rooms range between 550 to 840 square feet with either queen or king beds and all rooms offer pull out sofa beds as well. The property is only 6 miles from downtown, 4 miles from Nationwide Children's Hospital and 4 miles from Port Columbus Airport (CMH). The Hawthorn Suites offers free hot breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 9:30AM. Airport shuttle is provided same day with 6 hour notice to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Airport Columbus East Hotel Columbus
Columbus Gatehouse Hotel
Residence Inn Columbus
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Airport Columbus East Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing