We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A qualified 4 out of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East
Ranked #122 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed October 24, 2012

First
This property is a tiny bit hard to find, since S hamilton rd isn't actually the multi lane rd but the east side frontage. You're getting very close when you see the burned out hulking structure that once was a Howard Johnson's.


This is unlike any hawthorn Ive stayed at and is more like a residence in or even a townplace suite. The room even has a wood fireplace? It's fairly well maintained...the area around it is falling into disrepair .

So what's your first impression, as you drive in you'll either be behind or infront of an older vehicle of some sort. the property seems to be a converted apartment complex in a not so pretty part of columbus.(semi sketchy) Check in went fine, but as I headed toward the back part of the complex you kind of get the feeling that about 1/2 of the property is longer term section 8 housing, possibly contractor transient. And you could just swear you're seeing eyes upon you as some illicit activity is taking place near by in a car or apartment. I'd suggest taking your valuables out of your car for the night.

Now that being said, they had a manager reception type thing in the breakfast room above the office. some sort of nearly inedible chicken strip, mixed veggie which wasn't bad, roll (ok) and Ithink it was ice tea. So far so good. NO FBI . The breakfast area has about 8 tables, a couple of wafflers, and I think I saw a sign for "fruit". If there is an elevator I missed it to the bfast area so...it's a full flight above the office.

I probably won't go to breakfast due to an early departure.

The room...I booked a studio , which is essentally a small apartment, full kitchen, micro livingroom a bed and bathroom , nutragena soaps and stuff. really beat to heck clock radio. LG flat 32,

Wifi worked well.

clean enough.. a decent about of outlets and it's almost lit well enough.
It's near i70 but not too to close to the airport to be called an airport version..... don't take hamilton to the airport it's a haul, jump on 70/270/670 and go that way.
There are restaurants nearby...but not walkable. the neighborhood appears a bit iffy..really iffy so morning walks are probably out, and a few feral cats were hanging about which suggest other creatures hanging about. But like I said , it's clean enough inside the apartments.

Assuming my car doesn't get broken into overnight...I guess you could use this as a basecamp for a weekend trip to cbus , OH , pull up on the door handles not down to get into the apt.(and the gyros at Gyro King are not all that good,but the mexican french toast and spicy sweet bacon at Katalina's in victorian village is a nice treat).

For around 60 bucks it beats the econolodge type properties...gas up on Hamilton near broad for the cheapest gas for your rental return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willdriveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 602 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank wtdrown
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
CANAL WINCHESTER
1
Reviewed October 21, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Passing through Columbus. Needed a good night's sleep. Chose this place based on 3 star rating at Kayak. WORST BED we have had since college days. Sagged badly in the middle, both sideways and lengthwise. The bed was at least 5 years past the end of its useful life. They brag in their listings about "newly remodeled" and "new Sealy Posturpedic". All lies. And the GM is a coward. In the morning I politely told the nice lady at the front desk about the problem and said I would like to discuss a partial refund. She was sympathetic and gave me the GM's card, telling me to call him after 10. I did. The desk clerk answered, and asked what I was calling about, then she asked if I was the customer from earlier in the day. When I said yes she covered the mouthpiece, talked with somebody, then came back on the line and asked for my phone number. She told me the GM was on the phone and said he would call me when he got off. He never called. Also, the couch in the room was uncomfortable, the TV was hi-def, but the signal was low-def, and the place is in a scary neighborhood. Avoid the Hawthorn in Columbus East.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zipdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East
12.6 mi away
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
#116 of 145 in Columbus
177 reviews
5.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbus Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#97 of 145 in Columbus
50 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Airport
Days Inn Columbus Airport
#112 of 145 in Columbus
730 reviews
12.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#75 of 145 in Columbus
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East

Address: 2084 S Hamilton Rd, Columbus, OH 43232-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $89 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having completed a renovation in Feb 2017, the Hawthorn Suites Airport Columbus East offers 80 suites with full kitchens, sundry shop with cold and frozen items, business center, fitness center, coin laundry, outdoor pool and a sports court. The property is gated and fenced and security guards are present on weekends for guest security & comfort. Rooms range between 550 to 840 square feet with either queen or king beds and all rooms offer pull out sofa beds as well. The property is only 6 miles from downtown, 4 miles from Nationwide Children's Hospital and 4 miles from Port Columbus Airport (CMH). The Hawthorn Suites offers free hot breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 9:30AM. Airport shuttle is provided same day with 6 hour notice to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Airport Columbus East Hotel Columbus
Columbus Gatehouse Hotel
Residence Inn Columbus
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Airport Columbus East Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing