We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok, don't expect too much” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Ranked #27 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just ok, don't expect too much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed here due to the closeness of the Shottenstien Center/concert. We really wanted to be able to walk to the concert, which we were able to, but the front desk was very sketchy on even how to get there where there was a sidewalk. Most everyone staying there this night had the same plan, it was for the Justin Bieber concert, so I would have expected them to even have maybe a small map for people. We did finally get some correct directions from the manager I believe, but it was much longer walk than the route we took home(by chance). The hotel is very old and marginally clean. Beds were not very comfortable and only one ice machine was working for the whole hotel, so if you didn't catch it at the right time, you just didn't get any ice. No frig's in room. Doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scootch713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    86
    53
    7
    8
See reviews for
82
44
40
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We were in town for the Justin Bieber concert and wanted to stay close to the concert. As soon as we opened the door the smell would almost suffocate you, the carpet looked dirty, the whole place just gave me the creeps. Definitely a waste of $97

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

The staff was very nice and courteous. Everything needed was in the room and convenient. Location was great for me only had to drive about a mile away from my conference.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jethva21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed at this hotel in a room with my sister when we visited the area for my brother's graduation from OSU. The location of the hotel is great but that was basically the only positive. I wasn't expecting the hotel to be fancy but I was expecting it to be clean and I was disappointed. Upon entering our room for the first time my sister found a dirty men's sock on the floor. Needless to say, I assume this means the carpet was not vacuumed between guests and it doesn't seem the housekeeping staff was very thorough. When I pulled back my blankets to get in bed I also found a tiny little worm wiggling around in my sheets. That's right, there was A WORM IN MY BED! I even took a video of it with my cell phone because I was in such disbelief. It was disgusting.

The next day when the housekeeping staff cleaned our room they left the comforters crumpled up on the floor rather than put them back on the beds when they made them and they must have let a gigantic fly in because we had to get rid of one upon returning to the room. At least there were no worms in my bed the second night (that I saw).

Overall I would say this hotel is conveniently located but absolutely disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellastar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

I work at the University and at the time, I was driving an hour back and forth for work. During a snowstorm, I was able to stay at OSU Red Roof Inn on short notice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean. Excellant stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lobo7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

I have never stayed at a Red Roof Inn before, but I found this one to be comparable (and smaller) than other 2 star motels like Sleep Inn, Days Inn. The lobby is sparsely furnished, with a GREAT coffee/cappuccino machine. The staff were pleasant and professional. The doors to the rooms are located outside, motel-style. The neighborhood seemed safe though even though it says on the inside of the door to lock both deadbolt and regular locks. When I walked in, I was surprised by how small the room was. I got the room with the one King size bed. If you want something bigger, I would suggest requesting 2 Double beds since there was no way 2 doubles could fit into my room. The water pressure was on the milder side and the bathroom light was linked to the loud fan so you couldn't turn on one without the other.

It was HOT the entire night since the automatic radiator was on and it kept on making clinking noises throughout the night. I had to turn on the A/C even though it was 20 degrees outside..such a waste of energy. I didn't notice that the bed was extraordinarily comfortable but the sheets were clean with a thin blanket (not down).

I was surprised also to find a 20% tax on my bill, from county to state to city tax. I would not stay here for leisure. Red Roof Inn was simple and did its job but did not have any of the extra amenities or comfort that a higher starred hotel would have. Be aware of what you pay for!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilikoi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stay fairly frequently at this hotel since my son is attending OSU. Usually I am there when there is a game or school event and the hotel is booked full. Even under the strain of a full house it's a pleasant experience; but it was even more so when the hotel was not full.
Front desk is very helpful, rooms comfortable and you can't beat the price or location to OSU.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awaala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#102 of 143 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Address: 441 Ackerman Road, Columbus, OH 43202-1569
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
#14 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Ohio State University Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing