We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Roof is renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Ranked #37 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed a weekend, in the middle of a renovation. I was pleasantly surprised at the new floor--carpet (tiles) only around the beds; the rest of the floor was imitation wood--something you could actually get -clean-! I wish all motels would move over to cleanable floors.

The new sink was pretty; the furniture fresh. Non-smoking with a $200 charge if you let someone smoke in your room--very nice; no smell at all.

The price jumps around according to what Ohio State is doing, but when they aren't doing too much, it's a very good value. We've stayed here four or five times; the people are friendly. It's not the Ritz, but it's got what I want.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bonitakale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our inn. We are very excited about the renovations and the change over to Red Roof Plus. Please visit us soon and I am sure you will like what you see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 318 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We are stopping in Columbus on a road trip. We read about the Short North district and wanted to stay near by. This is hotel is very close to the very cool Short North district (5-10min walk). Hotel staff is super friendly and helpful. Hotel is incredibly clean, new fixtures and rooms, and well priced. Even has HBO, free wifi. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Hem1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our inn. We are in the final stages of a complete renovation and looking forward to showing our new hotel off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

As stated in other reviews, the location is outstanding if you are interacting with OSU in any way.
A simple version of the Red Roof with no frills. They are currently remodeling the rooms and I had the good fortune of getting one that was recently remodeled. It was obviously clean with a good twist IMO, hardwood floors and rugs. So much more sanitary in the long run. Nice choice in their remodeling.

When they are finished with renovations it will be a very good value as a 2 star property. At least for the next couple of years.

The staff was courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasternTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are about to complete our renovation program and our change to Red Roof Plus! We are excited to show our hotel to our guest. Please stop and see us again and we may just WOW you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Chris manager accommodated our needs and was pleasant and understanding of our situation. We will definitely contact red roof inn for future stays. And we plan to use the redicard for future stays. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acasey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to assist you with your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Pam, was the Hotel Attendant that helped me at the Front Desk and everything I needed or any concerns she addressed!! The New Renovations that's underway will definety make me always come back to this Red roof inn when I'm in the Columbus area

Room Tip: I hope and pray they put a fitness center in the new upgrade Red Roof inn Plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrocker J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. Pam is a major asset here and I am glad she was able to assist you. We arexcited about the renovations and cant wait to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Front desk personnel couldn't be better. Room clean, large and VERY comfortable. Location perfect for me. Without asking was upgraded to the larger king bed room and that was perfect. Plan to stay there in the future because the location was excellent for the university.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ds G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of the inn. I will be sure to share this with the staff. The next time your in town, please stop by and see our new renovated rooms. I really think you will like them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for the Miley Cyrus concert and was thoroughly surprised. Was in walking distance to the show; had restaurants very near by. The walls were a little thin - could hear outside pedestrians, but was to be expected in a college town!! Room was clean - had no complaints! Would definitely stay here again! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review our inn. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. The next time your in town for anything at the "Shots", please visit us again. We have just started our major renovations and the "new" rooms look great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
3.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#108 of 145 in Columbus
147 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
5.2 mi away
Best Western Port Columbus
Best Western Port Columbus
#29 of 145 in Columbus
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Address: 441 Ackerman Road, Columbus, OH 43202-1569
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#14 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $68 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Ohio State University Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing