We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Re-Cycled Motel 6...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Ranked #74 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed May 19, 2014

... and it shows!

This review started out as a 4-star. Until I noticed trash in the landings from the previous evening still there the following evening. And, on my second evening, when I killed a roach that was crawling up one of the walls in my room (#207). Were a 1/2 star available, this would've been a 1 1/2 star review, The front desk staff is the only redeeming feature about this place.

The carpeting is worn and needs replacement. Also, my non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke.

The sleep quality was OK. However, the front desk service was excellent. I had several problems crop-up and they cheerfully and quickly helped me.

Pity that having a property to be proud of seems to always jack-up the cost. However, this place needs a lot of help.

Also, this was the first Red Roof Inn I've stayed at in all my years of travel. It might also be my last. I think this place has a future for it as yet another "Knights Inn" or "America's Best Value Inn"...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is the BEST Red Roof I've ever stayed in. Super clean! Nice staff! Pleasant all around!! Our Housekeeper "Monica" had a wonderful sense of "attention to detail". Jeff at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. I choose Red Roof due to the Redi-Card points and because they have so many locations in areas that I frequent. This location is by far the best!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus West, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind words, i will share this with Monica and Jeff and reward them for their excellent service. We are glad to hear you had a great stay. Thank You!

Ravi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were in Columbus to eat and shop with no intention of spending any extra time in the room. Wanted something reasonable and clean. This property was just fine for our needs. Room was little musty when entered but shortly after fan on was fine. Seemed clean but as most older hotels bath slightly dated but knew what we were buying. Little conversation with desk except internet information that worked fine. Property was well lit so did not feel security an issue. Would have no problem staying there again if wanted to be on that side of Columbus.

Room Tip: Had room on first floor but did not notice undue noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviGM, Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus West, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hey Annette,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we appreciate it greatly. I'll make sure to let my team know to leave the fans running, now that it's getting warm out. So this does not happen in the Rooms. Thank you so much for your comments.

Ravi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Every time I'm in the area for work, I usually stay at this Red Roof Inn because it has always been clean and it was very affordable. Well, on this most recent visit, the rooms were updated with new paint, new lcd tv, and slightly different layout. Even though it's close to the expressway, I have never had issues with noise. The mini fridge worked great and the microwave was clean inside. There's no shortage of eats, shopping, supermarkets in the area so I find it an ideal location because my trips usually last for at least a few days.
One thing I did notice was the floor wasn't vacuumed very well when the maid had made the room. Hopefully it was a one time incident and not a common occurrence. Regardless, I won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koovany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus West, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay and thank you for letting us know about the floors, i will make sure to have a meeting with my team to see how we can fix this, so it does not happen in the future.

Thanks You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at the hotel a total of 4 nights. I was VERY satisfied with my experience. In addition to being extra clean, the fresh updates, new fixtures, new refrigerator, and new micro wave made my stay so much more enjoyable and healthy. There is a Meijer, Walmart, and many placed to eat within reasonable walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were very happy with all aspects of our stay here. The rooms appear to be completely refurbished. Very VERY clean. Extremely helpful and pleasant staff. Close to too many restaurants to count. My wife said the bed was the most comfortable she'd been in. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredJulien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I could not have chosen a better hotel in the Columbus area! The customer service was excellent and all the workers were friendly--a great face of Red Roof Inn! The room was immaculate with great features that we needed, including a fridge, microwave, and television. The room was spacious and clean--perfect for four girls spending a weekend in Columbus! The price was perfect and the location was great--so close to so many attractions. If I visit the area again, I know just where I will stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor, near the stairwell which was nice since there wasn't an elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#76 of 144 in Columbus
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Suites
Best Western Suites
#17 of 144 in Columbus
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbus West Hilliard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Columbus West
Super 8 Columbus West
#85 of 144 in Columbus
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus West

Address: 5001 Renner Rd, Columbus, OH 43228-9358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $75 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus West 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our 100% non-smoking renovated rooms! The rooms at this non-smoking hotel feature a stylish design with spa-inspired bathrooms that have modern vessel sinks and rain flow shower heads. Our new rooms also offer granite counter tops, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, HD flat-screen TV, a USB charging station, and alarm clocks. This hotel offers free WiFi, microwave & refrigerator, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, and coffee-maker in all rooms. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Located just 9.5 miles west from downtown Columbus and the Arena District, and 4 miles from downtown Hilliard, Red Roof Columbus-Hilliard is 100% smoke free, and conveniently located off of I-70 and is near many restaurants, shopping, and movie theaters. Located near the Franklin County Fairgrounds, German Village and The Ohio State University are just a short drive to the east. Also close by is Riverside Hospital, Doctors West, Nationwide Children's Hospital, Ohio Expo Center, and much more. The hotel is only 2.7 miles from Hollywood Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus West Ohio
Columbus Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing