We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependably Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Ranked #75 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Carbondale, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dependably Excellent”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

As this is halfway between my current city and my distant home town, I have stayed here many times in the last 3-1/2 years. The staff is always friendly, the rooms clean, in great condition and fresh smelling. I really enjoy that dogs stay for free, with no deposit or fuss, and everyone is sweet to my pooch. I also love the free WiFi. You can't beat the location for restaurants, gas, etc. I highly recommend it as a great place to stay for a modest price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
28
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I traveled from Winston Salem, nc to Ohio to see family for the Thanksgiving holiday. They allowed me to bring my dogs and even gave me a box of dog bones for them. Every time I left the room, I came back to a clean room. The staff were great. I even got a great price for the three days I stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof009, Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus West, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Red Roof Inn Columbus West. I'm glad you and your dogs had a wonderful stay. Can't wait to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I was very pleasantly surprized to find the room clean and totally odor free.
Linen was clean and free of creepy cheap detergent feel. Bath room was clean.
It felt like a $80-$100+ dollar/day room, but at half that price.
I travel a lot and this location of Red roof Inn will be my regular stay spot when ever I am in Columbus OH. I've already made reservation for next week also.
Ace.Virginian

Room Tip: This location is 10Mi from Downtown, easy highway access . But the great thing is it has everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ace_Virginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife, adult daughter and I stayed at the Red Roof Inn Columbus West - Hilliard on Sept 19, 2011. My daughter discovered at least one bedbug on her bed (Room 128) and other eggs or defacation on the bed. She reported this to the Front Desk but they told her the motel was booked full, so she moved her things and slept in our room (136).

The Front Desk later told me they'd gotten permission to offer her a larger room which wasn't being used because the tv was broken. However, she'd already moved to our room, so we declined. They did not charge us for her room.

Our room was OK, except for the presence of one large spider.

Room Tip: Check for bedbugs multiple times, early and late
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof009, Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus West, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
I apologize for your experience at our Inn. We take all guest concerns very seriously, we have a third party company that comes in and inspects our Inn and takes care of our issues. I apologize we weren’t able to accommodate your daughter with a new room quickly enough. We hope you give us the opportunity to provide with you a better experience on your next stay.
Stephanie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for five nights this summer. We knew that it was a budget hotel and didn't expect much due to the reasonable price. We were very pleasantly surprised. The upgraded room was very large, and the work space gave us plenty of room to spread out our food when we decided to eat in for breakfast. Having a small refrigerator was a great benefit, although we would also have appreciated a freezer. The ice machine wasn't working, so the staff got a cooler filled with ice for folks to use each day. The room was clean and well lit. We also appreciated having a sink outside of the bathroom. We plan to go to this inn again the next time we go to Columbus to visit our daughter and son-in-law.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugsharon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just got back from one night at the Red Roof Inn Columbus West. I was traveling with 6 other women attending a women's conference. I chose this hotel because of it's reviews and was not disappointed! It was very clean and the price was great! The location was easy to get to and in a nice area with lots of eateries and shopping near by.

This not a high frills place so if that is what you're looking for you'll not find it. I didn't love the pillows; one very flat and one way too soft but for one night they were manageable. Usually if I'm staying more than one night I take my own pillow anyway. There are not any ironing boards, irons or hair dryers in the room but are available at the front desk if desired. No microwave or mini fridge in room either. But again, for one night and for a CLEAN hotel, I'm ok with it. I take those items in rooms for granted so it didn't even occur to me they wouldn't be there.

I would definitely stay here again. Did I mention it was clean? :o)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbyandAidansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were booked into a King, Superior room for 3 nights, arriving 8/6/11. The front desk was extremely dysfunctional. The woman checking people in seemed distracted, and maids kept coming to the desk with bins of dirty laundry and asking questions about scheduling. I called the hotel before we left home and the woman told me they would block a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the highway, to minimize noise since the rooms open to the outside and the parking lot. Check in time is 1 PM, but at 3 PM when we arrived, they were in no way ready to accept new guests. The room that was supposedly blocked for us was not available, and the only room offered was right next to the "lobby" - which is really just a small room with a counter - and facing the highway. Not what we wanted, and certainly not what we had been assured we would have. After looking at room 101, I returned to the front desk and cancelled our reservation. Even though it was late in the afternoon, it was raining, and we had no fall back position, there was NO way we were going to stay there. It is, quite frankly, a dump, and although we were looking for a budget hotel, we weren't that desperate. Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#78 of 143 in Columbus
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbus West Hilliard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Columbus West
Super 8 Columbus West
#82 of 143 in Columbus
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus-Hilliard
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus West
Hampton Inn Columbus West
#22 of 143 in Columbus
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus West

Property: Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Address: 5001 Renner Rd, Columbus, OH 43228-9358
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus West 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our 100% non-smoking renovated rooms! The rooms at this non-smoking hotel feature a stylish design with spa-inspired bathrooms that have modern vessel sinks and rain flow shower heads. Our new rooms also offer granite counter tops, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, HD flat-screen TV, a USB charging station, and alarm clocks. This hotel offers free WiFi, microwave & refrigerator, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, and coffee-maker in all rooms. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Located just 9.5 miles west from downtown Columbus and the Arena District, and 4 miles from downtown Hilliard, Red Roof Columbus-Hilliard is 100% smoke free, and conveniently located off of I-70 and is near many restaurants, shopping, and movie theaters. Located near the Franklin County Fairgrounds, German Village and The Ohio State University are just a short drive to the east. Also close by is Riverside Hospital, Doctors West, Nationwide Children's Hospital, Ohio Expo Center, and much more. The hotel is only 2.7 miles from Hollywood Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus West Ohio
Columbus Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing