We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary location, smelled bad”
Review of Comfort Inn North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn North
Ranked #75 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We came in very late. While checking in police questioned us about two men in tthe parking lot. Then teens were running up and down the hall at 2 a.m. "Non-smoking room" smelled like an ashtray among other odors in the halls and room. We were glad to get away the next morning.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Melanie1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 328 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff were discourteous when I complained about being put into a Smoking Room even though I did not reserve a smoking room. They were not amenable to changing the room to a non-smoking room.

The hallways smell musty and old. The blanket on the bed needed to be washed desperately. It smelled of the activities of some previous couples entertainment while they were away from home. DISGUSTING!!

The TV channels were all fuzzy and not synced properly as I was getting audio then video. Breakfast was mediocre at best. Not well stocked or well maintained. The juice machine was serving several different kinds of juice but they were all so watered down as to be almost tasteless.

Stay somewhere else if you have any choice at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times in my business travels.Nice location for business!Friendly staff was very helpful! Nice beds, big room, very clean! Great cup of coffee in the lobby and some nice snacks and water waiting in the room...............................

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a nicely located motel with clean, spacious and comfortable rooms at a good price. Breakfast however is a disaster, and the single person who has to staff the desk, doesn't even have time to empty the overflowing breakfast trash, leave alone take care of replenishing food (a blessing in disguise). In winter, keep your coat on, as the outside door is always in use.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vputin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were in town for a weekend conference. Check in was quick and friendly. Were able to change to a different room to be near friends with no problem. Our room was at the very end of two long hallways, but there are outside access doors periodically along the halls. We were on the ground floor. There is no elevator to second floor rooms. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Nice having a fridge and microwave. Flat screen TV but the printed channel guide was inaccurate. Next morning, coffee maker didn't work. Was given one from another room. The showerhead was set on pulse and couldn't be changed. Maintenance changed it for a new one that day. The next day, housekeeping didn't replace the towels and coffee. I found the girl in the hall and she replaced the items right away. The last day, the long plastic cover on the light over the mirror in the bathroom fell off. Glad I wasn't there at the time. Maintenance fixed it later. I didn't check out the breakfast, exercise area, or pool. The hotel is right off the Interstate on a very busy highway, but no road noise detected.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcvanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There are some bad hotels in this part of town, so I was nervous about staying here, but the room was clean--no sign of bugs or vermin, no scary stains on the sheets--and although it was small, it was fairly swanky with its choice of wall art and headboards. Table and chairs, floor lamp and dresser were there, the fridge worked and was pretty quiet, and there were plenty of outlets for computers and chargers. The amount of furnishing they squeezed into that room is almost comical, but it looked like some honest care was taken in trying to make sure it had everything a casual traveler might need.

And the beds are far comfier than I expect in a hotel in this price range.

The hot water was nice and hot, the room came with complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water, and while the wireless signal was a bit weak, there was still wireless and it was still free.

Breakfast was good - endless coffee, waffles, bagels . . . I think there was oatmeal and some fruit, but I don't really notice those things until *after* the coffee. The breakfast room was very pleasant.

And the staff? The staff were all very friendly, even to the maintenance man who was changing a light bulb in the hallway and still gave me a cheery grin and a good-morning from the top of his ladder.

In all, I had no problems at all. Didn't check on the pool or gym or the like, but if when you travel you're just looking for someplace safe and clean with comfy beds and endless coffee, this is a great spot, especially for the price, especially in this part of town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Milan was super!! Checked me in very fast!! Was Early and everything was just the way I requested! Bottom Floor and King Size Bed! Hotel is cleaner than you might think! Very nice rooms and Flat Screen T.V. Microwave/ Refrigerator! Complimentary Breakfast! Good location!!

Room Tip: Be sure and get your coupon at the rest area or welcome center! AAA Rate is also good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
15.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites South/Obetz
0.6 mi away
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
#113 of 145 in Columbus
179 reviews
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/Rickenbacker
3.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
2.3 mi away
Ramada Columbus Polaris
Ramada Columbus Polaris
#85 of 145 in Columbus
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn North

Address: 1213 E Dublin Granville Rd, Columbus, OH 43229-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#49 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have great Location,Great Value,Clean Rooms,Delux Continental Breakfast,Big size Pool, Free wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Hotel Columbus
Comfort Inn Columbus
North Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn North Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing