We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over All Great As Allways ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Ranked #65 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Over All Great As Allways ...”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed at this location several times through the years and would be surprised if we don't return again. We like the location as the name says it is Downtown by the Capitol .Nice enough view of the city from the front facing rooms. Indoor Pool with disability lift !!! The pool towels are kept right by the pool. There is also an out door sitting area by the pool. Changing rooms in the indoor pool area :-) . Descent workout space across from the pool. There is an onsite restaurant ( cant really rate it because don't get more than coffee and such ) Key card parking .Staff seems friendly every time we stay. Nice park nearby. We have always found the rooms to be clean and the beds comfortable. I rated it a 5 HOWEVER, I would liked to give 4 and 1/2 because it isn't perfect but it is close I believe. It is our favorite place we have stayed in the Downtown Columbus area.

Room Tip: Best views facing front of Hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
thepotterschild,

Thank you so much for staying with Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown and for your comments regarding our property. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we take great pride in our hotel's standards. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Columbus, Ohio.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    98
    76
    41
    32
See reviews for
58
54
26
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't know why, but this hotel seems to attract a high number of unfavorable guests. Every time I left the room, I was treated to shirtless beer bellies or scantily clad cougars retrieving ice or buying cokes at the vending machine outside my room.
Our room was very large due to its proximity to the elevators, perhaps, so large it was awkward to watch the tv which seemed too far away from the sofa or the bed.
The bathroom is ridiculously cramped, you can barely open the door when you're inside it without stubbing your toe.
On the bright side, I love the brand shampoo and lotion they provide. The desk staff was friendly and efficient.
Least liked. The $10 per day parking and the poor quality food in the restaurant. I was feeling ill and didn't want to go out, but I would have been better off with a styrofoam cup of ramen.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Janick2010,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your comments regarding our hotel. We do apologize about quality of service you received during your stay with us. We take great pride in all areas of our hotel and once again apologize that the facility did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you have any other questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service by the staff was fantastic! I was impressed at the quality of service the staff saw that everyone received! As part of a large group staying at the hotel, I was always amazed at the quality of service and the preparedness of the staff to make sure we were well cared for during our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemDandies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
GemDandies,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown. We really appreciate it. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the quality of service was to your liking. Please allow us to host you on your next visit to Columbus, Ohio.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We need a place to stay that was close to Nationwide Children's Hospital. The Hospital recommended the Holiday Inn as it was only a mile from the Hospital. I was a little worried about booking a room here with the different types of reviews that I had read. We got to the Hotel around 9:30 on a Wednesday night and were very well taken care of. The entrance area was nice and up to date and CLEAN. We got to our room and the first thing I did was check everything out. I look at the wall paper, the ceiling, the bathroom and all the other things people had complained about. Our room was spotless and had none of the issues that people have complained about. The Cleaning staff took care of us each morning and the staff was wonderful to deal with. We took a swim in the pool while we were there and it was refreshing also. If we ever have to come back to Children's Hospital this is the place we will stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieselguy8599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dieselguy8599,

Thank you so much for staying with Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown and for your very nice comments about our hotel. We take great pride in the upkeep of our facility and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Feel free to stop by whenever you make your way back to Columbus, Ohio.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel before I was disappointed to see it having deteriorated as it has. My toilet was blocked and took ages to drain. A colleague found the bedside clock plugged into an extension chord on the floor and when she plugged it into the correct receptacle next to the bed it shorted out the room. Clearly a safety issue there, which the front desk knew about when she reported it. Another guest checking out the same time I did was irate the drain blockages in the bathroom he had reported during his stay had not been resolved. This place needs some serious maintenance and I'd stay away until it's done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNutFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
TravelNutfromPA,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your comments regarding our facility. I am very sorry about the maintenance issues you endured during your stay here. We take great pride in the work that we put into our facility and apologize that our property did not meet your standards during your last visit. I have documented your concerns and forwarded them to the appropriate departments for their review and evaluation. If you have any further comments or concerns, feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here during the Boom and couldn’t have chosen a better property! The lady that checked me in was fabulous and friendly. My room was large and spacious. I didn’t get to use the swimming pool or try out the restaurants, but everything looked great! Nice place to stay especially if you wanna be near downtown!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberlee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Amberlee,

Thank you so much for staying with Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown. I am so glad you enjoyed yourself during Red, White and BOOM. Hopefully, the next time you stay with us, you will be able to enjoy our pool and restaurant. Thank you once again for your stay and for your comments.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The reason I give this a poor rating is quite simple. If you are going to charge a higher rate than other hotels because of your location, then you better have every single room stacked with amenities so your patrons don't end up feeling cheated.

The hotel was clean and the staff was courteous, but the carpet, wallpapers, and narrow hallway gives the hotel an outdated feel.

Our king size bed room had no refrigerator, no microwave, and only one small dresser with three doors. In an era when chain franchises have the immense buying power to purchase in mass bulk, there is no good reason for those items not to be in every single room, especially when many less popular chains have made it a point to install these as a standard. Was also not thrilled that the so called secured parking lot was left unsecured all night.

Our stay was by no means horrible, but for the price, Holiday Inn should be able to do a lot better than this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wraithleaderx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
The reason I give this a poor rating is quite simple. If you are going to charge a higher rate than other hotels because of your location, then you better have every single room stacked with amenities so your patrons don't end up feeling cheated.

The hotel was clean and the staff was courteous, but the carpet, wallpapers, and narrow hallway gives the hotel an outdated feel.

Our king size bed room had no refrigerator, no microwave, and only one small dresser with three doors. In an era when chain franchises have the immense buying power to purchase in mass bulk, there is no good reason for those items not to be in every single room, especially when many less popular chains have made it a point to install these as a standard. Was also not thrilled that the so called secured parking lot was left unsecured all night.

Our stay was by no means horrible, but for the price, Holiday Inn should be able to do a lot better than this.

wraithleaderx,

Thank you so much for your comments and for staying with us. I appreciate the diligence and detail in your response of our hotel. I do apologize that our amenities did not live up to your expectations. We try to strive for the highest of standards in our rooms and we always strive to make all of our guests happy with their stay. If you would like to speak further about your issues during your stay, please do not hesitate to call me directly at the hotel. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience but we do appreciate your stay.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#44 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#91 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square

Property: Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Address: 175 E Town St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Columbus has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. You are at the heart of everything; shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within a short distance of German Village, Short North Arts District, The Arena District, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and the new Huntington Park, home of the Columbus Clippers. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle to get you back and forth to John Glenn International Airport, just 8 miles away. The Capital building, Federal building, Grant Hospital, Children's Hospital, and Nationwide are all less than five minutes away. The hotel is ideally situated whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. The professional and friendly staff of this Columbus hotel is waiting to make your stay away from home as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing