We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Ranked #15 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Southwest Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed here for a business conference and was very impressed w/their staff. I did have a very nice room w/an outstanding view, up on the 19th floor. This hotel trys to be "green" & gives you an option of whether you want to have your linen changed every day, I appreciate that option as I try myself to be a green individual. I had a great stay, I was there for six days/five nights - many places were w/in walking distance & they had a convention center connected to the hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASadowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    529
    279
    121
    63
See reviews for
258
216
62
996
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, MI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I have stayed in Hyatt's before and actually am a member of their stay so many nights and receive a free night program; so I was expecting a fairly decent hotel. My arrival was fairly decent; although out of three people working in the front desk, and with one person in front of me, it still took fifteen minutes to check in. I was in Columbus on a conference the end of March.

I asked for a high floor and received a wonderful room. My friend, who stayed in another room helped me carry my luggage to my room on the 19th floor. After I unpacked, I went to check out the bathroom, and OMG...it was filthy. The previous guest must have had very long hair because strands of it were on the floor, in the shower, on the toilet, etc. I immediately called to the front desk and asked to speak to a manager. The manager was not available, but after I told the front desk what the complaint was, they said they would move me. She said that the bell man would be up to help me with my luggage, and fifteen minutes later, a friendly staff member did arrive and helped me to the other room via the back elevator. He did give me two coupons for breakfast on the hotel. This time, I got a room which overlooked the roof and the back of the convention center which is attached to the hotel. The bathroom was better but she shower appeared unclean. The faucet top was missing from the cold water handle in the faucet. The bed was made but the sheets were not all the way tucked into the bed, giving the room a half made appearance. This was the first hotel which I have ever stayed in where I actually wore my flip flops in the shower..yuck. Overall, the hotel was not well taken care of; for example, the hallways to the rooms were filthy. They had crumbs, litter, and were overall very dirty. For the length of my stay, I never saw any staff member vacuum the hallways (which desperately needed it). I took a picture of an example of what kinds of things one could find on the hotel floors. Dirty dishes which people placed after ordering room service were not picked up for almost 24 hours. When I went to the pool, and the gym area they had the smell and appearance of dirtiness and looked dingy and in a way that I did not feel it was clean enough to swim or work out there (I ve used many hotel pools and gyms, but this was by far the most dirtiest); I actually went down four blocks to a gym (which was recommended by a staff member).

The staff was very friendly, and did answer all of my questions. When I called down for a hi wi connection; one of the staff stated she would go look for a "hi wi box" but never returned to the phone. When I went downstairs, they gave me a box, unfortunately it did not have all the proper connections. When I returned they gave me another box, and that one did not have all the connections either, fortunately I was smart enough to keep the first box and was able to finally connect online.

The food which the hotel served was very good for a hotel; I ate breakfast which was made to order and was outstanding; lunch (as part of the conference) and light appetizers (part of the conference); the food was very well prepared.

In summary, even though the people were friendly who worked there; and the food was good; it did not make up for the dirtiness of the hotel. I would NOT recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Rooms were clean and well maintained. Some rooms had fridges others appeared to have either been well hidden or not fitted. I stayed for 5 nights and my room was cleaned each day. The Guest Services were helpful. The swiming pool a little small for such a large hotel that seems to cater for family visits at the weekend. The location is close to the hockey stadium and North High Street which has interesting boutique shops. North Market is 5 minutes walk away for anyone interested in food. Lofts Bookstore is a $7.50 cab ride (I believe this is in the German Village area). Be prepared to walk back as patrolling cabs are sighted as often as the dodo (must be the cost of fuel). The nearest shopping mall is Easton ($35 each way - but Guest Services arranged the hotel shuttle $40 all in).

On the downside the lifts are very slow which is probably due to the large amount of conference attendees breaking off to their rooms or dashing to the conference at the same time. Either way I found myself using the stairs.

Breakfast would have been o.k ($16 for the buffet) if it were not for the fact that the food on the hotplates was repeatedly tepid. I tried different methods of gathering up breakfast so that I collected the hotplate food last and by the time I reached my table it was barely warm. Weird how no-one else seemed to notice. Not too sure about there coffee either.

I did not eat any other meals at this hotel. There are plenty of local places. My colleagues and I rated Deep Wood (3 mins walk and definitely for those into wine - 3oz taster glasses), and Hyde Park (6 mins walk, excellent steaks). However these two places were not cheap.

There appeared to be only one bar in the hotel which would be best described as functional. No shortage of local bars. Most of the area is allegedly owned by Nationwide.

$25 cab to the airport (CMH).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgeroftheYard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Spent a week at the Hyatt during March 2010 for a business conference. Was the week right after the Arnold Classic. Room 734.

Arrived in front of the Hyatt and was greeted by their parking service. I was allowed to park in the circle to check in and deliver my bags to my room. I opted for self serve parking with in/out privileges. Regular cost is $12/day. Half the valet service. Parking is a very long block away. It's about a 5 to 7 min walk. Hotel desk staff were EXCELLENT. Easy check in and accommodated all my extras with the conference.

Room 734 is at the far end of the hall facing southwest. It is a nice room but with an odd triangular shape. Full wall of windows in the sleeping room and bathroom. Bath tub/shower combo was unique. Also a triangular shape. Worked fine. Great water pressure and temperature control. This room gets full sun in the afternoon and without BOTH air conditioner units running, the room was hot. Closet was small. An iron and ironing board were present. Coffee/tea service in room. The TV was an older model instead of the flat LCD panels. Everything in the room worked fine. My only real complaint was the cost of internet access. $9.99/day via Tmobile hotspot. Other less expensive hotels give this service for FREE.

The hotel is attached to the convention center so all the typical issues there. Busy but not overly crowded. Hotel had good food. The Long Bar had good drinks. Easy walking distance to Short North and Capital.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

not a bad stay - the walls were a little thin - but luckily my neighbors we quiet. the rooms were remodeled a few years ago and were fairly up to date.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdk216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

I went for a convention and ended up in a riot! This hotel alllowed a rap radio station take over the hotel! By the end of the night, the police had to be called and the entire resort was a mess. The place was destroyed and the hotel had no way of providing safety for the guest. No sleep, no security, and the only way we had to stay safe was to baracade ourself in our rooms. To this day, I did not recieve even a apology from the managment.
do yourself a favor, Find a SAFE place to stay

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank partyanimaltvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I thought this place was great. They did not charge for wireless internet. Service was terrific. Staff was great. Room was great. Seriously, one of the best hotel stays I ever had.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reek323232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Columbus

Property: Hyatt Regency Columbus
Address: 350 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215-2006
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Columbus
#23 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#32 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Columbus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 633
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
633 guest rooms, including 16 suites, and Hyatt business plan rooms... connected to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. 63,000 sq ft meeting space, including 15,500 sq ft ballroom and 32 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Columbus Hotel Columbus
Columbus Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing