We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Ranked #15 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We're local but decided to Hotwire this hotel the day of Red, White and Boom. I'm glad we did. The service was great, rooms were nice and clean, beds were comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food. But overall it was a great stay!

Room Tip: Used Hotwire to book the hotel and got a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbb279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Stewart, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful five star review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am glad you chose our hotel for your impromptu getaway for Red White & Boom. Please consider us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    521
    276
    118
    62
See reviews for
257
215
59
974
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I do not have ridiculous standards with hotels circa convention centers, however, there were just a few things about this hotel that were kind of bothersome. First of all, the elevator wait was ridiculous! I'm a patient person, but I have never waited so long for elevators - they really need to construct another bank, especially since this is a hotel which hosts a lot of big groups. There were some days when I actually had to wait IN LINE for the elevator! The other main problem was the wifi. It was very spotty and never especially strong. They tried to fix it when we complained but it never truly worked. There were other little things like flat pillows, but nothing else too major. Otherwise, the decor was nice and modern. I appreciated the fact that there was HBO, a channel most hotels seem to no longer provide. Service was very friendly and always willing to help. One concierge member even called nearby restaurants to find out if they were open on July 4th so we didn't have to, which was very considerate. Only ate baked goods at Perks, but they were good and reasonably priced. It also is connected to the Convention Center which was a huge benefit for me. It is also near a lot of restaurants and in a pretty nice area downtown. If you get a reasonable deal at this hotel, take it, but be prepared for some issues like these.

Room Tip: Since the elevators are so slow, I'd try to get a room on a lower floor - it'll just take le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_Ralphio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Stewart, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hyatt Regency Columbus! I apologize for the waits with our elevators, and thank you for bringing your experience with our WiFi to my attention. We strive to find ways to make our guests experience more pleasant. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and the general decor of the hotel. I hope you will chose Hyatt the next time you are in the area and in need of accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked a room two months in advance for the 4th of June. The booking was for one room with a King-size Bed. When I checked in, I was told there were no rooms with a King-size bed and that the company I booked the room through made a mistake. At that point I was offered a "better accommodation" with two double beds but no refund for the price difference. For that, I was told I had to contact the booking company directly. (New room was close to 80 degrees when I entered plus two towels had clearly been used - room never dipped below 72 degrees and mattress's were both sunk in the middle)

Long story short, it took almost a month to get a refund from the booking company. The booking company pointed out that the Hyatt reserves the right to change a room selection prior to the customer checking in. That is, you might book and pay for one room but be given a completely different one when you arrive. Never knew that was possible - seems more like a bait and switch tactic. What would have happened if I had been traveling with my family and needed two beds but had to take a King? I had no other options than to take what we given to me. I have yet to see that fine print though.

There are some really nice hotels in the same general area. You may want to take a look at some of those first.

Room Tip: Physically call them to make sure they have the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pabl054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Stewart, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Columbus. I apologize for the confusion we caused at check in regarding your requested bed type. Thank you for bringing the condition of your mattress to my attention. Please note that we are in the process of installing new beds in the hotel currently. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill,Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel room was clean and very pleasant. Not being familiar with Columbus we decided to stay in and have meals at the cafe, I have to say for a hotel the food was excellent...cudos to the chef there. The meals were moderately priced and creative, it was such a pleasant surprise. Thanks again....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Stewart, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am happy to read that you were pleased with your dining experience with us. I will definitely pass on your praise to our Executive Chef, Steve Johnson, and his very capable staff. I hope you will chose Hyatt Regency Columbus again the next time you are in for a conference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have spend a many nights at the Hyatt Regency in Columbus Ohio for business and for fun in the downtown area. I have always found the staff to be friendly, customer-centric, and helpful. The location is perfect for any activity in the Columbus area. Rooms are always clean, quiet, and have great views. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Park in the attached parking garage. There are some neat little shops and a food court attached to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Stewart, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am glad to hear that we are doing everything we can to make you a loyal, happy customer. We look forward to your return the next time your travel needs bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hyatt Columbus was a great value and very modern. I like the decor and it felt like I was in a expensive NYC hotel. Easy garage parking (connected to convention center) with in/out for a small fee, but it was worth it, or valet is also available.

Room Tip: 20 mins to Scioto Downs or Hollywood Casino in either direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Stewart, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful five star review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am glad you were happy with your experience at the hotel and hope to see you in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphos
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

i volunteered for GAMA for their origins even in the convention center. they offer all there 32 hour volunteers a free hotel room for 5 days the duration of the convention. my work forced me to work the day of check in so i called and said i would be late. i get there to find out that they gave away my reservation claiming i did not call and forced me to pay $160 at another hotel for the night, im 20 giving my time for something i love and i don't go there with much money as most of everything is paid for, for me i was extremely mad . the manager was extremely rude to me. dont get me started on the slow elevators. there website said we got free breakfast along with our room but when we got there they forced us to pay the $17 each morning. horrible weekend.

Room Tip: back rooms have a great room and ok A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenshinSatsuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Stewart, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I apologize for the confusion we caused at your arrival. I do hope we were able to assist you in the acquisition of a room nearby the night you arrived. I apologize for the overall lack of satisfaction you experienced while you were with us, and hope you will give us another chance next year to give you a great GAMA stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Columbus

Property: Hyatt Regency Columbus
Address: 350 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215-2006
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Columbus
#23 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#32 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Columbus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 633
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
633 guest rooms, including 16 suites, and Hyatt business plan rooms... connected to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. 63,000 sq ft meeting space, including 15,500 sq ft ballroom and 32 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Columbus Hotel Columbus
Columbus Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing