We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet Policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Ranked #15 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pet Policy”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel with my yorkie, I was told that I have to pay $50 for the pet. Wow, almost the same price for the room! Nothing mentioned that in the hotel description at Priceline! They finally came down to $25 after some insistence. The snippity front desk manager said it was because of the additional cleaning needed for the pet. I paid the $25 and checked in. Later, I found out there were over 2000 high school students staying at the hotel and that was why you couldn't get an elevator. When I arrived at my room, the old coffee filter was still in the pot. The ice bucket smelled like throw up. There were bobby pins on the floor. It was disgusting. The final straw was the alarm clock going off at 5:30 AM and I couldn't shut it off without pulling the wire out of the wall. What an awful night at this hotel! The morning front desk manager removed the $25 fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hyatt Regency Columbus. I apologize that you were not informed beforehand about our pet policy. Thank you for bringing the lack of verbiage on the Priceline website to my attention. I apologize for the inconvenience you suffered with the housekeeping issues you listed. I hope you and your yorkie will give us another chance the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    470
    250
    107
    59
See reviews for
220
204
56
862
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We're frequent visitors to Columbus, for conferences and hockey games, and this is our second year of wonderful stays at the Hyatt Regency. I already have plans to book there again next month.

The most obvious plus is that it's ideally located, literally across the street from Nationwide Arena and within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops and a cinema. You can park in the adjacent parking garage and not have to go outside at all- just a short distance through a conference center hallway and you're at the front desk.

My favorite thing about staying here is how much is available without leaving the hotel at all. Just take an elevator down to the second floor and there's a bar, a coffee bar and a nice restaurant. Go down to the first and there's an entire food court with shops and a convenience store. Staff have always been friendly and gone out of their way to greet me. I noticed that in particular, there seems to be low employee turnover in the coffee bar and restaurant- the same employees I remembered from last year were still there this year.

When I stayed there for a sci-fi convention this weekend, it was perfect. I could wander at leisure, go to my room whenever I wanted, and go wherever I wanted to eat. The hotel even had a Dr. Who marathon going on Channel 10 for the duration of the convention, playing on TVs near elevators and in hallways, a move that charmed this Dr. Who fan :)

There are a few inconveniences, but not many. The bathroom is small and not ventilated. There was an ice machine, but our room didn't have an ice bucket. The elevators are sometimes delayed during busy times, but they have two other alternate banks of elevators. Cell and wireless reception can be sketchy in parts of the building. I can definitely deal with it, though, because I really enjoy this place.

Would come back, and will come back :)

Room Tip: If you are attending for a convention, check to see if there is a room deal that includes your inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful well-thought-out five star review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am so glad you have enjoyed your past stays with us and hope you will continue to do so as you return to our beautiful city each year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency to attend a conference held at the convention center connected to the hotel. Perfectly located for the convention center and arena district. The rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable, although the bathroom is a bit small on space. Good overall amenities, but somewhat limited TV channel selection (but who watches much TV when staying at a hotel anyway).

The service received from all hotel staff was exceptional. There are many great restaurants nearby but the in-room dining meals were wonderful. As some reviewers have noted, parking is a bit pricey but as a fairly frequent traveler to Columbus, the parking fees are very comparable to other downtown hotels and parking lot options, but with increased safety. Even if you leave the hotel once a day, you are saving money over parking in a surface lot nearby. Plus the valet staff are quick and very helpful with loading/unloading your vehicle.

Overall a great option for downtown Columbus, Ohio.

Room Tip: The room with a King Bed had just one comfy lounging chair (plus the desk chair), and the chair sits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HigherEdAdmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am glad we provided you with a pleasant stay. Thank you for the input on the lack of TV channel selection and the promptness of our valet staff. I'm glad to hear your overall experience with our staff was a good one. It is always nice to know that we are providing our guests with the stay with they expect and deserve. I hope to have you as our guest again the next time your conference-going needs return you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Pool is little outdated and in the basement. If we hadn't got a great deal on the room wouldn't stay again. View is nice of downtown Columbus. Bed was not very comfy or nice. Room over all was nice. ihome docking station nice feature and nice tv.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bg1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am glad you enjoyed the view from your guestroom of our beautiful city! It's good also to hear that you enjoyed some of our in-room amenities. I hope to have you as our guest again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After I called to make my reservation for 3 rooms, I had not received a confirmation email. So I called back to receive my confirmation number and they said I had not made a reservation. They looked for 30 minutes and could not find anything under my name or debit card. So, I proceed to make another reservation. Upon arrival, everyone was very friendly, the room was clean and our stay was good. However, the parking is absolutely ridiculous. So expensive. Upon check out, I was informed that someone had already "checked out" of one of my rooms and didn't print me the bill. I questioned them, and then they finally printed it for me. The reason they didn't pring the bill was because there was a "noise complaint" for one of my rooms and that they added an additional few hundred dollar fee. We were never aware that there was a complaint, and I have never heard of charging someone for noise. Also, it was St. Patrick's Day and I highly doubt we were the only noisey group. After I discussed the situation with the manager, he said he had to leave it on my bill. An hour after I left, the manager called me and apologized for being so rude and said that he would credit my account for the charge. It is now TWO WEEKS after I have left, and my account still isn't credited and I have turned the situation over to the bank to handle. As if that wasn't already a nightmare, an additional $230 came out of my account over a week after I left. So I called to find out what the charge was for and they said it was a "hold" on the room. A hold on the room I left a week ago? So after that not being credited back to my account, I call again and it turns out it wasn't a hold, it was a NO SHOW charge for the room I booked the first time I called that they couldn't find!!! It turns out they put it under the wrong name. I still haven't been paid back for either of these charges. I have always stayed at Hilton Hotels and will never again because of this huge ordeal. It turned my fun trip into a living nightmare with $400 extra down the drain. It was not worth the money, the manager was not friendly and rude, and the front desk attendants that I've spoken with are incompetent and have told me 2 or 3 different stories of why I've been charged so much extra money. I'm so disappointed and unhappy with these folks. My party of 16 guests also said they will not stay at another Hyatt hotel. We will gladly stay at the HIlton from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Plain, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This cost $116 for a Thursday hight, there was no parking for this hotel. I spent $25 just in parking because I wanted to go get dinner at a nice restaurant. Then they did not include wi-fi. I could have stayed at a less expensive hotel and parking and wi-fi would have been included. I would never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hyatt Regency Columbus. I apologize that you were not made aware of the additional cost for parking here in the downtown area. I do want to let you know that we provide complimentary wi-fi for our guests in our public areas. Additionally, we provide complimentary wi-fi to our Gold Passport Platinum and Diamond level members in our guestrooms. Gold Passport is Hyatt's loyalty program and I encourage you to look into becoming a member. I hope to have another chance to provide you with a wonderful Hyatt stay the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here for three days for a conference held at the convention center. Its very convenient, especially in freezing cold weather. However, despite the best efforts of the staff, it has a ghostly anonymous feel, with numerous large empty spaces in the public areas. It took me fifteen minutes to check in, even though there were only two people in front of me being checked in at the two open desks. The bedroom and bathroom was clean, just old and tired. The room was cleaned at 5pm. The weather was cold, and I (and numerous other people at the conference) were cold both in bedrooms and in the meetings rooms. The hotel needs refurbishment to bring it up to Hyatt standards.

Room Tip: Keep away from the elevators whatever you do. There seem to be many conferences/meetings and a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hyatt Regency Columbus! I apologize for the delay in getting you checked into your room. Thank you for bringing the temperature of both your room and our meeting space to my attention. I hope to have you as our valued guest the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Columbus

Property: Hyatt Regency Columbus
Address: 350 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Columbus
#23 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#32 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Columbus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
633 guest rooms, including 16 suites, and Hyatt business plan rooms... connected to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. 63,000 sq ft meeting space, including 15,500 sq ft ballroom and 32 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Columbus Hotel Columbus
Columbus Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing