We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Ranked #15 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed November 30, 2012

As a Columbus native, I knew where I wanted to stay during my recent trip to the Capital City. I was in town from Chicago for the OSU - Michigan game, I was very pleased with everything, from check in, to the restaurant, and everything in between. Great job!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and that we were able to be your host while you were back in Buckeye Country. I hope you will come visit us again the next time you are in the Columbus area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,836)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Columbus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,581 - 1,587 of 1,836 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed over Thanksgiving weekend and our Columbus experience could not have been nicer. From the bellman to the front desk staff everyone we encountered at the hotel was professional, helpful and pleasant. I paid the extra $5 for a higher floor-(18th) had a fabulous view of downtown. Our room was very clean, had a “high tech” theme and the beds were comphy. I highly recommend the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $5 for a higher floor-the views are worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froggybottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful five star review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am so glad you enjoyed your room on 18 and that your experience with our staff was pleasant. I hope you will again be our guest the next time to come to the Columbus area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I love to stay in hotels, especially road race headquarter hotels. Especially hotels that provide a memorable stay that begins with the reservation, since you never have a second chance to make a first impression.

My husband participated in the Columbus, Ohio, Nationwide Children’s Hospital Half Marathon on October 21. Before we left home, we received an email with an offer to check in to our room.
At 11:00 a.m., we received a second email letting us know our room was ready: I like the communication between hotel and guest. However, if you have specific requests and check-in online, any previous room requests (e.g., high floor overlooking front of hotel) will be ignored. You will be assigned the first room that matches your bedding configuration. We accepted the room assignment.

We self-parked at the public garage on Chestnut St. for $12 per day rather than the $23 valet service. We carried our luggage one block through a safe alleyway shortcut. Jessica provided a prompt and friendly check-in. She was able to find us a room with a view of the Columbus suburbs and with our special requests. Although we had requested a refrigerator, we learned that all rooms have them. There were no microwaves, however. It is standard policy for the refrigerator to be turned ‘off’ upon arrival. I turned it on to ‘max’ but it never did get cold.

Our double queen-bedded room was spacious. I appreciated the single serve coffee maker positioned in the entryway of the room rather than taking up space on a surface in the ‘living’ area. In addition to the customary shampoo, conditioner and soap, a small tube of AquaFresh toothpaste was provided.

Lighting is important to us. The bedside lighting was soothing; the desk lamp was bright. There was one floor lamp, also. Our room had a Phillips flat screen TV; it did not have a safe. Despite a full house with many runners, we never waited long for an elevator. We learned from the valet staff, that during the busy hours from 5 p.m. to midnight, additional (service) elevators are available near the front desk. Personally, for an event like a marathon, the service elevators should be available in the morning when runners need to be at the start line by 7 a.m., a 10-minute walk from the Hyatt.

A letter was available at the front desk and distributed to each room announcing expanded hours in the restaurants and lounges. Checkout after a race is problematic for room turnaround. Hyatt attempted to solve this creatively. We received an additional letter announcing incentives for early checkout: check out of the hotel by 9 a.m.: be entered into a drawing for a Dick’s $ 150 gift card. Checkout by 10: Be entered for a $100 gift card drawing. Checkout by 11:00 - ….. Sorry. We opted to take our generous 1 p.m. checkout.

Another great reason to stay at the Hyatt is its connection by covered walkway to the Greater Columbus Convention Center, location of the Runner’s Expo. We had beautiful weather but if you were walking in rain or cold from another location, the enclosed access is a real benefit. The signage from the hotel to the Expo was exceptional.

Another positive: despite construction, the Hyatt Regency is a straight drive in from I-70.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you so much for the exceptional review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I very much enjoy reading detailed feedback about guest's stays. It is wonderful to be able to see where we have succeeded and where we have room for improvement.
I am glad you enjoyed your accommodations, room amenities and our proximity to the Expo. It is also nice to hear that you had a simple drive in and were also made aware of our secondary elevators. (Thank you for the advice on their availability and run times!)
I hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future and am glad you had a pleasant stay in Columbus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Columbus is my hometown, but we were hosting a conference in the Hyatt/Convention Center and so I stayed on site. My room was very clean. The bathroom had quiet ventilation and the bathroom mirror did not fog up at all! The heater was quiet and easy to adjust. There was a mini-fridge for my use in the room - a rarity these days, it seems. My view was okay from 17 - High Street, the convention center roof and lots of highways. The bed was comfy, the pillows were pretty good..medium firmness. The hotel desk staff was very helpful. Parking was right next door in a clean garage. The valet folks even let us park our van shuttle in the drop off loop for a few hours at a time to avoid the in and out parking charges. Another new place just opened across the street...but if the Hyatt is a better value - don't hesitate to stay here! I didn't eat on property - because the awesome North Market is just steps away across the street! I had a very good experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a view facing away from the convention center.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Csaw712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm delighted to hear from a fellow Columbus local that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you found your room clean and comfortable, we know that's so important when traveling. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. The decor is very modern and sleek. It gives the hotel a high-end, hip feeling. We also had a room at the end of the corridor that was oddly shaped. That was fine, except the huge upholstered office chair seemed to be in the way no matter where we put it. But that is really very minor. The room was clean and well-furnished, and the toiletries, linens and towels were good quality. The hotel is attached to the convention center, so it was very convenient for our visit. You can walk through the convention center and get to the Short North, which is full of fun restaurants, shops and bars. The staff was very helpful. In short, a very good bet if you need a place to stay in Columbus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuildingHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love our location next to the Short North. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you when you return to the Columbus area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed their over night for a visit to columbus.
Nice hotel with very easy check in and friendly staff.
Room was clean and well appointed with a comfortable bed and pillows. I was in a corner room which was nice with excellent views but weird corners in the bathroom and the toilet was very angled. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your 5 star review! I'm most pleased to hear you experienced easy check-in and our friendly staff. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hyatt Regency in Columbus is just what the dr. ordered for new parents such as ourselves. needed a place to stay on short notice after a show, and this downtown location was perfect. Close to everything, restaurants, stadiums, arenas, and convention center. If you wish to stay in, there are plenty of amenities at the hotel, including a wonderful restaurant and bar, and tasty room service. Used Priceline, and got a wonderful deal as well.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, and our view was exceptional. If you like a good view, one side of the hot...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpcleats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Dant, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of Hyatt Regency Columbus! I'm happy you found our hotel to be in prime location and close to everything. We love that we're in walking distance of such great nightlife in the Arena District & Short North Arts District! I hope you're able to visit us again soon for your next show or night out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Columbus

Address: 350 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215-2006
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Columbus
#23 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#32 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $150 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Columbus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 633
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
633 guest rooms, including 16 suites, and Hyatt business plan rooms... connected to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. 63,000 sq ft meeting space, including 15,500 sq ft ballroom and 32 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Columbus Hotel Columbus
Columbus Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing