We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, horrible wifi speed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #51 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Horrible, horrible wifi speed.”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Want to watch a movie? Browse the internet? Forget it. The speed is excruciatingly slow. You can check email but even downloading the pictures that come with a standard news site is painful fully slow. I never did get to watch any of my Amazon movies.
The hotel itself is ok. Friendly front desk and near the river for walking/exercising.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank pechung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    170
    93
    44
    29
See reviews for
71
105
18
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The initial impression of the room and bathroom is very nice. All are clean, roomy and present well. The sleep experience is most important to me. In this respect, the hotel fails. The sheets are stiff, scratchy and uncomfortable. There are two comforters on the bed and one is made of some type of material that feels like plastic and is likely some waterproof type of material. It is awful and feels like something put in a youth bed to protect from moisture. Unfortunately, we are here for three nights. :( Breakfast on the club floor is very untasty eggs and mushy oatmeal. Increasing a little quality could go a long way!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear jennifer s,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. You may have already addressed the bedding issues with our management team, but if you would like to discuss any other issues with a member of the hotel management, please send an email to GuestService@sheratoncolumbuscapitolsquare.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just stayed here over the weekend. The local taxes will add 40% to your bill. Be aware.

the rooms are pretty dated. they are dark with few outlets for phones.

I guess this needs to be 200 characters. I don't have much else to say. I stay in lots of hotels.. about 150 nights a year and these taxes really were out of line. I'm guessing it is just downtown Columbus, so ask before you book.

Room Tip: Get a room up high so you don't have the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksondg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear jacksondg,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about the current 17.5% taxes on top of your rate. Current Ohio State sales tax is 7.5%. Columbus occupancy tax is 10%. Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
211 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Recently stayed at the Sheraton while in town for a friend's wedding. The hotel itself was fine. The lobby was nice, the bed was comfortable and had nice bedding. Wifi was complimentary. All things that I have become accustomed to being a frequent traveler. Unfortunately, some minor issues would cause me to choose an alternative the next time. The lighting in the hotel room was horrible! The walls had dark wallpaper and the carpeting was dark brown. All the lights were very dim - even the ones over the bathroom vanity. A lighted make-up mirror would have been a valuable amenity! Valet parking was available with in/out privileges - at $23/day. Finally, I'd avoid staying in downtown Columbus for the taxes alone. More than 20% was applied to the bill in various taxes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyValley1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear HappyValley1000,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our hotel guestrooms and the comfort of the bedding. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about the current 17.5% taxes on top of your rate. Current Ohio State sales tax is 7.5%. Columbus occupancy tax is 10%. Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very nice young lady checked us in. No problem with that. But when we got into the room I noticed hair on the bathroom floor. Small piece of aluminum foil on carpet that wasn't swept up. Hooks to hold clothes in bathroom was coming out of wall. But the pillows were soft, bed was ok to sleep on and got a nice hot shower before we left the next day. Basically all one needs in a room,, bed and shower. Booked it on Expedia and saved a lot of money, I assume they reserve this room for Expedia users since they don't pay full price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie
Level Contributor
204 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We've stayed at several Sheraton hotels, and perhaps because this one is downtown makes the difference. We felt for all the things that needed fixing in the room it is severely overpriced. The toilet ran constantly. The shower didn't drain and by the end of your shower you were standing in several inches of water. The sink dripped. The ice machine on the 9th floor didn't work for our entire stay. When the bellboy brought up our luggage he asked if he could get ice for us. We knew why shortly after he left because he probably also knew the machine didn't work. We called down and asked about getting it fixed twice - and still by the time we left it didn't work. I found some shredded cheese on the floor in the room - clear to me the vacuuming might not have been done prior to our arrival because we had no cheese with us. Some TLC by the staff and management might be needed here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackm0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

1 week stay here was comfortable and without problems. Club lounge worth the extra expense as the brekfast was wonderful with fresh fruit, juice, eggs, bacon, yogurts and oatmeal. Coffe available in the club lounge was good.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators is usually quiet. Upper floors are club level. Club lounge was well run and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#44 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 75 E State St, Columbus, OH 43215-4203 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing