We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Expected more from a Sheraton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Sun Prairie
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expected more from a Sheraton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We've stayed at several Sheraton hotels, and perhaps because this one is downtown makes the difference. We felt for all the things that needed fixing in the room it is severely overpriced. The toilet ran constantly. The shower didn't drain and by the end of your shower you were standing in several inches of water. The sink dripped. The ice machine on the 9th floor didn't work for our entire stay. When the bellboy brought up our luggage he asked if he could get ice for us. We knew why shortly after he left because he probably also knew the machine didn't work. We called down and asked about getting it fixed twice - and still by the time we left it didn't work. I found some shredded cheese on the floor in the room - clear to me the vacuuming might not have been done prior to our arrival because we had no cheese with us. Some TLC by the staff and management might be needed here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackm0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    144
    73
    33
    26
See reviews for
52
90
12
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

1 week stay here was comfortable and without problems. Club lounge worth the extra expense as the brekfast was wonderful with fresh fruit, juice, eggs, bacon, yogurts and oatmeal. Coffe available in the club lounge was good.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators is usually quiet. Upper floors are club level. Club lounge was well run and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nicely situated next to Capitol square and Bicentenary gardens.
Checking in at reception speedy and efficiently with very friendly and helpful staff. This was very welcome after travelling for 20 hours.
Rooms are very spacious , comfortable and clean.
They do a great breakfast.
All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: From what I can gather they are pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altekaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A comfortable hotel in a great location. Nothing stand out about it, there must be a quality control issue with house keeping - bed's made and that's about it......so wipe up your crumbs and hang up your bath mat.
I do hope that the ice machine is working for you - it wasn't on floor 9 or 8 I had the feeling they hadn't worked for a while as the staff's despondent response was a little too jaded.
Good views and spacious rooms.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Theburnsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel was great, luxurious, and the staff were helpful and friendly. Great location, with beautiful surroundings. Try to get a room overlooking the park if you can. Only downside is the Wifi is so slow you'd be better off using carrier pigeon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a great time at this hotel. The location of the hotel is downtown near some good restaurants. The staff where friendly and were happy to help. Although signage around the hotel isn't great i found this hotel clean and overall a good place to stay if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veiw and the higher you go the better. i was on the 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton during the Rock on the Range concert. We were there for 4 nights. From the time we walked in the door service was outstanding. The Valet guys were the best. Friendly, funny, helpful. The rooms and the hotel overall was spotless and beautiful. We will be staying there next year again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Deirdre I,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. It is so great to hear compliments about the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and our staff. We hope to see you again next year for Rock on the Range or maybe just visiting Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#55 of 142 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#29 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Starwood, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing