We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Needs Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #55 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Dayton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Needs Improvement”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Hotel has serious maintenance issues and housekeeping flaws – mold, peeling wallpaper, mouse-sized dust bunnies in vents, rotten food left in fridge from previous occupant. I had to change rooms twice just to deal with the major disgusting issues. Still no reply phone call from hotel’s GM after 7 days, and multiple conversations with the manager on duty. I have canceled all business reservations previously booked there through end of year and have cautioned business colleagues to find other options. I would recommend selecting other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s023kaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear s023kaw,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We apologize for the lack of cleanliness in the guestroom as well as the other issues discussed, this is not a standard and we are addressing these issues with our housekeeping department, Engineering department and front office. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    173
    96
    44
    30
See reviews for
72
107
20
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here while squeezing in a number of meetings in Columbus. The hotel is well located downtown Columbus, 8 blocks to the hockey arena. My room was spacious, modern and quiet. It was perfect to lay down my head and sleep well. The bathroom was lovely - granite top, large tub, all of the amenities. The room also has a coffee maker with Starbucks coffee. As always, most hotels are good, it is the staff that makes it great. From the valet to the front desk people, I was welcomed and taken care of. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portena-by-Marriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Re: “A respite for the road weary”

Dear Portena-by-Marriage,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team and the entire hotel. It is always nice to hear compliments about our staff and numerous amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The Sheraton is a nice place to stay. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are clean and well appointed. 2nd floor lounge adds a nice touch. Within walking distance to several area attractions. While a pool would be nice, all and all we would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cdawg6016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Re: “Nice Stay”,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. Thank you for adding to the numerous positive comments we have about our beds. It is always great to hear compliments about our amenities. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights from Oct 25th to Oct 26th our room was not cleaned at all during our stayed even though we were out of the room most of the time. We requested twice when we returned to have our room cleaned and left for the evening and when we returned the room was still not cleaned, leaving us with no clean towels.

Upon check out we requested the services of a bellman and after calling twice and waiting for 45 minutes we carried our own bags down while bellman was sitting at front desk.

Had drinks in the bar Friday and Saturday. On Saturday waitress had forgot about us and took over an hour to get a second round of drinks.

Very nice hotel but the inside service was very poor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tbown938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear downtown938,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We apologize for the issues with the service within numerous departments. This service is not a standard and we will address these issues in each department. You may have already addressed these issues with our management team, but if you would like to discuss any other issues with a member of the hotel management, please send an email to GuestService@sheratoncolumbuscapitolsquare.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to this hotel on a girl's weekend getaway from Cleveland. There were seven of us staying here. I was able to find a great rate online, but realized when I called the hotel, that I could get a AAA rats on the club level.
Upon check-in, the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. They quickly checked us in and explained how to get to the area shops and restaurants.
We visited the club lounge for snacks at happy hour time and enjoyed time out on the great patio. We then headed downstairs to the second floor bar. Great comfy couches to relax on and service was great. It picked up right around dinner time, but was never too crowded.
We returned very late at night, and requested more towels .housekeeping was quick to bring them to us.
Beds were very comfortable and the floor we were on was very quiet.
We ate breakfast at the club lounge the next morning. Food well well maintained and cleAred plates often.
I was so pleased with this hotel. My husband works for another top hotel chain so I am spoiled with his perks and other hotels, but I really loved this place!!! I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgrl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Travelgrl911,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear so many great compliments about our staff, our amenities, and our guestrooms. We hope to see you again for your next girls weekend in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We checked in Thursday night into a Club Room. Spacious, King Bed, 2 comfortable chairs and ottomans, recently redone bath, view of the Capital. Check in was smooth. The Club level was small but efficient and had a good selection for breakfast. (Saturday morning was a zoo on the Club Floor but we attend a lot of college games and we anticipate the Game day crowds overwhelm most hotels). Friday morning, evening, and Sunday morning were perfect. I like the fact that your key opens the Club room so even "off hours" you can always grab a big chocolate chip cookie and water/soft drinks. The Club floor does not serve alchohol. Parking valet was fast - we never waited more than a couple mins and they were busy so this was appreciated. The bar/restaurant was very good. Nice menu, plentiful drinks, big screen TV. comfortable seating areas, helpful staff. Only negative was air conditioners/heaters were a little noisy but not bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
*Trip Advisor: “Excellent stay - OSU football weekend”
Dear Z3PML,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any issues. We apologize for the AC/heater unit noise and we are addressing this issue with our engineering department. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall guestroom, the front desk check-in, the Sheraton Club Lounge, and the yummy large cookies. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next OSU game day stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed alone for two nights on a business trip. Overall, I was pleased with the accommodations. The room was spacious and comfortable.

PROS:
1. Friendly, helpful front desk.
2. Clean and well-kept room. Excellent housekeeping.
3. Spacious room.
4. Safe in room.
5. Free continental breakfast.

CONS:
1. The shower, sink, and toilet are all behind one door. Inconvenient if two people are getting dressed at the same time.
2. Charge for internet access.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Re: "Nice Hotel at Reasonable Rates”

Dear Joseph G,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any issues. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall guestroom, the front desk staff, and the Sheraton Club Lounge breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again on your next business trip in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 143 in Columbus
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#41 of 143 in Columbus
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 75 E State St, Columbus, OH 43215-4203 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing