We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location / Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #48 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location / Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! The staff is always very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and they feel quite spacious . The beds are comfortable and the views of downtown Columbus are great. I definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevi747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear kevi747,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and guestrooms. You have been added to the long list of guests that love our beds. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    151
    78
    39
    26
See reviews for
58
96
13
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
192 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Was at this hotel recently with coworkers for a business trip. The facilities were very nice - including the conference center we used. (AV equipment readily available). The hotel restaurant breakfast was very tasty. Staff was very friendly. Everything is mostly within walking distance from hotel or short cab ride.

Room Tip: Choose high floored room with view of Capitol building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Lulu2828,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff, food, and conference facilities. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I thought I would not enjoy my stay at this hotel because I had called at least five (5) times to request an E-mail confirmation of my reservation and never did receive the confirmation of my reservation even though hotel promised to send out a confirmation via E-mail. (I considered this very poor customer service).
I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the hotel on July 9, 2013. The front desk staff was very accommodating and professional. My room met and exceeded my expectations. I had a king room, very nice.
The meeting space for my convention was well prepared and accommodated all our group needs.
My only problem was the restaurant and the meal service with the convention. The kitchen did not know how to prepare beef properly. The steak in the restaurant was tough and grisly and the beef at the banquet was also tough. I had three other meals one in the restaurant and two convention meals that were good. So only problem I experienced was with the prep of my beef meals.
The meeting rooms were too cool for the most part, needed a sweater, light jacket or sweatshirt to be comfortable during our meetings, the hotel staff had been contacted and they attempted to adjust the temperature in our meeting spaces without success.
I checked out on July 14, 2013 and had quite a long wait as the front desk appeared understaffed at the busy time between 11:00 AM and noon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daDA144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear daDA144,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and services. We apologize for the issue with the reservation confirmation and the preparation of the beef meals. Please let us know next time you stay with us and we could send you a manual version of a confirmation. We hope to see you again for your next convention and/or stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
Level Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here before a half marathon and the hotel is very nice. Great location downtown with a starbucks inside. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were nicely decorated, but small. Lots of places to eat nearby which I prefer and the staff were great at providing highly rated and popular restaurants. I would stay here again. Oh and it's not far from THE Ohio State. I actually walked there and stopped at several little shops and cafe's along the way there and back. Very upscale neighborhood and lots of people out during the weekends so don't hesitate to take a stroll and venture out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear WorldTravelSnob,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff, newly renovated guestrooms, and convenient location downtown to many area places to eat. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we look forward to seeing you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I think this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at in a long time. I stayed here for a conference and did not have an issue with anything during my stay. There is free internet access in the lobby or you can pay $9.99 for 24-hour Wi-Fi access. There is a Starbucks in the hotel if you are a coffee drinker, as well as a coffee maker in the rooms.

The area has a few restaurants and stores around. There is also a University close by as well (not OSU). You can walk to most areas of downtown if you have the ability to get out and walk.

The only drawback is the valet service. The valet company is not through the hotel but a separate company. Depending on how busy things are, it may take 20 minutes (or more) to get your vehicle. If you call down for the vehicle then it takes less time (approx. 10 mins). You can always try to get parking in one of the decks around the hotel; just be cautious. A friend of mine found parking in a deck for $5/day, but his vehicle was broken into.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get a room on the 20th floor or higher so that you can get into the Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUTiger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear CUTiger81,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our services, numerous amenities and convenient location to many local area attractions. The location of the Valet Parking is convenient to the hotel, but unfortunately the street lights and one way streets do not always allow for a consistent quick retrieval of the parked car. We are very happy to know your stay and conference was exceptional at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we look forward to seeing you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here one night. Some trainees at the front desk and some initial confusion about room type reserved and Starwood status but the lovely manager on duty staightened it out and we had a very comfortable stay. If you do choose the club lounge it is a very nice one with great views of downtown. They do have breakfast there on the weekends but note that it does not start till 0730. Location is 1 mile south of the convention center so there is a walk involved if you are going there. Parking overnite is $23. Not sure where they park the cars but you need to give them 15' lead time to get your vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear bigsky3,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff, services, and convenient location to local areas like the Convention Center. The location of the Valet Parking is convenient to the hotel, but unfortunately the street lights and one way streets do not always allow for a consistent quick retrieval of the parked car. Our Sheraton Club is definitely an amenity we are proud of with the great views, indoor/outdoor spaces, the breakfast, and the evening hors d’oeuvres. We are very happy to know your stay was exceptional at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we look forward to seeing you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights this past weekend. I had read some of the negative reviews but experienced no issues. We had a very clean and quite room. The service was great and the people friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Joe M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and service. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#61 of 141 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#29 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 75 E State St, Columbus, OH 43215-4203 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing