We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sheraton, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #57 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This Sheraton has a downtown location that is close to many restaurants, lots of shopping and things to do! It's a nice facility, clean, modernly appointed and the staff are helpful, pleasant and aim to please!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear crystalclearreef,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and convenient downtown location. We hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 492 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

After traveling 7 hours, the last thing you want at midnight is to be checked-in to a occupied room. After dragging our bags back to the front desk, the agent Heather acted as if I made a mistake but she apologized and indicated that she was going to upgrade our room. However, the room she placed us in was the same room type of the room that we were incorrectly checked into so there was no REAL upgrade, she simply put us on a higher floor.

Did I mention the valet guy who appeared to be sleeping in a guest vehicle when we pulled up to the hotel?

The tub dripped all night which was not a big issue considering how comfortable the beds were.

So it started off very poorly but ended great as we ran into numerous housekeeping team members (men) who were a absolute delight. They engaged us in conversation and asked about our stay. I must say that the housekeeping staff help change my opinion of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie071717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear DrAB2013,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We apologize for the inconvenience at check-in especially after a long day of travel and late at night. We are very happy to know you that your overall housekeeping staff experience positively changed your opinion of the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. We hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Hotel was clean and the Bar/lounge on the second floor was great. Food is good, but the restaurant is quite small on that same floor. Our room was dark and the lighting was not good, which made it difficult to put make-up on, etc. The bathroom was big, however the water flow in the shower was not good. The check-in process was easy and the personnel were very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharli6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. It is always great to hear a story of our staff being warm and welcoming because great service is what we strive for at Sheraton. We are glad you enjoyed the lounge and the food. We apologize for the lighting in the guestroom. If you choose to stay with us again let us know and we can add more lighting to your room. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall experience at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel was pretty good. The breakfast was very good. Diffferent types of cerals, coffees,Juices fruits. Ambience was good. Every day you visit your room you will see it clean. I came here for a business visit. But experienced with poor plumbing. But the technician came in 5 mins. Overall service was good. I liked the view from my room. I was able to view the sunset very clearly.

Room Tip: Take a room where you don't have connection to other person room or which connected to other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sndpchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear sndpchanda,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. It is always great to hear a story of our staff being attentive to guest needs because great service is what we strive for at Sheraton. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the overall ambiance, view, and cleanliness of your room. We apologize for the plumbing issues, but we are happy that we were able to assist you quickly. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall experience at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice hotel, great location. Recently updated bathroom with granite countertop, and top notch bedding. Unfortunately housekeeping staff did not clean carefully. Our hotel room looked very nice but we found an empty sports drink bottle on the floor near 1 of the 2 double beds, and M&Ms on the floor near the floor lamp. Other large chunks of snack crumbs were scattered just inside the door. Vacuuming the room after the previous guests should have taken care of the crumbs although the M&Ms would have required more effort. It seemed to me that the housekeeping staff didn't take much pride in their work if they were comfortable leaving the floor dirty.
Front desk staff great, valet parking fine a d lobby nicely appointed. Wi-fi in lobby reliable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Mary M,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We apologize for the lack of cleanliness in the guestroom this is not a standard and we are addressing this issue with our housekeeping department. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall guestroom and front desk/valet staff experience at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel's rooms are not up to Sheraton standards. The hotel itself is centrally located, the staff friendly and competent but my room was dirty, dusty and not at all what I expected. The carpeting was filthy, all furniture covered in dust, and I had to call down to get my bathtub cleaned on arrival. Even the in room coffee maker (i don't use those anyway) was caked with old coffee and dirt.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awinans518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear awinans518,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We apologize for the lack of cleanliness in the guestroom this is not a standard and we are addressing this issue with our housekeeping department. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall staff experience at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We attended a meeting last weekend at the Sheraton on Capital Square in Columbus, Ohio. This was the former Hyatt on Capital Square. The hotel shows its age and the new management, I suppose, is struggling to bring the hotel back to its original style. We were struck by the poor state of plumbing - dripping lavatory and difficulty regulating hot/cold. Same issue with the shower which had a very touchy mixer valve and was mostly too hot. The commode forgot how to flush! The wait for a wake-up call was 10 minutes on our first nite - there was no wake-up call number. The A/C thermostat was stuck on 65 degrees but it was hot in the room. On the other hand, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating dealing with what they had to offer. Meeting space was a bit cut-up with the main room having pillars in critical areas. I hope that Sheraton can make good on this valuable property!

Room Tip: Nice view on the South side now that there is a park at the site of the former shopping center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear RBR41,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. I apologize for the maintenance issues during your stay. We would like some additional information to look into this issue. If you are willing to provide additional information or anything else that you would like to discuss with our management team, please send an email to GuestService@sheratoncolumbuscapitolsquare.com so we may address it with you directly. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#59 of 145 in Columbus
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 75 E State St, Columbus, OH 43215-4203 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $120 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing