We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #61 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We requested and received a renovated room and were pleased with our overall stay. The hotel was obiously under renovation which makes it difficult to rate more than our room. We were visiting Columbus for pleasure - not business - and the best part of the hotel was its proximity to German Village. The hotel was not much more than a room, but it was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 481 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed one night here while relocation to Columbus. The hotel is in need of a makeover, and it is clear that the makeover is in progress. The hotel is in a great, safe location right downtown. The beds are extremely AWESOME and the room was clean; just needs a fresh coat of touch-up paint.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msullivan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Part of a point of getting a hotel is getting a good nights rest. Part of the hotel is under renovation and the noise of the construction woke us up. Then the cleaning lady repeatedly knocked on our door at 9am. Very disappointing. You would think they would know we had not checked out yet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at this property for two nights from April 2-4 while we were in Columbus visiting COSI and other Columbus attractions with our 2 kids.

Having stayed here several times when the property was a Hyatt, we knew that this was a decent hotel in a convenient location. However, the Hyatt property was very dated, the lobby restaurant was terrible, and service was average.

This was our first stay since the property converted to a Sheraton last Fall. The new owners are making some fantastic changes to make this hotel truly a 4 star property. With these upgrades, improved customer service, and the outstanding location, this will be one of the best choices for luxury accomodations in downtown Columbus. Be aware, though, that the remodeling is in progress so there is some noise during the day and not all rooms have yet been renovated.

We booked the hotel using Priceline. Although room requests are not guaranteed when booking through Priceline, we were able to get the room we wanted since the hotel was a little slow during the 2 nights of our stay.

The room renovations are outstanding. The color scheme in our room was sleek grays, blacks, and browns. The furniture, beds/bedding, television, bath vanity, lighting, closets, bath fixtures all appeared to be new and beautiful. The desk chair and easy chair were very comfortable. I don't believe the bath tubs/showers have changed other than new shower curtains. One of the great things about this property is that the rooms and bathrooms are very spacious. In the renovated rooms, the combination of the room size and new contemporary furnishings makes for a luxurious experience.

The carpet in the hallways received a much needed replacement and create a bright and vibrant ambience. The Hyatt hall carpets were dark and in disrepair.

We found the cleanliness of the rooms to be quite good. I actually briefly observed the housekeeping staff cleaning the room next to ours and they were doing an extremely thorough job.

Sheraton is redesigning the front desk area and is either eliminating or completely changing the lobby restaurant, which was a disgrace under Hyatt.

We found the staff to be extremely warm and helpful during our entire stay. This included the bell boys, front desk staff, 2nd floor restaurant staff, and housekeeping. One lady at the front desk was particularly helpful and spent about 20 minutes with us providing maps and information on things to do and places to eat that were kid friendly.

There are only a few negatives worth mentioning.

As with most downtown hotels, parking can be expensive and a logistical challenge. We parked in the public parking lot under the statehouse right across the street for about $12/day. This is half the hotel valet parking rate and took only 3 minutes or so to walk from our car to the hotel. If we had a lot of luggage, this would have been less convenient.

The sound-proofing between rooms is very poor. My wife was kept up until 2 am one night by two guests talking in the room next to ours.

While the beds are very comfortable, the sheets weren't quite as soft and high quality as the Westins, for example.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel when staying in downtown Columbus!

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobNKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed here for a conference and was generally pleased with the whole experience. WORD OF WARNING: they are renovating, so make sure to ask if they are finished or be prepared for a short menu at the restaurant without much seating. There are actually quite a few restaurants close by, so be sure to talk to the concierge. Also, ask for the discount valet parking, we got ours for only $10.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taradubois917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Be sure to get an already renovated room. Was large, comfortable and new. A bit on the dark side and no full length mirror. Good room service. No minibar, but single serve coffee maker. Great location if you have business at Capitol.

Room Tip: Make sure it has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adnill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading to the airport. As a Starwood Platinum member we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite, which had beautiful views of the city, three bathrooms and a sauna. The Suite was definitely dated but we understand that it is to be remodeled soon. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly, as was the valet. If you are budget-conscious, don't pay to park at the hotel. There are several parking lots/structures within a block or two that are much cheaper and street parking is available on the weekends. The only real drawback was that we stayed here on a Sunday evening and there was nowhere in the hotel or close by (that we could see) to get a few bottles of water or snacks as everything was closed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muchuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#57 of 144 in Columbus
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 75 E State St, Columbus, OH 43215-4203 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $135 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing