We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #59 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I wasn't overly impressed with the hotel. The staff seemed to just be there for the check and the room wasn't all that clean. The internet was hit and miss and while trying to take a shower, it took a few minutes to get hot water. For the price, the stay could have been better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 470 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Priceline told me that I 'saved 37%' with my bid, but this hotel would be overpriced if it was free. The bedding is soiled, there is years' accumulation of dust around the vent, and it generally smells like my grandpa's easy chair. So far during my two night stay, more than $400 has been 'fenced' from my checking account, and no one at the hotel will call me back or explain why. A sympathetic woman in accounting told me that "debit cards are confusing" and she can understand why I'm upset, but that the money will return to my account on checkout. I hope Sheraton uses my loan to pay for some upgrades.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Friendly staff, good location, walking distance to several good restaurants. The rooms are a bit outdated but large with plenty of room to move around. Bathrooms are also large with ample counter space.

On the down side, the only time I could find water warm enough for a shower was at 5:30am and mixed reviews of the on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watergirl3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is listed as a 4 star hotel, which isn't the case at all. The photos on their website are beautiful.... however that's not the rooms actually look like. Our room was old, the ceiling was stained, peeling and dirty from the vents. The chair was stained as well. (I will add that the bed linens were very clean, bright white & fresh.) When we asked to talk to the manager about the room we were given vs the photos on the website we were told that they will be remodeling and the photos reflect what the rooms WILL look like when it's finished. That info was NOT noted anywhere on the website. VERY misleading, if not a straight out lie. In addition there is no pool, parking is $23/day & the internet is $10/day PER DEVICE...yikes! The most disappointing peice of this was the managers attitude towards the misleading photos, like it's "ok" to falsely advertise your product.... because it's really not.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drinkonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed for one night on business. Taxi from airport to hotel is $18 fixed price by orange cab if you call ahead. Hotel does not offer free shuttle. The hotel is somewhat dated and in need of renovation. The front desk is very friendly. Rooms are very clean especially the bathrooms. The TVs are big and old - not the flat screen HDTV in most hotels today. Room is very quiet - HVAC system noise is minimal. There is coffee in the room and the size is very typical of most rooms. There is valet parking for $12. The hotel is located very central to downtown Columbus and is within walking distance to all the major office buildings. If you're looking for a quick, comfortable stay, this hotel is fine. For the price you pay, it is an average experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I checked into the Sheraton on Capitol Square last week because of its location. I had a meeting in the adjacent office tower. I had stayed there a number of times years ago when it was the Hyatt. I was pleased with the hotel, and especially with the staff. The people were very friendly and helpful. The room had recently been remodeled and was very large and comfortable. I got a great price on Sheraton.com. Based on my experience, I will definitely return if I have more business in downtown Columbus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently remodeled.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schultzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This was the first time I've been disappointed with a Sheraton property. While the staff were freindly and helpful, especially Glenda, the hotel was no value.
1) Cleanliness: Below average. There was mildew/mold around the shower and tub. Also a very poor caulking job around tub/shower.
2) No airport shuttle.
3) Worst $22 breakfast on the planet (worst $7 breakfast for that matter). The french toast tasted stale and with barely a trace of egg. $5 for coffee? I'll accept responsibility for not looking at the pricing before I ordered, but an expectation of decent quality is reasonable.

Upon my return, I will definitely look for other accomodations.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#57 of 143 in Columbus
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 75 E State St, Columbus, OH 43215-4203 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $145 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing