We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington
Ranked #50 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Butler, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Booked through Hot Wire. Didn't know the name until after the transaction completed. We were pleasantly surprised to see it was a DoubleTree. First visit, but not our last. Wonderful experience, from the time of check in, to check out (including the delicious chocolate chip cookie). Room was very comfortable and more than exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheridrlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    237
    168
    77
    50
See reviews for
162
109
46
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Using Priceline, we sought a room for two adults, and we were elated to get the Doubletree. We were taken aback when we found that the room Doubletree provided had only a single full bed – larger than a twin, to be sure, and certainly comfortable enough for one person, but smaller than a queen, and uncomfortable for two people. I immediately called the front-desk to ask if there had been a mistake; this room was clearly intended only for a single person. We were told that no other rooms were available; the hotel was “booked up.”

Having no choice, we tried to make it work, but it was an uncomfortable, sleepless night for us both. I finally decided to take my laptop and chill out in the lobby while my wife could get some sleep. I returned to the room close to 3am to attempt to get some sleep myself, but it wasn't easy for either of us. My wife almost fell out of the bed – had she hit her head on the nightstand, she could have been seriously injured.

The next morning, we brought our complaint to the front desk. They claimed absurdly that since we went through a third party payer, that their system will only reserve “a room”, without any specifications on the bed. If that were so, we asked, what would have happened if we had been a family of four? In that case, of course, we would have gotten two queens, they said. So why does their system recognize the number of adults for that number, but doesn't for two? In every instance that I have ever booked a hotel room, whether through a third party or directly through a hotel, a room for two implies either a king-sized bed or two queens. The manager we spoke with said that they usually make an offer for a rollaway bed in situations like this, which might well be a good solution for a high school debate team, but insulting for a married couple.

I think what bothered us most was the responsibility issue. Getting a refund, or a partial comp, would have certainly been ideal, but even if all they can offer a “free breakfast” the “next time we visit,” they should at least admit that this was their mistake. Or, they could at least admit that they treat customers who booked through a third-party as lower-priority customers. The manager tried to weasel out of admitting this. He conceded that people who book directly through them will indeed get a room fit for the number of adults specified, but that they don't offer that guarantee from third parties, even though the reservation they received did specify the number of adults. We only receive “run of the house,” which I take to mean something like “whatever's left over.” This would have been perfectly understandable if we had requested a king-sized bed, but they could only offer two queens or even two full-sized beds. That would have still been a room for two people, but a room with a single full-sized bed is a room for one. The manager then pivoted, and tried to say that of course, they offer the same level of service to all their customers, whether Hilton Diamond members or third-party bookers. But that's clearly false.

The first woman we spoke with said that Priceline forgets to tell people this, and although offering to get the office manager, she said he would tell us the same thing. But the office manager said nearly the opposite, that they are “under the assumption” that Priceline provides us this information in advance. Either way, I suppose both claims are ways of escaping responsibility for Doubletree, and blaming it on Priceline. But Priceline did inform them that this was a reservation for two people, so either way, this Doubletree clearly treats a reservation for two coming from them according to a different standard than a reservation for two they receive directly.

(One other minor issue. The carpet in our room was missing a chunk. The dresser was likewise damaged.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kraorh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
278 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

always a pleasure to stay here. clean rooms, easy access to freeway, fine gym and great staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Rooms are great as you would expect from a DoubleTree, service was spectacular, indoor hot tub, and pool, were great.

The breakfast buffet was absolutely eloquent, puts all others to absolute shame. Omelet to order, absolutely perfect pancakes, Starbucks coffee, ambiance was relaxing and sophisticated. A great experience.

A great out of the way hotel, pet friendly, indoor hot tub, a block to two from very nice restaurants, and Starbucks.

Worth the travel time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripDoc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

For the last 5 years, I've stayed at this hotel about 6 times a year for business. Each time, I have had a clean and pleasant stay, along with a confortable night's sleep on a nice bed. Nice desk and TV in the room and the bathroom is really nice, much more so than other hotels at this price point. The employees have always been very nice as well. As a matter of fact, I am here right now and will review a restaurant (Sushi Ko) that I go to right across the street for dinner a little later on. This is a great place to stay in the Worthington area.

Room Tip: I have been happy with each room I've had here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solo2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed here one night for business. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, which is nice if you don't have a car. Hotel is clean and rooms are nice average Hilton rooms. Restaurant and bar onsite too. Good amenities and GREAT cookies upon arrival! Fresh apples available in lobby too. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

For access to anything on the north side of Columbus this hotel is great. Many area restaurants. Maintenance problem in the room was taken care of quickly.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlindrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Columbus
Sheraton Suites Columbus
#43 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Worthington
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Worthington
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbus Worthington
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites North/Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington

Property: Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington
Address: 175 Hutchinson Ave, Columbus, OH 43235-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Columbus Worthington is conveniently located in the Crosswoods/Worthington area of Columbus. Offering 306 beautifully renovated guest rooms with a wide selection of amenities to enhance your experience. Full service restaurant and bar, fitness center, catering & meeting rooms (17,000 square feet). High speed internet is available in all guest rooms and is complimentary in the public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Columbus
Columbus Doubletree
Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing