We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a Pleasant Suprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Ranked #41 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Edinboro
1 review
“What a Pleasant Suprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

First time stay. Stephen the Valet not only provided great personal service, he spoke to other guests by name, remembered mine the next day and seemed to genuinely enjoy sharing information about Columbus. Ben at the front desk was great as well. There was a young bartender (woman, blonde, didn't get her name) that could have been my sister....she just came across as if she knew you for years. Very attentive to when the glasses were empty.

The rooms were a big suprise as well. The little things....Lots of pillows, the AC/Heating unit encased in wood to give it the appearance of a dresser, the little pockets shelves in the bathroom. Just lots of special touches. And of course free internet (although one day it was quite slow for some reason) I have always stayed at the Hyatt for conferences and have not had a complaint but the Crowne Plaza has my business from now on. Thanks! JR

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRRVMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Dear JRRVMD:

Thank you for being our guest at the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown. We truly appreciate your business as well as the fact that you took the time to tell others about your pleasant stay at our hotel.

We look forward to having you as our guest many more times in the future! If I can personally assist with your next reservation, my number is 614-461-2658, I am at your service.

All My Best,

Kathyrn Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    157
    89
    30
    20
See reviews for
76
77
16
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

This was our second stay at this Crowne and both experiences have been equally as good. The entire staff is pleasant and helpful which is always a perk. The skywalk access to the convention center is a definite plus especially with the cold, snowy weather. The beds were very comfortable. We had a room with two queen beds and it was rather "cozy" - not much space between the beds or between the beds and walls. The rooms have a mini-fridge which is a nice addition. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of space for toiletries and hooks for towels. You do have to pay for parking but that is to be expected in a downtown hotel. Valet parking gives you in and out privileges, self park with skywalk access does not. The downside is lack of free internet access in the rooms or lobby- 9.95 a day in your room. Rewards members do have the option to take a discount on either the valet parking or internet so that helps a little.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments! We hope to have you as our guest again soon!

All My Best,

Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

I had a special weekend planned beginning with a stay at the Crowne Plaza and dinner at the Refectory. The Refectory lived up to my expectations. It was a phenomenal meal that we all enjoyed. However, the hotel and everything associated with it was terrible! We pulled up and waited for one of three valets to even acknowledge us. They were in no hurry to help anyone. Once inside, there was a wait. Why does it take so long to check in when you have reservations? I had booked suites on the executive floor so that we would have access to the concierge lounge and also paid extra for breakfast to be included. After a room fiasco, we finally made it to the executive floor next to my parent’s room which we specifically asked to not be placed. We made do with the room and found that the concierge lounge was only open on weekdays. They refused to open the room and gave us free breakfast, which I had already paid for. There version of a breakfast was a meal ticket for the pathetic buffet next door at Max and Ermas. After our wonderful dinner at the Refectory, we made our way back to the hotel and stopped at the bar for a drink. Big mistake. The drinks were horrible…undrinkable. However, by the time we tasted them we were already back in our rooms. Our trip ended as it had begun; the valet was slow at best. Customer service here was terrible and I will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspen1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience on Tripadvisor.com. I sincerely appreciate all feedback that will help my team improve. I have had the opportunity to share your comments with our valet, bar, and guest services team. I reviewed your bill and saw that we did extend a rate reduction due to the Executive Floor lounge not being open on the weekends, however, it is apparent that our service recovery efforts did not meet your expectation. I would love the opportunity to personally apologize and discuss further the details of your stay tohave the opportunity to make the proper service recovery. Please contact me at your earliest convenience as I do not have access to your personal information via this format and do not have your contact information on file. All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

First off the hotel is downtown in the arena district, which is good if your attending an event. If not, there's notmuch to do around the hotel without driving. When we first arrived at the hotel we were told we had to pay for parking. $21 a day for valet. Or $12 for the garage, but if you chose the garage you also had to pay a fee everytime you left and came back. So in a wAy you had no other choice but valet. Everytime you left the hotel the valet drivers expected a tip and would stand at your car door until you gave them one. Me and my husband was out of the hotel several times a day, so on to of the $21 a day we also felt obligated to tip everytime. The lobby on the hotel is nice . There is a bar in the lobby. The rooms were clean and newly decorated , but extremely small. My room on a cruise ship was larger. To get onthe internet they also charge $10 a day. One night we ordered pizza , when the delivery guy arrived the front desk called and said we had to come down and get it,he wasn't allowed to deliver past the front desk. This really annoyed us because we were all in our pajamas and my baby wAs taking a nap. The pool is really small, no hot tub. Overall I would say to pass on this place. There are better hotels across the street.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

The Crowne Plaza is right across the street from the Convention Center. The rooms are nothing special, everything is fine and clean, but the beds are extremely comfortable. The location is great if you have business in the Convention Center. Otherwise, the downtown Columbus area is just as dull as any "mid-sized" American city, office buildings, your mandatory share of people approaching you for money and then nothing, nothing...

So nothing special, but if you need a place to rest your head and body, it will work.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Napoleon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netsgirl123456789
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

This hotel is at a prime location and is absolutely beautiful! The customer service is phenomenal! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netsgirl123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

The room was larger than had been described to us and the bed really comfortable. We would have had a great sleep if we had not been awakened at 1:40 am by two females having a conversation in the room next to us. Not yelling - just talking and we could hear every single word of the conversation. A cell phone rang and they put the male caller on a speaker phone, we got to hear that conversation also. This went on for several hours and finally some loud laughing woke up my entire family. I banged on the wall and it quietened down. At 4:10 a.m. I got back to sleep.
On our second night the room was quiet next door but at 5:30 am we heard a female voice loudly say "oh -----, we slept in". Not the time we wanted to be awakened.
I filled out an internet complaint when we got home and was told someone would get back to us - nothing yet (2 weeks later)
It's too bad they didn't spend some money on soundproofing the walls when they did the renovation. The room was lovely and well done.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manateeluvrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#17 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#32 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Address: 33 East Nationwide Blvd., Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Arena District, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown is attached to Nationwide Insurance and directly across the street from and attached to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This upscale downtown Columbus hotel is within walking distance of the North Market and fashionable Short North Neighborhood all packed with unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets and host to live performances year-round, and Huntington Park, home of the AAA Columbus Clippers, are just blocks away and are bordered by cobblestone streets lined with trendy restaurants and cafes. Our Hotel features a state of the art business center, coffee bar, and enjoy our tapas and wine menus at our Boulevard Bar. Take in a live concert at the LC Pavilion or sit back and enjoy a movie at the Studio Movie Grill. We are close to other Columbus destinations including the Museum of Art, COSI, Historic German Village, Victorian Village, and The Ohio State University. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing