We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Ranked #51 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I was very impressed by the rooms at the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown. They look like they've been remodeled recently as the furnishings are very modern. The room we stayed in was like a suite. It had a small couch and a chair with an ottoman that you could sit in to watch TV (flatscreen) although you could also watch TV from the bed. The mattress was VERY comfortable to sleep on. The bathroom was nice too, and everything was very clean.

The only negative thing about this hotel is the limited parking, which should be expected since it's downtown. You have to pay for parking whether you do valet or self-park.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYmama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 509 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed one night here for a wedding and it was a nice stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Check-in and check-out were both quick and easy. The elevator gave us some problems on arrival and wouldn't take us all the way to our floor (11th) so we rode up and down and finally it worked. The room service menu was from Max and Irma's which made for a really nice late night snack. The parking was pretty expensive at 21.00 per night but there was really no other option. The hotel is right across from Nationwide Arena and we had a good view of it from our window.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linscoright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I have nothing bad to say about my stay. The room was clean and updated with some nice features. I only stayed one night, but I was happy with everything.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2009

Dear ja507098:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel on tripadvisor.com. We have just completed our 8 million dollar renovation and are glad that you liked the results! We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Safe future travels!

Kathyrn Burton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I don't understand some of the negative reviews this hotel has gotten; I've stayed there at least twice, in December 2006 and April 2009, and it has been just fine. Dirty, uncomfortable, outdated rooms, and an unfriendly staff? Are we even talking about the same hotel, 33 E. Nationwide?
One thing I appreciated about my most recent visit was that though there was a noisy convention in house (a young cheerleaders' competition), the hotel put me on a quiet floor, isolated from that, where I slept just fine. Many hotels spread the noisy conventioneers/prom kids/frat boys around on every floor, so they disturb all the other people in-house.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsigane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2009

Dear Tsigane:

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown!

I agree with you, I don't understand the negative reviews our hotel has received either. Although, I always appreciate guest feedback, whether positive or constructive, as I am 100% committed to our continuous improvement process.

I am glad that you appreciated the fact that when we do have large groups staying at the hotel, we try our best to put the group together on the same floors. Often the guests with the group are all participating in the same activities: therefore, have a similar stay dynamic in terms of when they sleep and wake, when they are in and out of the hotel, etc. It makes a more pleasant stay for everyone. We truly try to plan ahead to try to ensure our guests receive the experience they are expecting at our hotel, regardless of why they are staying. It's nice to hear our efforts paid off!

We look forward to having you back as our guest soon.

All My Best,

Kathyrn Burton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

This is an old hotel which they tried but did not succeed in remodeling into a business class hotel. I stayed here for 4 nights and the wireless Internet did not work at all. They do not have wired Internet service. The rooms are okay. The beds are great and the flat screen tv is wonderful but look closely at the room and it is dirty and shows its age.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2009

Dear Chris563:

Thank you for the review you posted regarding your recent stay at our hotel as I appreciate any feedback that will help us improve.

I was very disappointed that you were not pleased with the results of our recent 8 million dollar renovation. We have had nothing but compliments, so your review was rather surprising. Everything is brand new in the guestroom, the carpet, furniture, wall vinyl, window treatments, bedding, etc.

During the process, we also made a substantial investment to upgrade our wireless internet system and have had no complaints from guests in the past 45 days.

I do hope you give us the opportunity to prove to you our commitment to clean, comfortable rooms coupled with exceptional customer service. I would be happy to personally set up your future reservations. Please reach back to me at 614.461.2658 if I can be of service.

Warm Regards,

Kathyrn Burton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

What can I say? It was a place to stay! The hotel is large but older and the location was close to almost everything . Rooms were clean but not modern and a mini fridge and microwave were brought to my room for the duration of my stay at no extra charge. The staff was very friendly and there is a small store on the first level by the front desk just in case you forgot to bring something. Get in early though because the parking lot stays full Monday through Friday and the only entrance to the rooms is through the front door.

I would have enjoyed my stay a little more if they had more than a handful of television stations most of which were sports. I was also on the 8th floor and had two sleepless nights because of high winds that made a terrible whistling noise through the windows.

Overall, it was an ok place to stay but if I came back to Columbus, I would more than likely choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2009

Dear Chris563:

Thank you for the review you wrote regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown.

Upon reading your comments, I don't think you had the pleasure of staying in one of our newly renovated guest rooms. All of our rooms have now undergone a complete overhaul including the modern touches of cordless phones, 32 inch HDTV flat screen televisions (featuring 30+ channels) with connectivity panels, and mini fridges in every guest room.

I'm not quite sure I understand your concern regarding our parking availability as we offer valet parking to all of our guests as well as self parking availability in the garage directly behind the hotel.

Please contact me next time you are coming to town and I will be happy to personally set up your reservation. I would love for you to give our "new" hotel a chance to make you a "raving fan". I can be reached directly at my office number: 614.461.2658.

At Your Service,

Kathyrn Burton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Great rooms! We had the suite and it was very comfortble for our large group. The beds were very "sleepy" ! Great spot in the downtown area. Easy walk to attractions

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skimadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2009

Dear MSM6:

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with the world!

I, too, am thrilled about our recent renovation and am very pleased with the results!

We certainly have the best location in Columbus, housed in the Arena District and only a few short blocks from the Short North Arts District.

Look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

All My Best,

Kathyrn Burton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 145 in Columbus
1,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 145 in Columbus
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#50 of 145 in Columbus
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Address: 33 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $97 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Arena District, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown is attached to Nationwide Insurance and directly across the street from and attached to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This upscale downtown Columbus hotel is within walking distance of the North Market and fashionable Short North Neighborhood all packed with unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets and host to live performances year-round, and Huntington Park, home of the AAA Columbus Clippers, are just blocks away and are bordered by cobblestone streets lined with trendy restaurants and cafes. Our Hotel features a state of the art business center, coffee bar, and enjoy our tapas and wine menus at our Boulevard Bar. Take in a live concert at the Express Live Pavilion. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing