We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Great Location For Downtown But Has A Smell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 East Nationwide Blvd., Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Location For Downtown But Has A Smell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Hotel has some of the best service in Columbus. The staff at the front desk is perfect, the rooms are cleaned perfectly and the coffee and bar staff are very curtious. One problem is the elevator has a horrible smell and that smell come out of the elevator shaft all the time. I have noticed it the few time I have stayed at the Crown Plaza. They need to work on that smell. I also noticed that many of the bathroom doord are cracked and peeling at the base. Probably time for an upgrade.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RibMountain60370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The location of this hotel is great; right in the middle of the arena district in in Columbus. Upon arrival we were greeted with a line of traffic around the corner. We sat in our car for about 30 minutes waiting to check in. I called to ask what we should do and was told just to wait in line...really? at the Crown Plaza? This put us in a time crunch, so I finally jumped out the car and trudged my way through the snow to check in and head up to the room. My husband joined me about 20 minutes later. The room was clean and acceptable but not nearly as nice as the photographs make it out to be. The beds, bedding, and pillows were horrible. We both slept terribly. I guess we would both agree that we were not impressed and won't likely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Ashli S,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus, Ohio. I apologize for issues in valet; your review has been brought to the attention of the appropriate departments. We hope to see you again!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza- Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

we stayed at the crown plaza hotel in columbus as part of an overnight package while seeing the bruce munro light installation at the franklin park conservatory. our stay was fine, but not exceptional. the room was clean, and nicely appointed. i was not able to access wifi in the room or lobby. this was not solved until the next day. no one at the front desk was able to help, until the second day, when it was explained to me that their motorola wifi system is not compatible with iphone. they were apparently correcting this. coffee area in lobby, but it was unattended at 3pm, when we were looking for a snack and the bar area was also not yet open. we were able to go across to the lofts hotel, and had a snack at max and erma's. one complaint would be that several of our towels were absolutely threadbare, and frayed. the bath mat had a permanent black stain on it. these linens were not dirty...just old, tired and someone needs to pay better attention to what is being put out for the guests. breakfast was next door at max and erma's. coffee in the room was average. still and all, i would probably stay there again, if the price was as good as we were able to get last week.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakebuddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Julia P,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus. I appreciate all of the information in your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza- Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had a very large room, so big that it was very hard to see the big screen TV from the bed. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The toilet ran constantly and since no one came to fix it after I called I had to shut off the water valve. Room service was excellent and the cost was very reasonable and included some nice healthy food selections.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Judy B,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza in downtown Columbus! Im happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the healthy food options. We hope to see you again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza- Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Immediately after I walked into my room I notified the front desk that my heating unit was ticking. Kinda sounded like a grand father clock! Problem solved. The guest room was nice and very clean. There must be some type of heating unit above the room as the ceiling moaned and rumbled from time to time. Weird...

The second morning I noticed there was ice on the INSIDE of the window. The third night the sound of the wind howling through the windows was wild. It woke me up from a sound sleep I felt like I was in a SYFY movie!

Room Tip: avoid room 745
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROlsen32114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear ROlsen32114,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus! Wow, thank you for letting us know this kind of information! I am happy to hear that the front desk was very helpful and responsive. We hope to see you again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza- Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice hotel. We were on the 11th floor in a renovated room. The front desk staff was quick and easy to check in. Our room was spacious and very nice. The hot water in the shower/tub never did quite heat up enough, but we just ran it as hot as we could. The pool is quite simply not worse the time nor the effort to go into the basement, it was small and cold and there wasn't even a hot tub. Front desk staff was very helpful. If you are coming into town for a NHL game the location can't be beat just a quick walk and you are at Nationwide Arena. We would stay here again because of the location, but if we were bringing our children along we may look for another hotel in the area that has a better pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdcsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear BDCSK,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus. Im happy to hear you enjoyed your room and that the front desk proved to be helpful! We hope to see you again soon during the NHL season!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza- Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Always enjoy staying here. Only complaint was no conveniently located outlets to plug in electronics except in restroom. I had to move a desk to pull out a power strip (which was located behind a dresser) in order to use.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Angela M,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus. I will keep your comment about the outlets in mind and share with the staff. Please visit us again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza- Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 140 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#32 of 140 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Address: 33 East Nationwide Blvd., Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Arena District, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown is attached to Nationwide Insurance and directly across the street from and attached to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This upscale downtown Columbus hotel is within walking distance of the North Market and fashionable Short North Neighborhood all packed with unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets and host to live performances year-round, and Huntington Park, home of the AAA Columbus Clippers, are just blocks away and are bordered by cobblestone streets lined with trendy restaurants and cafes. Our Hotel features a state of the art business center, coffee bar, and enjoy our tapas and wine menus at our Boulevard Bar. Take in a live concert at the LC Pavilion or sit back and enjoy a movie at the Studio Movie Grill. We are close to other Columbus destinations including the Museum of Art, COSI, Historic German Village, Victorian Village, and The Ohio State University. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing