We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bare minimum I want out of a hotel is sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Ranked #45 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel was probably fine, but the people next door came back drunk and yelling at 3:15 in the morning. If my colleagues and I hadn't been stuck with an "adjoining room" that has less-than-soundproof doors, it wouldn't have been as much of a problem. The offending guests yelled and slammed doors for 15 minutes before we called the front desk, who promptly sent security to address the issue.
There is no ventilation in the workout room, and with 6 people on 6 cardio machines (all of them), the room gets hot and extremely humid fast - unbearably so.
Room itself was nice, but for $199 a night in Columbus, I expect a better fitness room and better soundproofing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanth879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Samanth879,
Thank you for your review. We take the satisfaction of our guest’s seriously here at the Crowne Plaza. Although we cannot control what time other guests staying at the hotel come in at night, we do apologize for the extra noise. Thank you for calling the front staff to handle the situation. The workout room is something we have been talking about updating for some time now. Thank you for the input.

Sincerely,
Dirk Bengel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 502 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after attending the Bon Jovi concert at Nationwide Arena. The hotel was very nice with helpful and friendly staff. The room was comfortable, clean and the beds were comfortable. Despite the downtown location, we thought the room was very quiet and did not hear any people in adjoining rooms. In addition, we found the area surrounding the hotel to have plenty of nice restaurants and entertainment. The valet parking was listed as $23 overnight, however, as a priority club member I only had to pay $12 due to a promotion the hotel was offering. I would recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear lmonroe,

Out of all of the hotels in downtown Columbus, we are so pleased that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza. Because of the location of our hotel, we have many business travelers who want a quiet night of sleep, as well as other guests who want to go out for a night on the town. We strive to meet the needs of each individual guest, as guest satisfaction is a priority for us. Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The service, accomodations, and attitude of the staff was outstanding. First time in a very long time that I've had that great a stay at a hotel.
Bravo Columbus, Ohio --- Bravo !
the staff was particularly accomodating and responsive --- the bar and lounge area were very nice and even the banquet food was wonderful.

again, Bravo !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Chris748,
Out of all of the hotels in downtown Columbus we are so pleased that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza. It is always nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that we are doing our job. I will pass your kind words along to the staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location. I had to be at the convention center early each day of my stay and it was freezing outside but the short walk over the covered walkway made my trip to the convention center so easy. I got the breakfast option at Max and Ermas which was pretty good. Fairly standard food nothing exceptional to eat but the service was pretty good. Would recommend this hotel based on the proximity and value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goneinsixtyseconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Out of all of the hotels in downtown Columbus, we are so happy that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza. We are glad you took advantage of the breakfast option offered at our Max and Ermas, as well as the walkway to the convention center. It is always to hear feedback about our hotel. Thank you for the kind words.

Sincerely,
Dirk Bengel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Made my day:

- Free shuttle service until 11 p.m. to anywhere within a 3-miles radius of the hotel (this got me closer to Columbus nightlife for less money than a cab and faster than walking)
- Walking distance to both downtown and the attractions of the Short North
- Noon check-out time
- Reception made an error on my bill; it was credited and I was given an additional discount as an apology

Good times:

- Bar on the first floor was a nice place to pregame before going out
- Room service of Max & Erma’s for breakfast was delicious: try the breakfast sandwich!
- Loved the spa and aromatherapy kit they place in each room

Could improve:

- Max & Erma’s is the hotel restaurant, but you have to go outside to get it; it’s just a short walk, but still
- Shuttle is first come, first serve. I didn’t have a problem with that, but just be advised if you are in a hurry. There is a cab stand out front, and you really can walk to great places downtown and in the Short North

Great place to stay for:

- A lot of people staying there were in town for a concert in the Arena District, and many planned to walk.
- I was in town for pure leisure, and this hotel’s location and amenities was perfect for that!
- Business travelers seemed to be in abundance, too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohiocitytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Ohiocitytim,

Out of all of the hotels in downtown Columbus, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza. Because our hotel is located downtown, we try to cater to the needs and amenities of business travelers as well as guests looking for entertainment. I am glad that you took advantage of the free shuttle service as well as room service from Max and Erma’s! I apologize that the front desk made an error, and thank you for bringing this to my attention. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel, and your review is quite appreciated. Hope to see you soon

Sincerely,
Dirk Bengel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just stayed for one night while I was in Columbus for a concert. It was a very large sized room and even had a mini fridge, the bed was very comfortable and everything was very neat and clean. The staff that I interacted with were very courteous and nice to deal with. I didn't realize that the self parking was so close to the valet area, wish I had realized that before I paid the $20 or whatever it was to valet park. I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Nicole,
Out of all of the hotels in downtown Columbus, we are pleased that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza. I am always happy to hear that our guests are receiving great customer service as well as clean, comfortable rooms. Thank you for your feedback regarding the confusion between self-parking and the valet area. This issue will be brought up in our next meeting to increase our guest’s satisfaction. Thank you again for the kind words, and we hope to see you soon!
Thanks,
Dirk Bengel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall nice hotel. My family and I stayed here due to the close proximity of the hotel to the convention center. We were pleased with the convenience of this hotel, and that is really what you're paying for. Our room was small, but nice. If you have small children and are interested in the pool, beware that the pool is all 5-ft deep. We ordered room service several times from Max and Erma's, the hotel's restaurant, and had great, fast service.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisegirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Wisegirl05,

Out of all of the hotels in downtown Columbus, thank you for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza. I am pleased that Max and Erma’s provided you with great, fast service, and will be passing this comment along to the staff. The safety of our guests and their children is one of our biggest concerns here, and the depth of our pool is a concern we are looking into. Thank you again, for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Dirk Bengel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#14 of 144 in Columbus
1,885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#46 of 144 in Columbus
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 144 in Columbus
1,698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Address: 33 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $146 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Arena District, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown is attached to Nationwide Insurance and directly across the street from and attached to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This upscale downtown Columbus hotel is within walking distance of the North Market and fashionable Short North Neighborhood all packed with unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets and host to live performances year-round, and Huntington Park, home of the AAA Columbus Clippers, are just blocks away and are bordered by cobblestone streets lined with trendy restaurants and cafes. Our Hotel features a state of the art business center, coffee bar, and enjoy our tapas and wine menus at our Boulevard Bar. Take in a live concert at the Express Live Pavilion. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing