We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Ranked #48 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Lexington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful Staff”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza several times and have found the accommodations excellent. The staff is always helpful and friendly. During my last stay I lost an article of clothing and called back to the hotel in the hope of recovering it. Everyone was willing to assist especially the Housekeeping Director, Marcela. She returned my call and and located my vest. She made arrangements for the return of the item and sent it back promptly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    170
    94
    35
    22
See reviews for
81
85
18
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Thank goodness for hotel shuttle as I did not have a car. No restaurants within walking distance other than Max & Erma's (blah). Surprised to see holes in the sheets on the bed. Toilet ran all night. TV guide did not match the TV channels....grrrr.
Be sure to check out the ahi tuna at Gordon Biersch Restaurant. Awesome!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROlsen32114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Loved it. Very nicely appointed guest rooms. Very clean. Service at the front desk was fantastic. The concierge lounge had a little to be desired. They were out of bottled water on 2 of my 3 visits. The hot breakfast did not include eggs on either of the 2 mornings I visited. It was waffles and sausage one day and I don't remember the other day (maybe biscuits and gravy). We ate breakfast at Max & Ermas (somewhat onsite). The worst service ever! The waitress forgot a couple of items. Forgot who ordered what. Was hard to flag down even though there were only 2 other tables. No sense of urgency. Would not go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it's just a block and a half away from the hockey stadium. The walk to the stadium was safe (even at night) and quick and couldn't be easier.

Although the room had the usual wear and tear like peeling wall paper and old carpet, it was clean, spacious, nicely decorated and had a comfortable bed. We liked that there was a frige in the room and a big flat screen tv. We had a nice view and noticed that there is a Hyatt and Drury Inn directly across the street. It's worth comparing prices to get the best deal. We never heard anything from other rooms but could hear everything from the hallways. One night the alarm clock went off very loudly at 3am and really jolted us out of our sleep. It was annoying considering we had never even set the clock. The shower is not good for tall people. My husband is 6'5" and his head touched the ceiling. Also, there wasn't an in room safe.

We were a bit disappointed at the lack of platinum member service. We did receive free internet (usually $9.95) and valet (usually $23 a night ) but that was all. The line to check in stretched all the way to the entrance and moved slowly and even though there was a sign for platinum member check in, it was not being used so we had to wait in the long line. My biggest complaint is that even though we were platinum, we were given the room right next to the elevators, thus we had the pleasure of hearing loud people day and night as they waited for or exited the elevator.

I would recommend this hotel if you are going to the stadium but don't forget to check prices of the hotels across the street because they are the same walking distance to the stadium. If you are platinum, don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildlotus2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stay here every time I'm in Columbus and its consistently good. Great location, great service, very friendly. They have a shuttle that will take you to local places. If you do drive take note that there is a daily charge for parking.



  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novakat93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown on tripadvisor.com. We truly appreciate your business and your loyalty to Intercontinental Hotels. We love our Priority Club members, they are our most frequent guests and our VIP's. I am truly glad that you appreciated the extra efforts we take with our most valued of guests. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great hotel, near the short north area. Great places to eat, shop and drink

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown. I agree, we are a GREAT hotel in the BEST location in Columbus, just blocks away from the entertaining Arena District and the artsy, hip Short North. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Thank you for staying with us! All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My Wife and I stay here for all of the Nationwide Arena events that we attend. We went to a Bluejackets Hockey Game and the stay at the Crowne Plaza was as usual, very good. We like staying on the Executive Level because they have a couch, tv, computer, and refreshments.
Our Son and his Girlfriend was with us and we hung around the lounge before we left for the game. The Crowne's staff is always plentiful, and the rooms are clean.
The bar's fireplace was broken and took away from the ambiance so we didn't stay quite as long in the bar. Over all a Very Good Exxperience

Room Tip: Executive Level is the way to go. Book early for added value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenmichelle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown and for sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor.com. We are thrilled to be your hotel of choice when coming to town for events at Nationwide Arena. The hotel is located just two blocks away, and we are the official hotel partner of the Columbus Blue Jackets. Our Executive Floor is truly one of a kind and I'm glad you enjoy the personalized service and amenities that we provide to our VIP guests. We hope to see you again soon as there are many exciting upcoming events at Nationwide Arena in the near future! All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#43 of 143 in Columbus
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
1,708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Address: 33 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Arena District, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown is attached to Nationwide Insurance and directly across the street from and attached to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This upscale downtown Columbus hotel is within walking distance of the North Market and fashionable Short North Neighborhood all packed with unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets and host to live performances year-round, and Huntington Park, home of the AAA Columbus Clippers, are just blocks away and are bordered by cobblestone streets lined with trendy restaurants and cafes. Our Hotel features a state of the art business center, coffee bar, and enjoy our tapas and wine menus at our Boulevard Bar. Take in a live concert at the LC Pavilion or sit back and enjoy a movie at the Studio Movie Grill. We are close to other Columbus destinations including the Museum of Art, COSI, Historic German Village, Victorian Village, and The Ohio State University. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing