We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNETHICAL REFUND POLICY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington
Ranked #18 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
“UNETHICAL REFUND POLICY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Please do not go to this Hotel.
I book 1 room with two bed for 1 adult and a child for 8 days. Due to unforeseen circumstances we could not make the trip, we are from Jamaica. I booked online, and there was no option in clear sight (must be in the fine prints) that gives the option of selecting Non-refundable or otherwise. I cancelled the reservation, only to be told I cannot get a cent back of my nearly $1,000.00. Is this for real. It is very hard to save for a vacation these day, most people cannot afford to give away $1,000.00 these day, I know I can't. PLEASE BE AWARE .

Room Tip: Do Not Go........Dishonest Please Read The Fine Print.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGM7490, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Janice W.,

You had called but did not call back and as the phone number we had for you was not in service we had no way of contacting you. I wish we had a chance to speak. It is never our intention to take anyone’s money. The website you visited pops up and ask twice if you are sure you want to make the reservation. It is not in the fine print. The charge will not go through unless you click the yes button. Having said that, we have refunded all of your money except a charge for one night. I believe this is fair since you booked the lower non-refundable rate. I hope you would now consider revising your comments as we are hard working people like yourself and the rules which you booked your room are standard practice in the hotel industry.

Sincerely,
Patrick Quinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    146
    55
    17
    13
See reviews for
159
80
21
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Ohio
Level Contributor
254 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent the night with a friend, my daughter (age 7) and my friends niece (age 11). We had almost booked at another hotel. The price difference was $12. I was immediatly impressed when I walked in (it was a lot swankier then expected). I was a bit nervous dragging two tired kids through the lobby but the front desk staff was very welcoming to all of us. The room was awesome with a refrigerator. There was a divided area and the room big enough that we could all spread out. The beds were very comfortable, The hotel was very quiet and well located. Breakfast in the am was ample and filling. The only snag we ran into was the tv. The menu is confusing and we almost paid for a kids show that we accessed through "free on demand". Once we figured it out the tv was intermittenly fuzzy (almost like we were watching with an antennae). However We would definitley stay here again and highly reccommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGM7490, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Christy C.,
I am very glad you could give us such a good grade. I am proud to represent the highest graded brand of its type according to J.D. Power.
Warm regards
Patrick Quinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great room, great breakfast, great location close to Ruth's Chris and many other great restaurants! We always stay here for the above mentioned reasons. So easy to get to and from the big game. It is always clean and the staff is always so very helpful. Why stay with anyone else?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael Denniso... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGM7490, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Mr. Michael Denniso,

Great review much appreciated. We are on the bus line which would bring you right into the campus and with 15 restaurants in our little foot print here at crosswoods it's a great place to relax away from the hub bub of downtown.

Hope to see you again soon. We're all shooting for 25 in a row!

GO BUCKEYES!

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during Labor Day weekend to attend our daughter's wedding weekend activities. The hotel provided shuttle service to and from the wedding at a nearby Sue Orton Day Camp, allowing us to celebrate safely.
The breakfast buffer was generous and well presented, scrambled eggs, sausage, multiple carbs, minimal fresh fruit options, yogurt, steel-cut oatmeal. A Starbucks mini-cafe is in the lobby to satisfy the fiend in me.
Hotel staff, particularly the special events coordinator were highly motivated to meet every need.
Parking is free and generous. Common areas are small, but private room-suites are spacious and comfortable for gathering.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGM7490, Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Janick2010,

Thank you for the great review. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amentities that we provide. I will definitely pass along the kind words to our sales department and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Columbus!

Liz Buxton
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenup, il
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a group of 40 to Washington, D.C. And stayed here overnight. The service was excellent and the rooms were great. All of our travelers were talking about the size and niceness of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGM7490, Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Scott B,

Thank you for staying at the Hyatt Place Worthington. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our spacious rooms. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Columbus!

Liz Buxton
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington for a brief stay while we visited our daughter who lives nearby. We have stayed at other HP's prior and this one was very similar. Our room was incredibly spacious with a large sitting area (we had a king bed). The bathroom was very small (the door nearly cleared the toilet), but the sink area outside the bathroom, though a strange set up, proved helpful while one was in the shower, the other could use the sink area. Other posters complained of an uncomfortable bed, we found ours to be fine. However, the AC unit was very noisy and rattled all night as it turned on and off. Also, it didn't quite keep up with the humidity.

The complimentary breakfast was ok. If found the waffles to be over cooked and very hard. The breakfast sandwiches are a better option. One morning we opted to walk to the Bob Evans for more variety.

The hotel is very clean and the staff very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGM7490, Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Chris41,

Thank you for staying at the Hyatt Place Worthington. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and your spacious room. I apologize that your AC unit was noisy but I'm glad to hear that you'll stay with us again. Give me a call personally when you're heading back into town and I will ensure your stay is perfect.

Best Regards,

Liz Buxton
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed one night in the Columbus/Worthington Hyatt Place and were quite disappointed with the stay. We are diehard Hyatt people, being Vacation Club owners, and almost always stay in a Hyatt property when traveling. While the room itself was spacious with a separate room with a work station and a couch, the important stuff like a comfortable bed and a reasonable bathroom were lacking. The air conditioning system was one of those through-the-wall units that was right next to the bed. It cycled on and off all night and I think I woke up every time it turned on and off. In addition, when it blew cold air, it blew it right at the lucky person (me) who was sleeping next to the unit. The bathroom was smaller than most European baths that I have experienced. In addition, the sink/make up area was outside of the bathroom and had one large fluorescent light that illuminated the entire room making it impossible for someone who was still sleeping to continue sleeping while their companion was making up.
On the positive side, the comp breakfast was very good and the unit was clean and well located to the OSU campus. Honestly, though, I don't think I'd stay there again because of that uncomfy bed and especially that annoying air conditioning unit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGM7490, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dale L,

I was able to look up your room and had my engineer and inspector both look at the issues you brought to our attention. We did replace the air unit in the room and the old one is being refurbished. The Bed did get flipped and we applogize that we waited until this was mentioned before we took care of this simple fix.

I was glad you were able to enjoy other parts of your stay and please call me if you are in town again I would love the oppourtunity to change your mind.

Warm regards,

Patrick Quinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Columbus
Sheraton Suites Columbus
#46 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Suites
BEST WESTERN Suites
#22 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Columbus Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington

Property: Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington
Address: 7490 Vantage Drive, Columbus, OH 43235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Columbus
#14 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#17 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#19 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing