We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Paradox!”
Review of Dosa Corner

Dosa Corner
Ranked #775 of 2,244 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a Paradox!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great food! Absolutely awful ambiance! Bring your Eastern appreciaton for yin yang, because the food will make you want to come back, while the setting, especially the disposable foam plates and plastic forks will make you wish you had never come. What a shame, with a little upscaling,this would be one of Columbus' primo Indian restaruants.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic thats Dosa corner”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Indians over there missing homely food, Any others who want to taste authentic Indian food, This is the place for you. I am very particular about South Indian food when it comes to taste and authenticity-( I wont be ok with a great place to sit in and some crappy food to be served in the name of South Indian) So this was the right place for me for my stay in Columbus Ohio for more than a year. The person Mr Narahari was so good that he even remembers your choice of cuisine. Start with a Mirchi bajji and have anything they offer, they'll taste the best- The Idly they serve is just heavenly so are the Bangalore plate and the list goes on. We were regular visitors since they offer reasonable rates as well. This is not a huge place, but as it is it will remind you all the good food you had back in India- and you would really love to come again.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnupamaVenkitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great homestyle South-Indian food”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I have been hunting for South Indian food, as there really aren't many options in West Virginia. Well, Dosa Corner certainly surprised us with its very unassuming location and GREAT homestyle Andhra-style dishes.

It's a no-fuss environment and practically a hole-in-the-wall, but the food IS very tasty. Be prepared for a VERY casual low-key setting (and possibly curt/minimal service), but know that the food experience is totally worth it. There's a giant poster with pictures of many of the dishes for those who are not so familiar with South Indian dishes.

Basically, you are seated at a table that has a stack of styrofoam cups and standard paper napkins. One of the owner's staff - likely his son, as it is a family-run establishment - comes to take your order and brings a pitcher of water. We loved our mirchi bajjis (stuffed chili peppers covered with chickpea batter and fried) which came out piping hot on a styrofoam plate with a peanut chutney and a cilantro chutney. For our main course, our food came out on traditional stainless steel plates with plastic forks and spoons. We devoured our Paper Masala Dosa (a large rolled crispy thin pancake with a potato filling inside) and a Dosa Thali (Thali is essentially a combo plate with several options) with Medu Vada (a fried lentil doughnut), Idli (steamed rice and lentil cake), Sambar (seasoned soup), Hyderabadi Masala Dosa (pan fried lentil pancake with potato filling and onion and garlic chutney spread), and Gulab Jamun (fried doughnut ball drenched in a sugar syrup). DIVINE food that made my husband think of his Mom's cooking back in India =) He was amazed at how good the vada was - crispy, hot, just the right amount of tang...better than many places he has tried in the US...

We even braved dessert, after we were so stuffed with our main course. We tried their soft Mysore Pak (similar to a ghee (buttery)-laden soft piece of fudge), but could only take a few bites as it was VERY rich. They cut them into generous 2-inch large cubes, probably enough to actually serve four people! I have to say that their Mysore Pak is one of the closest versions in the U.S. to the soft versioned Mysore Pak I had in Hyderabad's "G Pulla Reddy Sweets," a famous sweet shop in Andhra Pradesh. Plus, it was much fresher than several other places' Mysore Pak's that I have tried. Mind you, you'll probably have great options if in the NJ area, but for Columbus and the Tristate area, this was pretty good...

If this hasn't tempted you yet, know that their menu also offers puris, onion pakoras, a wide assortment of dosas (however, rava dosas are a "special" that they offer only on certain days), several versions of uthappam (a rice and lentil pancake), pulihora (lemon and tamarind fried rice dishes), and lots of curries. This is a complete vegetarian establishment.

You can be sure that we'll be back on our next trip to Columbus!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giselle816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food - poor atmosphere”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

The food, especially the dosa is quite good.

They completely fail on an environmental scale - disposable foam plates and cups!

The decor is cheesy at best. Service is usually mediocre.

  • Visited May 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birdynumnum43214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Hands down the best vegetarian Indian food in Columbus. A hidden gem.”
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Hands down the best vegetarian Indian food in Columbus. A hidden gem.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dosa Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing