We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice dinner”
Review of Due Amici

Due Amici
Ranked #105 of 2,243 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd and High
Transit: Please visit www.cota.com for bus times and routes.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice dinner”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

a business colleague and I had a nice dinner, a good glass of wine and the place seemed very lively on a Weds nite.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dianahh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    63
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Had a nice time at Du Amici, wish they'd reword the menu”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Met up with a group of friends at Du Amici on a Thursday night. I was surprised at how busy they were! They were accomodating at least 3 other large parties of 10 or more, and we were a group of 8.
Our server was new, and she did ok. Not wonderful, but she tried very hard. She communicated to us how busy the kitchen was and that we might want to order some appetizers because the wait for our meal would be a while. We ordered the gnocchi, the artichoke dip, and the stuffed peppers. The gnocchi sounded great on paper, but fell a little short of expectations. They were good, but not incredibly flavorful. The spiniach and artichoke dip with thin slices of bread was delish, possibly the best I've ever had. My husband really enjoyed the stuffed peppers, but they were too spicey for my taste.

Dinner was very good. Members of our party got the Ohio and Marherita pizzas (both very tastey, the Ohio pizza was exceptionally different and very flavorful), the 5 cheese lasagna (AMAZING, the best I've ever sampled, my husband cleaned his plate), diavolo (good), and the walleye (the 3 who got this raved about it).

The only thing that got me was the wording on the menu. The menu wasn't very wordy, and made things sound completely different than what you got. For example, the description for the 5 cheese lasagna was "Spinach & artichoke, mozzarela, parmesan, ricotta, provolone, asiago, and carrot sweetened pomadoro." However, this description doesn't help envision how it is actually served. The spinach was actually fresh spinach and it was piled on top of the large square of lasagna and a drizzle of balsamic was on top. If I didn't like balsamic vinegar or fresh spinach, I would not have been happy. The description makes me think of the spinach and artichoke dip perhaps cooked in the layers, which wasn't the case.

Another example was the stuffed peppers, which said "House made sausage, red wine tomato sauce, onion, ricotta salata." Sounds good. However, the stuffed peppers were not the traditional bell peppers, but a spicey long pepper instead, (my husband theorized Hungarian hot wax peppers). Had the description told me about the peppers, I wouldn't have ordered them.

So I wish they would reword their menu to more accurately reflect what the food consists of. Otherwise, this experience was very nice. We'll be back. :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Going back to Martinis”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a rare date night with my wife here this past Saturday night. The hostess and wait staff were very good. I ordered the caprese salad, but some tomatoes were under-ripe. My wife had a different salad, and asked for no goat cheese. After a few bites, she tasted goat cheese, which had obviously been put on and then removed. Her skimpy chicken carbonara ($24), was so-so. My $38, supposedly 8-oz filet, with exactly 13 well-cooked sea beans, and a small handful of overcooked red potatoes was ordered medium rare, but ended up being nearly raw in the middle. They were busy, and I didn't want to make a fuss, so I choked down as much as I could before having them cook the center again. Apologies were made, but no offer of giving me something off for the error. We definitely will never eat here again. Going back to Martinis. I don't mind spending a lot for a great meal, but they have a lot of nerve charging $38 for a steak without a chef who knows how to judge the doneness of a steak. Simply unacceptable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Attempts at excellence fall short”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The menu is enticing but thee food is ony average. The owner seems to do a better jobv with his stalls at the North Market. ALthough the menu features many classic dishes familar to Italian Americans, this is not mama's food. I prefer to buy the ingredients at Pastaria Secunda at the North Market and assemble them at home.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph43206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We love to go here for a great meal and good wine/drinks. Service is outstanding. Have been about 5 times and never had a bad meal. Menu is a little limited, but the specials do not disappoint.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaddM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Due Amici also viewed

 

Been to Due Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing