We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Splendid ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akaihana

Akaihana
Ranked #70 of 2,165 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Splendid ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here last night!

The sashimi and sushi were plentiful in variety and quantity, and we'll priced. The other mains we tried were very tasty too.

We had to wait for a table, but that serves us right for turning up at a peak time to a popular restaurant with no booking. Once seated the service was fantastic. Very attentive service and good banter with the staff despite us staying beyond closing time.

Would thoroughly recommend. Absolutely no need to be put off seafood this far from the sea!

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    28
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Akai Hana is a very clean (pristine) restaurant with some of the best sushi we have ever tasted! A great place for lunch or dinner. We have always been pleased with the service too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nanc4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We decided to try this place based on the reviews here and we were not disappointed. Arriving near 7pm on a Sat night, there was a 25 min wait for a table. Not bad for a Saturday night, though an OSU home game might have contributed to the short wait.

Since it was just the two of us, we opted for the "no wait" sushi bar. I always prefer the bar when it's just two of us anyway. Our sushi chef was quiet but attentive. The sushi was all very tasty. They also accommodated my sesame seed allergy, even though I forgot to mention it until he was almost done preparing our selections. Kudos for that!

Finally, this is a very authentic Japanese restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mschuliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“17 years...always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to Akai Hana (formerly Restaurant Japan) since 1997 and it's always excellent.

I've been to many of the sushi restaurants in the Columbus area (Haiku, Shoku, Tabuki etc) over the years and while they're good, none measures up to Akai Hana.

Helpful?
1 Thank Musicneverstopped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place offer excellent food, the staff is extremely kind and helpful, and the atmosphere is wonderful. One of my favorite places in Columbus. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rumiana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaihana also viewed

 

Been to Akaihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing