We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish more hotels were like this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I am really pretty picky about where I stay, and I can definitely say I was in no way disappointed with my stay. All the staff was wonderful, friendly & helpful. Rooms gorgeous and spacious. Very cool upscale environment and seconds away from some great restaurants and bars. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkhCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 355 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2010

What a nice change. They took this old landmark in the Buckeye Building and converted two-three storey lobby into a welcome center including free breakfast buffet in the VAULT AREA.

I got Room 514 which had a view of the next buildings roof. Not scenic but was never there. The fifth floor, not sure about other room floors, has these weird two wooden steps up to go into the room (kitchen level) and then two steps down to living/work/'bedroom area and then (stay with me) two steps up to the bathroom. If you were handicapped, older or drunk, it would not be easy to navigate. Good aerobic exercise going up and down. Kind of Rube Goldberg arrangement, but what the hey.

Everything spotless. Great bedding. Free internet. It was about $129. Close to Mitchell's Steakhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I have stayed here several times, generally for a week at a time. All the staff have been extremely helpful and courteous. The person who serves the evening receptions twice a week is exceptionally gracious. Everything has always been clean. It's very quiet and comfortable. It's the only place I stay in downtown Columbus now.
The hotel is a converted bank, and the beautiful high ceiling remain in the dining section. Breakfast is served in the former vault and the vault door also remains. Lovely historic touch.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnCapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2010

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and for your comments; we’re so glad you enjoy your time here and it’s our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thanks too for recognizing Elena, we agree that she’s fantastic and feel lucky to have her. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

OH, I wish I knew about this place when I had to stay in Columbus last November for a conference. Very spacious, well-appointed, immaculately clean hotel room, with a full kitchen. Felt more like an apt. than a hotel room. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. The only downside was trying to spot the hotel while driving at night--the sign isn't large or bright enough. No problems, no drama. That's what you want when you are traveling.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleknif67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

We love our hotel and are thrilled you had a great experience here, thanks so much for the review. Can’t wait to see you next time you’re in Columbus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The parents and friends of our team that played in the OHSAA boys basketball final four stayed at this hotel in March 2010 and our experience was poor. We rented the banquet room and after our game we had a large group in the room and the hotel lounge. The bartender spent the entire time chasing our young children away from the bar area, she got the manager when our group exceeded the 30 person maximum for "fire code". Forcing us to make our friends and family leave the area to comply. The hotel only provides valet parking at $20 per day that is not adequtely disclosed on their website or by staff when making the reservation. There were issues with locating cars of those who did pay for this service. In addition, jewelry accidently left behind disappeared.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gomatt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown in early March, 2010. We were in town for the annual Arnold Sports Festival. The rooms were well appointed, with nice touches. The breakfast was OK, not great, but adequate. The location was great.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_and_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I spend a lot of time traveling on business and it's nice to find a place that feels more like a home than a hotel. Each time I've stayed here, the staff has been very friendly and helpful. I'll definitely pick this hotel on my next trip to Columbus.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heracaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#44 of 144 in Columbus
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Address: 36 E Gay St, Columbus, OH 43215-3108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#20 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $157 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbus Downtown hotel offers contemporary all-suite accommodations in the exquisitely renovated Historic Buckeye Building. This high-rise hotel in Downtown Columbus will impress you from the moment you arrive with the lobby's soaring 40-foot ceiling. Specializing in extended-stays, our Columbus hotel features newly renovated, spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens, living and work areas, luxury bedding and free Wi-Fi. In the morning, indulge in a variety of healthy and hearty favorites from our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. During downtime, work up a sweat in our state-of-the-art fitness center featuring free weights and cardio equipment with TV screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing