We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful refurbished bank & centrally located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Ranked #27 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
OH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful refurbished bank & centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a 3 day weekend w/ girlfriends in September - our first at this location. The hotel is a renovated bank building which made for some charming architecture (vault door leads into breakfast buffet room where an old safe and safety deposit boxes still stand) and welcome stay. Were able to check in earlier and our room was very clean w/ retro-decor, spacious and ready to go when we arrived at approx. 1:30 PM. Pleasantly surprised to see a fully-stocked kitchen & stainless steel appliances - we didn't use them but def a plus if your traveling with children. My only complaint was the bathroom did not have a fan or ventilation feature so we had to leave the door open between showers! Hotel was very quiet and is pet-friendly but only saw one pooch in a handbag on our way out to dinner. Breakfast buffet was the standard fare with hot and cold foods, waffles, eggs, pastries and juices.

Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Hotel did not seem crowded for a weekend with lots of events going on. Valet parking is $20 (check your bill - we were charged twice) but a parking lot was a few steps away in a safe area and much cheaper. We "valeted" our vehicles the first night and "parked" for the second night. I felt very safe in leaving my car there and generally in the whole area.

Directly across the street we ate two FABULOUS eateries! The quaint TipTop which served us up some delicious fried green tomatos and pot roast sandwiches in a thrift-shop-chic atmosphere. Had dinner at Due Amici the following night and was impressed by staff and delicious Italian cuisine. Best spinach artichoke dip on the planet!

All in all I would not hesitate for a moment to stay here again. There are restaurants abound and centrally located to the Port Columbus airport. My girlfriends and I would come back here in a minute!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swan7girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    107
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
57
71
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

New Residence Inn with large rooms and full kitchens...great if traveling w/ kids. Numerous restaurants w/in walking distance, and close to almost everything in downtown Columbus. Nice exercise area and lounge, and the staff was very friendly. Only parking option is valet ($20), so be prepared to pay or park at your own risk a block or two away. Overall, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waylontdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI, USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is in an old bank that was converted into hotel rooms - very unusual breakfast nook! The vault door is still in place. All the amenities were great - clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast. The only complaint is the cost of parking, but that's life in the "big city"

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiraxTHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Ok .. its new, its clean, it takes dogs, centrally located and its an apartment... there is nothing better in Columbus outside of a private guest house. Accommodation is really nasty in this town, so of the worst... its by far the best, and thus I have stayed here often enough... If you have to stay in Bumpus, then stay here, and bring your dog....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

I loved this hotel. I loved the layout of the room, and amenities provided. The room included a small kitchen area, couch, and bed, which was perfect for our three nights at the hotel for the bar exam--we needed room to spread out and study and it was wonderful.
Each morning we ate at the breakfast buffet downstairs, the food wasn't five star, but very nice and convenient to have before we left for the day. The hotel has a lot of character, as others have side. Everything was super clean, modern.
One small complaint--on the first day we accidently left our door dead bolted because we went out through our friends adjoining room next door, and because of that our room was not cleaned. It was annoying because we had clearly went through the two open adjoining doors and the cleaning staff could have seen that and cleaned our room. But the next day when they did clean the room they even did all the dishes! They have a free grocery service too. Great internet too.
The parking is $20 per day valet...what to expect in any city. Most of the staff was nice, sometimes didn't know what we were asking but nice.
I loved the room so much I will stay here anytime I go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happsmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

This hotel is new, modern, and very clean. The lobby is impressive with high ceilings from a former bank. The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and include a kitchen area, sleep sofa, and a flat screen t.v. The bathroom has granite countertops and is a good size. Free wireless internet and full breakfast are included. Most importantly, the staff is very welcoming and helpful especially the general manager, Rob K. Rob was extremely helpful and professional and spent over half an hour rectifying my priceline reservation. Definitely a hotel we will come back to.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

Billed as accepting pets but should not accept dogs as there are no facilities for dog walking within the hotel premises. Arrived at 11 pm and had to walk down to river 2 blocks in an unsafe place. Morning walked confirmed area in transition and not safe at all. So, what is the point of accepting dogs endangering the owners' lives by forcing them to walk in an unsafe place. This is irresponsible.

Could not get room internet to work. Spent over an hour on the phone to tech people as desk people said to call the 800 number. Never could get the inroom internet to work.

Went down to lobby to use business center situated under a/cs the size to use to cool airport hanger size buildings as this hotel is built in an old bank. The air makes the area where the 2 computers are situated an absolute frigid area. Wanted to ask for blankets but only spent about 10 minutes as I was frozen out.

Upon arriving saw the sign stating valet parking only for $20.00. This was not mentioned on the phone.

The room was beautiful and spacious but the above made the stay an irritant rather than a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeysweeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#42 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Address: 36 E Gay St, Columbus, OH 43215-3108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#20 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbus Downtown hotel offers contemporary all-suite accommodations in the exquisitely renovated Historic Buckeye Building. This high-rise hotel in Downtown Columbus will impress you from the moment you arrive with the lobby's soaring 40-foot ceiling. Specializing in extended-stays, our Columbus hotel features newly renovated, spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens, living and work areas, luxury bedding and free Wi-Fi. In the morning, indulge in a variety of healthy and hearty favorites from our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. During downtime, work up a sweat in our state-of-the-art fitness center featuring free weights and cardio equipment with TV screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing