We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charm at Columbus downtown Residence Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Ranked #30 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Historic charm at Columbus downtown Residence Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent our anniversary evening at the Columbus downtown Residence Inn on Feb. 8. What a gorgeous lobby in the restored Buckeye Federal Bank Building on Gay Street in the heart of downtown Columbus. Our generous suite included a fully-equipped modern kitchen, large bathroom with private vanity area, comfortable seating and a very luxurious King sized bed. Jasime, the bartender/hostess on the mezzanine bar was warm and welcoming. The bar overlooks an empty area that used to be the bank teller area --- it's prime space for a restaurant someday, but it didn't detract from the gorgeous high ceiling, historic pillars. We enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast the next morning, which is set up in the bank vault, complete with the vault door as the entry. Great place for a get-away weekend, or for business in Columbus -- has a conference room with A/V and other amenities. We live in Columbus, but we'll do this again as a treat!

Room Tip: We happened to have a corner room, which was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Jane S,
We're happy to have been a part of your anniversary celebration, and thank you for writing a review from your stay. We appreciate your compliments regarding the charm of our historic building, as well as the comfort and excellent service you experienced. I will be certain to recognize Jasime with a special commendation for her warm hospitality. Thank you again for choosing Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    98
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
64
21
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We usually stay right off the interstate when traveling, but decided to change things up this time. Hotel was easy to get to off 86. We stayed on a Sunday night and were able to park on the street for free right in front of the hotel. Erika was great checking us in and working it so my saved points were used to pay for that night's stay.
Cool decor - lobby used to be a bank, hot breakfast is self serve in the old bank vault! Rooms are more than adequate- are mini apartments. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suntan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
suntan2007,
We appreciate you choosing Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, and we thank you for writing a review. It's fantastic to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found our service, accommodations, and amenities perfectly suited for your travels. I'll be certain to pass along your kind comments to Erika regarding her excellence in hospitality. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I love Marriott properties in general and stay in-brand as much as possible based on the consistency of quality. But this property is a gem.

If you've read anything about the place you know it occupies an old bank building in downtown. It's really cool, because they have lots of the original pieces and decor from the bank- the breakfast area and kitchen are the safe deposit boxes and vault,with the original vault door. There's a partition in the lobby and you can look over to see the old bank floor with original teller desks. The ceiling is high and beautifully designed.

Then the rooms! We got a corner suite with a king bed, and the shower was amazing. It had THREE shower heads- one standard Speakman head, a rain head mounted on the ceiling and a dual stream that shot horizontally across the shower. There was a full kitchen and it was well-appointed with nice countertops and stainless appliances.

IF I had to complain it would be that the housekeeping attention to detail was lacking. Dirty cups in the cabinets with lipstick still on them, dirty surfaces, only one roll of toilet paper in the room with about 20% remaining. Dust on light fixtures. You know, things that aren't really worth taking the time to complain and annoy the front desk staff over, but things you notice.

Speaking of front desk staff, they were amazingly friendly and welcoming! First class service. We didn't use valet because they have a public parking lot right next to the hotel and you can save $5 that way, not to mention not have to deal with the inconvenience (and sometimes long waits and incompetence) of valet in general.

So to summarize- Stellar location, amazing property, wonderful service. I can't wait to return! Thank you!

Room Tip: If you want a great view, you'll definitely want the highest floor you can get- we had the 6th a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stormycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
stormycakes,
We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. It's fantastic to hear all the aspects that made for an enjoyable experience. We thank you for the compliments regarding our location and property, but more importantly, our staff. I look forward to sharing your kind comments to our team regarding their excellence in customer service.

Please know we addressed your valuable comments with our housekeeping staff and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations in cleanliness. We value you as our guest and look forward to extending our hospitality to you again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was located right downtown with several things to walk to, the room was ready and cleaned upon arrival and the front desk was nice asking us if we had a preference on what floor we wanted to stay on. Also the old bank was a added touch, breakfast was served in the old bank vault which was pretty neat

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Fridles,
We appreciate your review and thank you for choosing Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. I'm pleased to hear our central location provided many options for your travel needs, and our clean accommodations and friendly staff met your satisfaction. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The room was very nice. The hotel is unique and it has tons of character still from the old building. Overall the experience was nice and comfortable. The breakfast had a great variety and the breakfast host was nice. I would most defiantly come back again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyL1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
TiffanyL1908,
We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We planned a quick, overnight trip to Columbus and the Residence Inn was located in the perfect location. Another poster had an issue with the valet, but I have to say that everything about our stay was as close to perfection as you can get. Well, OK there isn't a lot of space at the street entrance, but that was a small thing (no pun intended). The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and made great dinner recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Kathleen P,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. It's great to know that our central location perfectly suited your travel needs and you found our friendly service to meet your satisfaction. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your overnight trip to Columbus, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel was fabulous, with wonderfully comfortable rooms. In a renovated bank, it was definitely a unique stay, with some of the old components remaining (you enter the breakfast area through the bank vault door).

However, I used valet parking and when my vehicle was returned, there was a sizable dent with multiple scratches on the rear driver's side. The valet didn't mention it when he brought my car back and opened the door for me, blocking my view of the damage. I noticed when I stopped for fuel, and I called the manager of the valet parking. He asked me to return to the hotel so we could fill out the necessary paperwork and take photographs for proof. He was very friendly and accommodating, but I am quite disappointed that I paid to put my vehicle in the care of a valet company where it was damaged and the employees were too dishonest to mention it to me. Please, check your car before you leave!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTSarahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
MTSarahS,
Thank you for writing and sharing feedback from your visit. We appreciate you selecting our hotel during your travels, and we're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay. I sincerely apologize for any frustrations and inconveniences you encountered with the valet. I'm pleased to hear the manager was friendly and accommodating in resolving the issue. We value you as our guest and hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#28 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Address: 36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#20 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing