We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building in Classic Revival style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Ranked #28 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

There are a number of buildings in the downtown Columbus area that are on the National Register of Historic Places due to their architectural style. I am not sure if this one is, but gratefully, I am glad that Marriott properties have elected to preserve it.

This building was completed in 1927 as the Buckeye Building and Loan (now, The Buckeye Building), just in time for the calamitous stock market crash of 1929, that one must assume doomed the aforementioned savings and loan company. A sample of the ledger is available to view on the wall in the lobby of the hotel, a classic for a business student like myself.

The best view of the first floor lobby and ceiling is from the cafe in the mezzanine. The sturdy looking columns and repeated patterns of simple features lend one to think of the strength that the financial institution wanted to project. The ornate fascia extends to the even entrance of the elevators.

The building is two to three blocks from the Scioto River, that carves its way through downtown. The city fathers have done an admirable job reclaiming and enhancing their waterfront asset. It is beautiful and lovely to walk around sunset. The visitor meets the replica of the "Santa Maria" moored on the river bank where Gay Street runs to the river.

The interior appointments of the hotel part are also interesting. What was once the vault now houses the kitchen and the breakfast bar. So, you can literally see the massive vault door on your way to toast a bagel.

All of the room decorations are modernized and pleasing, though are starting to show their age a little. The rooms are spacious with fantastic, big windows.

The staff is friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in a New York minute. No onsite kitchen is acceptable because of the volume of excellent eateries in the immediate area. One of them is the official room service of the hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room on the fifth floor, which seemed fine. I found it quiet. The fridge in my room (511) wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awmonro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

awmonro,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to experience all that our unique and historical property has to offer. I’m glad you were able to acquaint yourself with the variety of offerings in Columbus, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 365 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here with my son & his family to attend a Columbus Crew game. The hotel is a rennovated bank and still has all the charm of the old building. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They greeted me as soon as I entered the lobby and check in was a breeze. As soon as my son & daughter-in-law walked in with their daughter, the clerk greeted them and asked if they would be needing a crib.

The room was awesome, very clean and well decorated. It was a two-bedroom suite which allowed for us to gather as a family in the living/kitchen area but to have privacy to sleep. The room had all the amenities of home and the beds were very comfortable. There are TV's in each bedroom as well as the common area.

When we were ready to leave for the game I realized that I had left some items in the car which had been parked by the valet. One of the valets was good enough to escort me to the parking garage so I could get the things out of the car with no trouble. Alll of the valets we came into contact with were polite and efficient.

We only stayed one night so we didn't get to explore the hotel very well, which I regret. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Anita A,
Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback regarding your experience at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while attending a Columbus Crew game, and we’re glad our friendly staff and comfortable accommodations made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon to explore our hotel and all that downtown Columbus has to offer. Thank you once again for writing.

Kind regards,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed one night at this Inn and were not disappointed at all. The staff was super nice. The valets were prompt in getting our car multiple times. We were given early check in (to get ready for a wedding) and late check out (to recoup from a Segway tour) which worked perfect with our schedule. The breakfast was plentiful and they had a very nice selection. It was at terrific idea using the vault. Our room was very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Saturday morning it was raining and we needed to walk to our tour sight. The desk clerk offered us umbrellas. I was more than happy to advertise for the inn as I stayed dry on our walk. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LoughsofVermilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

LoughsofVermilion,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. It’s wonderful to receive your compliments about our great hotel and friendly staff. Each member of our Residence Inn team strives daily to provide exceptional guest experiences. I’m pleased to hear our staff member demonstrated just that with offering umbrellas that kept you dry on your walk to your tour site. We’re glad you had an opportunity to explore Columbus and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a beautiful historic building and they have done a great job with the general renovation, but this hotel is missing details that should be there for the $200+ a night Price. The carpet was stained, the furniture worn, and the service was below par. My room was never properly serviced, partly serviced, but not fully, and any request I had to the front desk were sometimes met with a smile, and other times with attitude. The breakfast was a nice option, but both mornings I came down, items had not been refreshed (I gave up on the third morning). The hotel was clean and comfortable, but did not meet the Marriott standard in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntBee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

AuntBee13,
Thank you for writing. It's great to hear you liked our historic building and found our accommodations clean and comfortable during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your stay. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The residence inn downtown is a great hotel in regards to location, price, and the room itself. My experience with valet has been unfortunately horrible. After one night of my three night visit one of the valet scratched and dented the drivers side door panel of my rental car. The management acted quickly and the incident is being handled by the second party that handles parking for this residence inn. I hope this is a learning experience for the staff that the parking of a customers car is a extremely important service and the staff should treat it as such.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teedee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

teedee68,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we’re glad our central location and comfortable accommodations suited your travels. We are again very sorry for the experience you had while staying with us and any inconveniences imposed as a result. I can assure you that our staff, as well as the valet company, has learned a valuable lesson from this experience. We value you as our guest and we hope you will give us an opportunity to extend our hospitality to you in the near future. Thank you once again.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

stayed there for more than a week for some business. the place is like an apartment, where you have a complete kitchen (full sized fridge, electric range, microwave oven and dish washer) in your suite. i also liked that they have a laundry room so we didn't have to pack much for our trip to ohio. they advertise that they have a gym, but this so called gym is more like a closet with very minimal equipment. they do offer free gym membership though on a real gym a nearby

there was free breakfast, but it is pretty standard for a marriott. so had a tough time eating it after the 3rd day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orson_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

orson_y,
Thank you for selecting our hotel while on business and writing a review about your experience with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your visit and found our spacious accommodations to provide the comforts of home. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This extraordinary historic building is only the first part of what I liked about this hotel. The building was originally constructed as a bank, with 44-foot, deeply coffered ceilings and Tennessee marble on the first floor. The windows are nearly floor to ceiling, providing a light and airy space. The breakfast area includes the original vault, with its massive door intact. A staircase to the mezzanine, where the bar is located, gives you a view of the entire main floor, which is a stunner. Eventually the owners hope to attract a restaurant to the unused space that is now curtained off with tall, diaphanous curtains.

The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, with marble countertops and stainless steel appliances. The refrigerator is full-size, not some miniature under-the-counter model. The decor is attractive and thoughtful, not hotel minimalist. And the exercise room is unusually large for such a small hotel, though the TV remote control was inoperative.

The staff was wonderfully courteous and helpful, and left you with the impression that they actually enjoyed working there.

Best of all, It's right downtown, just a couple of blocks from the state Capitol, in the theater district - a great neighborhood to go walking in. The City of Columbus has even posted signs for a brief walking tour, with helpful information about historic buildings.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the building have a view of a parking garage, if you plan to spend time lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

mcf48,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your wonderful observations about our great hotel and extraordinary historic building. We appreciate your kind comments about our courteous staff, spacious accommodations, and the variety of amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our central location in downtown Columbus. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#44 of 145 in Columbus
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#57 of 145 in Columbus
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 145 in Columbus
1,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Address: 36 E Gay St, Columbus, OH 43215-3108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $139 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbus Downtown hotel offers contemporary all-suite accommodations in the exquisitely renovated Historic Buckeye Building. This high-rise hotel in Downtown Columbus will impress you from the moment you arrive with the lobby's soaring 40-foot ceiling. Specializing in extended-stays, our Columbus hotel features newly renovated, spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens, living and work areas, luxury bedding and free Wi-Fi. In the morning, indulge in a variety of healthy and hearty favorites from our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. During downtime, work up a sweat in our state-of-the-art fitness center featuring free weights and cardio equipment with TV screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing