We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good alternative to home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Ranked #25 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good alternative to home”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

stayed there for more than a week for some business. the place is like an apartment, where you have a complete kitchen (full sized fridge, electric range, microwave oven and dish washer) in your suite. i also liked that they have a laundry room so we didn't have to pack much for our trip to ohio. they advertise that they have a gym, but this so called gym is more like a closet with very minimal equipment. they do offer free gym membership though on a real gym a nearby

there was free breakfast, but it is pretty standard for a marriott. so had a tough time eating it after the 3rd day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orson_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
orson_y,
Thank you for selecting our hotel while on business and writing a review about your experience with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your visit and found our spacious accommodations to provide the comforts of home. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    113
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
64
74
21
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This extraordinary historic building is only the first part of what I liked about this hotel. The building was originally constructed as a bank, with 44-foot, deeply coffered ceilings and Tennessee marble on the first floor. The windows are nearly floor to ceiling, providing a light and airy space. The breakfast area includes the original vault, with its massive door intact. A staircase to the mezzanine, where the bar is located, gives you a view of the entire main floor, which is a stunner. Eventually the owners hope to attract a restaurant to the unused space that is now curtained off with tall, diaphanous curtains.

The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, with marble countertops and stainless steel appliances. The refrigerator is full-size, not some miniature under-the-counter model. The decor is attractive and thoughtful, not hotel minimalist. And the exercise room is unusually large for such a small hotel, though the TV remote control was inoperative.

The staff was wonderfully courteous and helpful, and left you with the impression that they actually enjoyed working there.

Best of all, It's right downtown, just a couple of blocks from the state Capitol, in the theater district - a great neighborhood to go walking in. The City of Columbus has even posted signs for a brief walking tour, with helpful information about historic buildings.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the building have a view of a parking garage, if you plan to spend time lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
mcf48,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your wonderful observations about our great hotel and extraordinary historic building. We appreciate your kind comments about our courteous staff, spacious accommodations, and the variety of amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our central location in downtown Columbus. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff here are excellent. I called in advance with some questions and the person at the desk was super nice. She connected me to housekeeping and I spoke to Brian, the manager. He was also very helpful and gracious.

We were very happy with our rooms which were spacious, clean and comfortable.

The location is excellent. Not far from the Convention Center (about a mile and easily walked unless you are hauling stuff) and close to open air markets and lots of restaurants.

But the staff made the stay -- with consistent politeness and helpfulness. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
LaVida,
Thank you for writing a review. We’re happy to hear of your pleasant stay, and your appreciation of our staff at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. I’ll be certain to pass along your kind comments about team’s excellence in hospitality, and I will recognize Brian with a special commendation for his outstanding service. It’s great to hear you enjoyed everything our central location has to offer, as well as our clean, spacious and comfortable accommodations during your visit. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we hope you’ll visit again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful Historic building with all the Marriott conveniences! The lobby (an old converted bank) is amazing and one of the nicest I've seen for a Marriott (and I've had over 50 nights in Marriotts already this year in many countries). About a 10-15 minute walk from the convention center. Parking is not included but is pretty convenient with in-out valet services. The included breakfast was very good and complete (cooked eggs, homefries, waffles, bagels, etc. etc). There are plenty of places to eat nearby (try the Elevator brewery around the corner for another amazing historic building). My room (a king suite) was a bit on the small side. The biggest drawback ... my internet (even when I paid for a upgrade was so slow that I couldn't get my work done). I would definitely stay here again for a family trip but would hesitate for business unless the internet was fixed.

Room Tip: Nice views on the higher floors (we could see the fireworks from our window!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdsGirlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
EdsGirlBoston,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. It’s wonderful to receive your kind comments about our beautiful historic building and great location. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for any frustrations you encountered with the internet speed. Please know that this issue is being addressed to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is located in an old bank building, so it has a unique feel to it. It's also just a minutes ride over to the arena district. The rooms are spacious and very clean, and they include a small kitchen with working burners, microwave and a full size refrigerator. The staff were all very nice and valet was quick to get our car for our departure. The only small issue we had was that there was no valet person out front when we got to the hotel, so we weren't entirely sure what to do. Not a huge problem though, you just park out front and bring the keys in with you and they take care of the rest. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicsanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Nicsanna,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our unique property, friendly staff, as well as our clean and spacious accommodations. We’re glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We called to let them know we would be checking in lare. When we arrived we were greeted by the valet and a homeless guy asking for money. Instead of assisting us with the bags and car the valet stops to listen to this homeless gentleman tell us about the 'conspiracy' paper he's selling. We drove 8 hrs to Columbus and this was our initial impression of this hotel.

So after this we grab our luggage apparently the valet service does not help with bags. We experienced completely different service in DC. The Courtyard Mariott there treated us like royalty. When we left we had 3 guys assisting us and another guy offering us complimentary water. This location besides the room being great did not meet Marriott standards as service goes.

Pro's
Breakfast was diverse
Beautiful building and very updated

Cons
Location was not good at night but better during the day though theres no real touristy things to do.

The place is locked like Fort Knox at night so you'll need to use the phone to buzz in

Valet is useless. They will park your car but don't expect help with your bags. And they will wait for their tip.. No seriously.

The doors are really loud. So you will hear them shutting through out the night and day.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisimel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Cruisimel80,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed our unique property and complimentary breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the areas that we fell short in meeting your expectations. Your comments provide many opportunities for improving our guest experience. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I did not know when we booked it how lovely a revived bank would work as a hotel but I have to say we were impressed.

Let me first say the greet staff and valets were superior in customer service. Everyone of them was awesome and made the stay that much better. We went to the bar the first night and the visiting bartender from another Marriott was terrific. They need some work on the ambiance because the place could be so much better.

We went to relax but unfortunately the loud overbearing music from the gym was deafening. Head phones anyone?

The room was clean and comfortable although the refrigerator made loud weird noises one day that were awful. It seemed to calm down after that or perhaps someone came in to fix it.

Breakfast was included so good or bad (and it was both) you can't really complain because you can always find something. I am not a big buffet breakfast person but you could eat pretty heartily if your food standards are mediocre.

The maid service was hit or miss. The morning lady was fine but the afternoon ...not so much. We had to ask for shampoo, and toilet paper?? Really?

The location however was fantastic. New restaurants in an up and coming neighborhood offered many choices and we were able to take advantage of several of them. It was such a nice area I wanted to buy one of the condos down the street for sale...but that would be crazy now wouldn't it?

The best part here is the building. A great bit of nostalgia and KUDOS to Marriott for taking this old bank and preserving a unique part of Columbus history. They even kept the vault and vault door, which is where you enter for breakfast in the morning. The ceiling is architecturally beautiful and they retained some of the doors and sitting areas that existed when it was a bank.

I would stay here again because 1 - I Love Marriott and 2 - I love historic buildings. Too many times these buildings are torn down and to keep this history alive and well is something I admire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Joanne I,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. I’m pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our unique property, great location, comfortable accommodations, and excellent customer service. We always appreciate our guests providing both positive feedback and opportunities for improving our guest experience. I sincerely apologize for the noise disturbances you encountered during your stay and the areas we fell short in meeting your expectations. We’re glad you liked our hotel otherwise and found our historic building to provide a bit of nostalgia by preserving a part of Columbus history. We value you as our guest and hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#41 of 143 in Columbus
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Address: 36 E Gay St, Columbus, OH 43215-3108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#20 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbus Downtown hotel offers contemporary all-suite accommodations in the exquisitely renovated Historic Buckeye Building. This high-rise hotel in Downtown Columbus will impress you from the moment you arrive with the lobby's soaring 40-foot ceiling. Specializing in extended-stays, our Columbus hotel features newly renovated, spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens, living and work areas, luxury bedding and free Wi-Fi. In the morning, indulge in a variety of healthy and hearty favorites from our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. During downtime, work up a sweat in our state-of-the-art fitness center featuring free weights and cardio equipment with TV screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing