We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Girls' weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Girls' weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel was awesome, the room was fab, but the best part was the service! Nate Wise was very accommodating and entertaining, and made sure our stay was nothing but the best. We came to Columbus for a girls getaway/Christmas shopping weekend, and the Residence Inn was in a great location for that. Shopping at Easton, dinner at the Elevator Brewery, and hanging out with Nate and the Residence Inn staff at the front made our weekend so memorable!

Room Tip: Pick the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherLebanon_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
HeatherLebanon_OH,
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you and your friends chose to stay with us at Residence Inn. I'm pleased to know you enjoyed our hotel and wonderful staff. I'll make sure to give Nate a special commendation for his outstanding service and appreciate you highlighting his work. I hope you had a great, memorable weekend with your friends and plan to schedule another getaway. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    100
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
64
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is THE most unusual Residence Inn I've ever stayed in. When I say unusual, I mean unusual in a good way!! This hotel is obviously a Residence Inn...but the building has been renovated, while retaining some if its very unique and appealing. Great stay in Downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannonwarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
bearclaw6672,
Thank you for writing a review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our unique hotel and had a pleasant visit. We welcome you to visit us again the next time you're in Columbus.
Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

From the second I walked in the door to the moment I left, the staff here bent over backwards to please me. I asked about a convenience store when I arrived and they gave me walking directions for two... were closed (it was just after 8 pm on a weeknight so apparently all of downtown Columbus shuts down at that time). When they found out they'd sent me on a wild goose chase, they gave me complimentary snacks and beverages. In the morning when I needed to attend a trade show and found out that boxes had not made it from Fed Ex, they did everything in their power to get me those boxes! They even had their valet driver bring them to me at the convention center. Brian, Nate, Alex and Ashley...you are the most gracious hosts I have ever encountered.

So that's the staff, what about the digs? The building is an old bank, complete with vaults and marble and safe deposit rooms. Very cool architecture. I will stay here every time I come to Columbus!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJoBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
MaryJoBarry,
It's great to hear from you. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We're grateful for your kind compliments about our staff. I'll make sure to give Brian, Nate, Alex, and Ashley a special commendation for their outstanding service. We're pleased that everything worked out well for you and hope you had a successful convention. Your gracious hosts will continue to provide their best service, so we hope you'll visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

There are generally 2 types of Residence Inn's - ones that have undergone renovations and ones that haven't. The ones that have are pretty good properties. The ones that haven't - not so much. Then, there is this property. This is the best stay in Columbus by far. The housekeeping is the best in the city. The staff is friendly. The hotel is quaint and offers good amenities. The decor is outstanding and the beds are comfortable. This and the Lofts are the two best and the Drury is a distant 3rd. All others aren't even close.

I am a frequent traveller who forgoes getting the full points at the Renaissance because this Residence Inn is so good.

Room Tip: Lower floors tend to be more coveted, but occassionally there will be street noise in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddy_and_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
buddy_and_lindsay,

It's great to hear from you. We appreciate your kind review and great comments about our hotel and staff. I'm glad you found our decor pleasing as well as our staff friendly and helpful. All of your compliments are well received and appreciated. Please keep us as your choice hotel when traveling to Columbus! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Overall, a nice, well-kept hotel that I would return to in the future. A studio suite was more than suficient for what I needed (i.e., a kitchen), but heck it was still nice to have. I didn't get a chance to have the breakfast, but did see the area that it is served. Quite cute. The design/decor of the lobby/first floor doesn't translate to the rooms though. Just something I noticed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathand1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
jonathand1018,

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to have had you as our guest, and glad you enjoyed your stay. The studio suites are spacious so I'm glad you were able to enjoy your suite even it it was for only one night. We're glad you liked our hotel and hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
526 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The person at Marriott who came up with the concept of turning wonderful old downtown bank buildings into hotels should be promoted, with a nice raise. This is the second time in a month I've stayed at one of these converted hotels. Both experiences were excellent (the other one was the SpringHill Suites in downtown Baltimore). The lobby here is charming. The old vault has been cleverly turned into the eating area (the breakfast food, by the way, was fresh, varied and tasty). The rooms are just great, with everything you expect in a Residence Inn suite along with some decorating touches and the nice, high-floor views you DON'T get at a boilerplate RI hotel off of an interstate highway. This particular hotel has some cool restaurants near it. And the Cafe Brioso coffee shop a few doors down is a can't miss morning stop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagnato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
bagnato1,
Thank you for your kind review. It's always nice to hear excitement from our guests about our uniquely designed hotel and wonderful decor. We're glad you liked our property and hope you will return for another great visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a grand historic building and renovated rooms which is not always the case. The rooms were tastefully decorated, my room had a view of the city which was enjoyable. The kitchenette was a big plus. The breakfast was included and it had everything you want from a buffet breakfast. I liked that the internet was free and the business room was accessible. I liked the lobby with a big screen. The biggest asset this property had the staff. Especially the front desk people were very helpful. I had a flat tire in front of the hotel, the valet people were especially helpful. The beds were very comfortable. I also liked the location, it was across a very nice Italian restaurant and a diner/bar open till 2:00 AM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibelcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Sibelcay,

It's great to hear from you. We appreciate your kind review about your stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. I'm glad you enjoyed our great hotel and found your suite to be spacious and comfortable. I'm pleased to know our staff was friendly as well as helpful with your flat tire. We hope you enjoyed our downtown area and found our city to be a great place to visit. Please plan to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#27 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Address: 36 E Gay St, Columbus, OH 43215-3108
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#20 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing