We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of The Lofts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lofts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Columbus B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lofts Hotel in Columbus, Ohio on December 27, 2013. We had a large king room. The Lofts was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Guest services, front desk, valet and others were all very helpful and professional. This is a top-notch operation. The hotel is located across the street from the Convention Center, within easy walking distance to the North Market, Arena District, and other restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCOhio31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear JCOhio31,

Thank you for staying at the Lofts Hotel in Downtown Columbus! I am happy to hear that the valet and front desk were both helpful and professional! We try our hardest to be a top-notch operation. Please visit us again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
The Lofts Hotel- Downtown Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    59
    42
    26
    9
See reviews for
25
98
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I guess that's why they always say never have high expectations:(
Stayed in the standard king suite and honestly I've stayed in nicer rooms at a Holiday Inn. A single coffee maker, small cotton pillows, a very uncomfortable bed, basic cable and we could hear the people upstairs all night. The staff however were very friendly and the location can't be beat. For calling themselves an upscale boutique hotel I think that's quite a stretch. Next time we'll stay at the Westin.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OhioTravelchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear OhioTravelChic,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus! I am glad to hear that our staff is friendly and the location is great. Thank you for the information about what you think our rooms lack. We are going through major renovations in 2014, and love to hear guest feedback. We hope you try us again in the near future.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
The Lofts Hotel - Downtown Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you love the feel of living in a big city loft, like you might find in New York City, or Chicago then your going to love The Lofts Hotel, in Columbus Ohio. My wife loves this type of hotel, living in a big city loft at least for a day or two. The Lofts is right next to the crown plaza hotel downtown and I actually think they might own it, you pull up between the two and the bellman comes out to meet you. The lobby of the hotel is very intimate, reminding you of what It would be like to actually live in this type of building. The Rooms are very spacious for the price, modern and contemporary, decorated with a New York flavor, bare brick walls, black leather furniture, there is a great setting room with a large television, the bedroom looks just like what you would see in a movie about an artist or model living in New York. the Bathroom has black and white tile. Very tastefully designed. Irma & Max's is located in the same building and provided awesome room service to the hotel. The only set back is the hallway, if it's winter time be prepared to put your coat on before leaving your room the Hall ways are cold. However if your looking for a truly unique experience we highly recommend the LOFTS a chance to pretend like your living in the big city for a few days!

Room Tip: I think the higher the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Timothy,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. We strive to be unique as well as trendy. Please visit us again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manger
The Lofts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I chose the Loft in Columbus for a recent stay while traveling with my wife. We got a bargain price on Priceline for a very nice room in a renovated historic commercial building. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. Our room's large windows gave views of the city and 12 (?) - foot ceilings gave a sense of spaciousness. Nearly all aspects of the room were beautifully done with attention to every detail. The bed was excellent, and I sleep very well. The heating/AC system was a bit loud, but I only noticed this once during our stay. Wireless Internet connections, provided from the adjoining Crowne Plaza, were difficult to maintain and streaming media was out of the question. One other deficiency was that the in-room coffee service only provided one serving each of regular and decaf, and, frankly, it was awful. None-the-less, we would consider returning here next time we are in Columbus overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelMarVaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear StrongJohnInMuncie,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the historic feel of building and the rooms! Although we only offer one serving of coffee in the rooms, we do have coffee and tea in the lobby every morning, as well as a full service Café at our sister hotel (Crowne Plaza) across the street. We also just signed a contract with a new internet service provider, so our internet should be well above average very shortly. Thank you for your feedback, please visit us again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are big and nicely decorated. It's close to the convention center, walking distance to Short North, the North Market. Honestly, I didn't spend much time in the room, but the bed was comfy and it was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilots_wife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Pilots_Wife01,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus. We hope you visit us again soon!

Thanks,
Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I seek out Boutique hotels while traveling. I saw The Lofts and knew it was for me. I was certainly right. This is not to be confused with A Lofts. The Lofts is a totally different hotel.It felt like a downtown condo with exposed brick wall, high industrial ceilings, and four windows for a view of the street. My room was on the 5th floor which was the top floor. Halls were wide and spacious. Max and Erma's restaurant is connected, and in bad weather you can walk from the lobby into the restaurant. Great food, and friendly service. Thanks Megan. If you go to Columbus, OH, please, stay at The Lofts. Thanks also to Able.

Room Tip: #5502, great view ig the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear CWTaylor,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the exposed brick and industrial ceilings, and that your experience at Max & Erma’s was a great one. Please visit us again soon! Thank you for the kind words.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We loved the industrial look with the exposed brick and high ceilings. Our room (4410) overlooked he parking garage, but we weren't in the room much anyway. The location of The Lofts is awesome. It's within walking distance of great restaurants, bars and Nationwide Arena. The rooms are spacious. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Heather,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the industrial look of the exposed brick and high ceilings. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Hotel

Property: The Lofts Hotel
Address: 55 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215-2512
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lofts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts is a luxury boutique hotel like no other in the world. Each of its 44 rooms and lodging accommodations is distinctive, offering special features that truly set it apart. Its designer interior offers clean, contemporary lines, dramatically juxtaposed against the strength of a proud historic building. But beyond its rich history and great beauty, The Lofts offers guests a host of features. All rooms were refreshed in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lofts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lofts Hotel Columbus, Ohio
The Lofts Hotel And Suites
Lofts Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing