We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel review in Columbus Ohio”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lofts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lofts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Columbus B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel review in Columbus Ohio”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

very nice upscale hotel. comfortable and modern and retro at the same time. valet parking and very good service from staff. nice bar and sandwich type menu at the street level restaurant. several good restaurants within walking distance. they do charge for wifi though.

Room Tip: 4406 was a suite, but no view. but you are in center of city so what to look at anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Lofts Hotel this fall. We pride ourselves on our guest experience and are happy that yours was a positive one. We look forward to hosting you on your future stays in Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    60
    41
    26
    9
See reviews for
25
99
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Lofts Hotel have so much potential- but...their customer service at the desk was nonexistant. Three hotel employees were arguing with a guest that had booked for two nights that the hotel had payment for only one (they used a prepaid credit card and thought they had paid for both (something to think about if booking with a prepaid credit card). They had been moved out of the room and called on their cell by the hotel. How do I know this? The conversation/arguement went on for 45min. while everyone waiting to check in stood listening. When we got to the desk finally, they said let me call and see if your room is ready- this was 6 pm and we had tried to check in twice before at 2pm and 3pm. Jeremy the valet could give them all a lesson in customer service. He told us where we could change- we had a wedding at 3pm and directions to good restaurants within walking distance, then offered us a ride to the wedding in the hotel shuttle. The room was nice and spacious , but the shower needed a good bleaching. The breakfast at Max and Erma's was delicious and service was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay this past fall. I apologize for the customer service issues that you experienced during the check in process. We are constantly looking for ways to improve, and your experience has given us an opportunity to do so. I am glad that you found our other amenities useful and accomodating. Please feel free to call me at 614/461-4100 regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I was prepared to like the Lofts- I like quirky hotels offering something different. I like the underdog. The property has lots of potential- the workmanship is superior, I heard no other room noises despite the hotel being full (40+ rms). Judging by the hall my room was on there could be some very beautiful rooms because the hardwood flooring, wall art, exposed beams, lighting , generous dimensions made things feel very museum, gallery like which was very pleasing.

But my room was not. Stuck back in the back overlooking a parking lot and roof top vents with one window, the room was dark and institution like, reminding me of the many campus dorm rooms I have lived in. I booked this room many months ago, and asked for a room with a view, but this wasnt my idea. And while I understand that the hotel is not obligated to fulfill requests, they had months warning, using a computer system to block out a room for me if they'd chosen to do some work - after all they ARE in the hospitality business.

They were unable to deal with changing rooms because there is no concierge on duty past 11 pm and calls get routed to the associated hotel across the way - which was full. I was then told this would be left with the morning duty clerk, I would be called with a follow up.

Not only was I not called with a follow up solution to the unpleasant room as promised, but the concierge also did not know I was staying in the hotel - and he told the FedEx delivery man the same thing when my football ticket was delivered - despite both a very recent phone call, and email to discuss delivery of same to the hotel. Fortuneately the Consierge at the sister hotel took the ticket and held it in case I came calliing for it. You would think that they were just 'learning '.

I left early despite reserving the room for 4 nights. That's when I found out some very nice rooms were available.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wynneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

In a city with underwhelming lodging choices, the Lofts is pretty good place to stay. The rooms here are actually large suites. They are a little dark at night, which was made worse in my suite because one of the lights was out. The room was very clean but there was some grouting that needed restoration or cleaning. The room was a little stuffy until very late at night despite adjustments I made to the A/C. The mattress was fairly comfortable but it was not exactly to my taste. The front desk staff were very efficient and very nice as were the valet parking staff. The location is great because it is located across the street from the Convention Center and a short walk to the Short North area, where there are some good restaurants and shops. All in all, I would recommend the Lofts. It is one one of the better places to stay in Columbus. I am happy that a new Hilton is opening across from the convention center. Hopefully, it will raise the bar in Columbus and lead the way to additional improvements in the hotel stock in this city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The positives are many - clean, upgraded furniture, full use of Crowne Plaza facilities and local gym, comfortable bed, high ceilings, and much more. The room was like a luxury hotel.

However, it is not owned by a chain so there are no frequent traveler points. Also, most boutiques (almost all) allow small dogs.

This has many features of an Element or Kimpton, but unfortunately is independently owned.

Really nice stay, though.

Room Tip: Don't know - I'll bet all rooms are good. 2nd and 5th floors connect to the Crowne Plaza, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy_and_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting a friend. This hotel was a little bland, though, I suppose you could call it minimalism. The location is pretty good. just a walk/short taxi ride to night life. Liked the bathroom best. Like the pair of high up windows without curtains that let the sun in to early were my least favorite (even though they look nice). The rooms were spacious, but the beds were not the most comfortable. The hotel is well located and the staff was nice enough. Nothing really special about this one, either way. Not really bad or good. I would stay here again if I had a reason to, but I wouldn't search it out to stay at it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Entropia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Once again looking for somewhere a bit different to stay. Liked the idea of a converted warehouse but somehow it just missed what it was trying to do. Our room was large but the furniture, though modern and tubular, was too small to create the right effect. The room also smelled musty when we first went in. The concierge was friendly and recommended two places for dinner, we went to 'Margarita', which was excellent. The complementary breakfast is served at Max and Erma's off the hotel lobby. The freshly made to order omelettes are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premier_Cru_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
1,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Hotel

Property: The Lofts Hotel
Address: 55 East Nationwide Boulevard, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lofts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts is a luxury boutique hotel like no other in the world. Each of its 44 rooms and lodging accommodations is distinctive, offering special features that truly set it apart. Its designer interior offers clean, contemporary lines, dramatically juxtaposed against the strength of a proud historic building. But beyond its rich history and great beauty, The Lofts offers guests a host of features. All rooms were refreshed in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lofts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lofts Hotel And Suites
The Lofts Hotel Columbus, Ohio
Lofts Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing