We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than I could've wished...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harrison House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Harrison House is a lovely Victorian home in the centrally located neighborhood of Short North. The area ( make sure you read further for details on the B&B itself) is filled with fun restaurants, galleries, funky retail shops, cafes for people watching. And there's plenty of people to watch. With the college just down the road, short north is buzzing with young and not so young all rubbing elbows. Lots of tattoos and lots of body jewelry, a feast for the eyes! Now, to Harrison House. HH is much less a B&B than a home away from home. Lynn makes the experience a total win. She's accommodating, very relaxed about her home (don't confuse this with lax service or cleanliness of rooms), a font of information, soooo funny, a great conversation weaver and has a great big heart. She made our stay in Columbus a wonderful time. We had two rooms with a bathroom just for us. All her single rooms have private baths. Each are decorated charmingly and Lynn has an eye for detail. Breakfasts are great, homemade scones, frittata or omelet or scrambled eggs, pancakes and always bacon! Lynn even made gluten free bread for a guest! If you're going to be in Columbus, don't think, just call or email Lynn to see if she's got room for you!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shing259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Shing...LOVED having your family here...will miss the company and great humor! Finally got my kitchen counter cleared off and now have a bit more space to work, the garden weeds will be gone tomorrow and may even have some new transplants. Wish that you all had not had to spend so much time at fencing bouts (alas, the priority of our children) Wanted to "pick your brain" for some knitting ideas and enjoy more of Paul's humor. Thanks for the invitation to visit you...don't be surprised when I show up at your door some day. Enjoy the rest of the summer and I know we shall meet again. Fondly, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 198 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Staying at the Harrison House was a very pleasurable experience. Lynn's hospitality was genuine and our conversations interesting and informative. She was was very accomodating of our bridge playing needs and we look forward to a return trip. Food was great and room comfortable and inviting. Many thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleBatavia_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Carole, Loved having you and your friends here for the night. Just wish I had listened to my mother and learned to play Bridge! Enjoyed our conversation and sharing of recipes...hope to see you again in Columbus and I hope to get a day off to visit you this Fall. Fondly, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful stay. Lynn was an excellent host and made my wife and I feel like family. The rooms were cozy and the food was delicious. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone visiting Columbus :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

What a pleasure to have you as guests! It warms my heart when guests feel like family! See you again on a future trip to Columbus. Fondly, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Relaxing alternative to hotel. Fresh brownies for evening snack and fabulous breakfast kept us filled up all day. Great location if you are visiting OSU. We were in room 6 on the 3 rd floor...smelled the bacon all the way up there. Fruit, scones, cinnamon cake, eggs and bacon for breakfast. Stay here!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CathyMcNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Ah yes...the "bacon alarm" definitely wafts up to the 3rd floor. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I enjoyed your lively breakfast conversation. Fondly, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Four of us - my mother, my two sisters and I - recently spent a cosy winter weekend at Harrison House.

Lynn, the innkeeper, made us feel almost like one of her family, and I'm not kidding: when we arrived, another one of her guests was in the kitchen making a dessert for Lynn's family's upcoming visit. (Later in the evening, our group was invited to join Lynn, her family, and the dessert-creator-guest to sample the venison that the inkeeper's brother had provided for their entree.)

During our visit, we took full advantage of Harrison House's adjacent guest parking and convenient location near the Short North. The four of us spent Saturday afternoon enjoying the area's unique atmosphere and one-of-a-kind shops. And we had a lovely Saturday-evening dinner at Lindey's in German Village. We had a great time and went home with plenty of memories.

Two caveats to future guests: the 3rd floor room created a tad more "family togetherness" than we might have preferred. Granted, our room certainly did sleep four - and when all are horizontal, comfortably - but when the sofa bed is pulled out, it pretty much fills up the room. Also, it might matter to you that one side of the en-suite shower stall is made of glass block so that the body in the shower is vaguely visible to anyone out in the bedroom. Certainly, one does not choose to stay at B&Bs for the predictability, but it seems like this room should be to be fully understood to be fairly anticipated.

Room Tip: The third-floor bedroom sleeps four but very compactly; its glass-block, visible-in-the-bedroom show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My stay at Harrison House B&B was probably the most short-lived stay of anyone. A couple of weeks ago, my new puppy managed to lock me and my other dog out of our house at 5:30 in the morning! No makeup, no cell phone, hair was a mess, and still in my Jammie's with a newly neutered dog who still had a plastic cone on his head. I should also add that I'm new to Ohio and know hardly anyone in the city still, so I felt extremely alone and scared. After wandering around my neighborhood for about an hour trying to find some way to contact my boyfriend (who was out of town of course) I stumbled upon Lynn's humble abode. She took my dog and me in, fed my hot, fresh coffee and coffee cake, and my dog water and treats. Se let me use her phone and Internet to contact my workplace so I could let the, know I would be late, and she didn't mind that I probably racked her phone bill up quite a bit. At the end of everything, she gave me boxes to patch up the window i ended up having to break and a mop device to reach in and release the metal door jam in the floor. She was incredibly kind, giving, and warm during one of the most stressful moments of my young life so far. I am incredibly grateful for her and her gorgeous home. If you're looking for someone who will treat you with respect and human dignity, cooks better than Paula Dean, and has a comfortable, friendly home, this is your place, hands down. Plus, it's located in one of the most artsy and entertaining areas of Columbus. Thanks for everything, Lynn! You were my mom away from home. <3

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Darling Nicci...what a pleasure to meet you and your puppy in your time of need! I'm happy to hear that your break-in was successful and hopefully the door has been replaced by now. Do stop by again and we'll share another cup of coffee or tea. Fondly, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Harrison House might be the ultimate B & B!
Lynn, owner and manager is a funny, friendly lady who makes you feel right at home in her historical home. The dining room is my favorite dining room in the whole world, and the food is great. Each time I'm there, she goes out of her way to make my stay memorable, without being intrusive. The rooms are quiet, even on this busy street, the decorating is lovely and the food, oh the food!!! It is my favorite place to stay when away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

MaryAnn...always a pleasure to have you as a guest! Maybe we can venture to the "new" Casino on your next visit. xoxoxo Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.2 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#4 of 146 in Columbus
658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#7 of 146 in Columbus
1,770 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center
3.2 mi away
Hawthorne Park Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrison House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 313 W 5th Ave, Columbus, OH 43201-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range: $129 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the comfort of Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, your “home away from home” during your visit to Columbus, Ohio. Whether on business or vacation, you'll arrive as a guest and leave as our friend! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrison House b&b
Harrison House Hotel Columbus
Harrison House Bed & Breakfast Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing