We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strawberry & Buckeye”

Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams
Ranked #5 of 54 Dessert in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since August 2007, we've been a fixture in the heart of the Short North Arts District, an eclectic neighborhood of bars, galleries, antique stores, vintage clothing shops, boutiques, and restaurants. On Gallery Hop nights (the first Saturday of each month) offer the most boisterous scenes, but every day and evening we're serving trios, sundaes, and scoops at a steady pace to locals and visitors from around the world.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
280 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Strawberry & Buckeye”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had a little protein with the buckeye and a little fruit with the strawberry! It's a bit more expensive than I would pay for ice cream, but, I had a gift card so...why not!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luckeycharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    42
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Anyone visiting Columbus needs to stop at Jeni's. You won't believe the flavors that she has...from pear/riesling sorbet to salty caramel to cayenne pepper ice cream. All are unique and very good. In the summer, you can see the line out the door so you know it's a great place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My best ice cream experience in US”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Jeni's is my best ice cream experience in US. Friendly staff. I especially recommend Sweet Corn, Whiskey and Pecans, Ugandan Vanilla, Dark Chocolate. And do not forget to taste their water with cucumber!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayse Neslihan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of a kind ice cream experience!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Flavors you've never heard of and didn't imagine could be done--Riesling Poached Pear, Whiskey and Pecans, Brambleberry Crisp, Brown Butter Almond Brittle, Sweet Corn and Black Raspberries, and on and on. And all are amazingly smooth and creamy, topped of (pun intended) with friendly and helpful servers. We went to the store in Clintonville, but same offerings, and whichever store, it's a treat worth driving for on a hot summer night!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Uniquely flavored ice cream!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

While visiting relatives in the Columbus, OH area we were encouraged to try Jeni's Ice Cream for a refreshing dessert option. Ice cream is ice cream, right? Wrong!! Not only does Jeni's use natural flavors and locally grown ingredients, Jeni's has very unique flavors.

Askinosie Dark Milk Chocolate, Bangkok Peanut, Black Coffee, Brambleberry Crisp, Brown Butter Almond Brittle, Cherry Lambic Sorbet, Dark Chocolate, Pistachio & Honey, Queen City Cayenne, Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet, Salty Caramel, The Buckeye State, The Milkiest Chocolate in the World, Ugandan Vanilla Bean, Whiskey & Pecans, Wildberry Lavender, just to name a few!

I tried the Buckeye State (what can I say, I was in Ohio) and my husband had Dark Chocolate. Both were so delicious I cannot come up with enough adjectives to describe them!

This is a do not miss flavor extravaganza!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing