We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Maybe a little scary” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Columbus North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Columbus North
Ranked #112 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Maybe a little scary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel reminded me of the film "Sunset Boulevard", with the aging star, glamorous at the peak of here career, trying to maintain some elegance and attractive appearance as age takes its toll. A friend in Columbus advised me that the locale of this hotel is increasingly questionable safety, and the metal reinforcements around the room doors supported this perception. It also struck me as odd how many people seemed to be loitering in the hallways (encountering at least 2-3 every time I left or returned to my room), standing or lying on the floor, talking or texting on their phones. (Am I naive?)
I was also hit up by an apparently-homeless person in the lobby. (I had some sympathy, as this was one of our recent sub-zero weekends. But, still, ....)
It's attached to a health club, to which they sell separate memberships but allow hotel guests to utilize.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    68
    105
    79
    104
See reviews for
139
70
22
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you are accustomed to a nice Best Western, I suggest that you stay at one of the other Best Westerns in the Columbus area. You will be disappointed with this one. I have stayed at the one by the Airport, is was very nice. This one was located where I needed to be so I chose it. Never again will I use this one. I rated everything average, however, if I want average I'll go to Motel 6.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, TX, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Lots of room traffic (Prostitution) the hallways had the strong smell of dope in the hallways, all the sidewalks have been covered in several snow falls new and old Unsafe, access to doorways covered in ice new and old Unsafe This motel is not worthy of the BestWestern Logo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Im not really sure what people expect when choosing a hotel, especially one in this class. I have stayed at this Best Western more times than i can count since the early 90's. I prefer to stay downtown at more upscale hotels, however, when 1 is not available, this is the 1st choice I make. It is an older hotel, it is a lil bit out of town, BUT I have never felt scared to stay here, I have never been treated poorly, and I have never booked a price line/hotels.com reservation that was canceled when i arrived. The pool and fitness facility is quite nice, the last time i was in, i could tell that the room had been "refreshed and updated". Considering that Motel 6's and hotels of that class are about $50/night these days, $75 for this hotel really is a steal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, TX, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Staff are awesome, the room was clean and the décor was pleasant. The room was large this is a plus. the local restaurants were not too far away, It's winter of course and the Hotel sidewalks and parking lot are covered in ice so be careful or you will land on your Bum.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Above average to good. Stayed one night with my son and we had a blast at the pool and the area. Although the hotel seemed a bit dated, it was comfortable and clean. The room was nice and large with a separate living room. Would definitly stay at the property again if in the area.

Room Tip: Just in need of an update, but clean and very good for the price paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LegoDude11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Booked this hotel on booking.com. First of all I was disappointed that booking.com had this hotel on their site to begin with but when I got there I found the room air very stale from a lack of ventilation. The room carpets were very dirty and spotted and the bed cover was very word out. My wife swears she got bed bug bites while we were there but I did not visually confirm the existence of bed bugs. Overall this hotel experience was not pleasant. Needs to be updated inside and out.

Room Tip: To get the best room here I would advise that you don't even bother staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#76 of 142 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North
2.7 mi away
Ramada Columbus Polaris
Ramada Columbus Polaris
#54 of 142 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Suites
BEST WESTERN Suites
#21 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn North Polaris
Comfort Inn North Polaris
#36 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Columbus North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Columbus North

Property: BEST WESTERN Columbus North
Address: 888 E Dublin Granville Rd, Columbus, OH 43229-2416 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbus North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Columbus North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Columbus North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Columbus North Hotel Columbus
Columbus Best Western
BEST WESTERN Columbus North Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing