We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this B and B .... very comfortable..had the upstairs suite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
German Village Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this B and B .... very comfortable..had the upstairs suite”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have stayed in a lot of Bed and Breakfast homes throughout the USA and Canada..and must
say this is one of the best... location ....location ..location...and comfortable suite and the
breakfast although not super fancy was very fresh and enjoyable. Can't wait to come back
and bring some Chicago friends.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite overlooks the gardens.... great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenHampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
173
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I decided to celebrate our first anniversary at the Guest House after reading online reviews. It was absolutely perfect! We stayed in Whittier Suite 2 which had a bedroom, living room, kitchen (with stainless steel appliances I'm jealous of), and a beautiful bathroom. The suite was spacious and very well decorated. It felt like a more modern version of home! The suite was also very clean. I normally feel weird about sitting on furniture in hotels, but had no problem here!

DeAnn and the staff think of everything. There were robes; a kitchen stocked with breakfast items, snacks, and all the basic utensils you need for cooking; a tray of iced tea and cookies both days; DVDs and a deck of cards for entertainment; and champagne, strawberries, and an anniversary note waiting when we got there.

The GVGH has a great location. We walked everywhere! Schiller Park, a lovely little park, was about a block away. We ate at Lindey's, Barcelona, the Brown Bag Deli (basically next door), and Schmidt's... all were delicious. We also walked to the Book Loft (a favorite place of ours) and a local wine and beer shop.

Even though it's so close to restaurants and local shops, we had no problems with street noise at night. I'm a light sleeper and didn't wake up once.

It's a little pricey to stay here, but it was so worth it. We were able to this little piece of heaven in downtown Columbus for the weekend. It was a very romantic and relaxing place to stay. We're thinking of making it an anniversary tradition! I would recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akr0nTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been fortunate to have quite a bit of travel experience in my 29 years of life, from $400+ a night hotels and resorts, right down to 10€ a night, and lots of places in between. I can easily say that German Village Guest House created the most amazing experience for our wedding night. We spent the first 3 years of our relationship in German Village, so spending our wedding night in the guest house brought back all sorts of memories of living in German Village, and really takes care to encompass the greatest aspects of the neighborhood. They have gone to such care to consider their guests’ every need or desire, and we both felt so pampered and well cared-for – even spoiled! – during our stay. We plan to return for a weekend for our 1 year anniversary, and can’t wait. You can tell that the fantastic people running the Guest House truly care that your stay is as amazing as it possibly can be. I can’t say enough about this boutique hotel, so you’ll just have to stay for yourself and see what I’m talking about.

Room Tip: We stayed in Whittier Suite 2 - completely fabulous, right down to the Marimekko bedspread. I can...
See more room tips
Green Features: I love the environmentally-friendly practices and approach - it's wonderful, and we both really appreciated it.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenknodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The guest house is totally modern and is located on a quiet residential neighborhood within easy walking distance to good restaurants and shops. Our room was located on the first floor with a comfortable queen-sized bed, chairs for relaxing and a pleasant bathroom. The kitchen, lounge and dining area were just outside our room, but there was never any noise. An ample breakfast is set out buffet style for guests in the morning. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The place was wonderful. Extremely well maintained, with everything you can think of. From chocolates, to robes, to an open kitchen. The garden in the back lets you have a little get away from the city. I would recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
257 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A mission impossible check in style. Secret code emailed to you for entry. Things appear but no one is visible. But hey it worked and the place is great. We looked at all three rooms. All are good I will go for the first floor unit next time. Bigger TV with mid century modern furniture.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We came top Columbus for a wedding, and planned for the trip to be a little longer. The German Village was suggested as a place we should see. So, we booked a night at the German Village Guest House -- for two reasons. (1) It was pretty much in the center of the village, and (2) it looked like a very nice place to stay. We're not usually bed-and-breakfast people, but when we walked in, saw the house and the garden behind, Gayle said this is REALLY NICE. Accomodations were great, and the breakfast superb -- very enjoyable! It was really a treat. Thanks -- Gayle and Mike

Room Tip: Of the three rooms 2 and 3 are on the second floor -- probably preferrable. 2 is in the front and ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#91 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
German Village Inn
German Village Inn
#105 of 143 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Property: German Village Guest House
Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206-2271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — German Village Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus
German Village Guest House Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing