We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Polaris
Ranked #62 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have stayed at a lot of hotels in the Polaris area...This place is great. The rooms are a great size, very clean. No issues at all. We arrived very late Thur. evening and the young lady that check us in, made us feel right at home. We love her!!! We will certainly stay her again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! It made my morning to see such great comments about our new staff. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to let others know! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area! Thanks for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 169 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

As a world traveler, I speak from years of staying at hundreds of hotel everywhere. The Candlewood is a good hotel with the accommodation that make a person feel like an extended home. What sets the Candlewood apart from the other hotels is the Staff. I am a long-term guest and I have been very impressed with Kristie L. with her professionalism and handling of my very unique long-term requests. Kristie has a genuine concern for all guests and I have been very satisfied here at Candlewood because of the world class service from her and the entire Staff. JR

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 4th floor, it is by far the most quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and Kristie. We feel very lucky to have a director of sales with such passion at our hotel. I have shared your comments with her. Thank you for being our guest and taking the time out of your busy day, to leave a review of our propety. It means the world to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed for about 2 months here. The staff was very friendly and personal. Amine, the supervisor, went out of his way to make sure the stay was comfortable. During my stay there was a fire but the staff kept calm and made sure every one was okay and the rooms in good condition. I unfortunately had to move rooms but the Amine got some staff together to help me move my things. The entire gesture made things so much easier. This hotel is also in a prime location in Polaris. It is encompassed by great restaurants and a well equipped mall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Eddie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and commend Amine. We appreciate you being our guest and will make sure to pass your kind words to Amine.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel overnight the past weekend. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was great and made our stay worth it. The elevator was down so Brad offered and then carried our luggage up to the fourth floor. By morning the elevator worked and the manager made the adjustments for the inconvenience.

The staff is great!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Angel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you so much for staying at our property and taking the time to leave a review. I apologize again for the inconvenience the elevator being down created for our guests. I am glad Brad was there to help! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Columbus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I first came to the Candlewood Suites in Polaris when my son was looking at colleges during his last year of high school. He is now finishing up his Junior year at Otterbein University, and we've continued to book rooms here for many reasons. First, and most importantly to me, it is always clean, from the bathtub to the linens and throughout the kitchenette. The property is extremely convenient, right in the heart of endless Polaris shopping and just a couple of blocks off of Route 71. A very pleasant environment, there isn't a restaurant that I can think of that doesn't have a presence here, and it's 10 minutes from Otterbein University, half an hour from OSU's Columbus campus. Additionally, although my small dogs are always welcome, you would never know the property accepts pets from the cleanliness angle - no odors! And it's always quiet - the sound proofing is very good and we have never had any problems, even when the place is sold out. The hotel is the best deal in town - for the extremely reasonable rates, you get a good sized kitchenette, which of course allows you to save even more money if you want to. Last but most certainly not least, has been the recent rather startling improvement in the staff. In the past, I would have said that was the one thing missing - the staff was neither helpful nor pleasant. The owner has taken control and cleaned house staff from top to bottom, and the results are amazing. I haven't encountered a single person here, from front desk staff, to maintenance and cleaning staff to management and ownership, who have not been incredibly kind and wonderful to work with. They are efficient, pleasant and very helpful, and I had the opportunity to tell this to the owner of the property on this visit. He highly impressed me with his dedication to making this the best hotel it can be. He is reinvesting in the property; on my trip to Ohio last week they were measuring the halls for all new carpeting, and the owner told me that in less than 30 days now there will be all new bedding and beds throughout the property. More improvements are planned. I'll end by saying that this is the very first time I have EVER taken the time to write a review (though I shouldn't be proud of that of course), but this hotel is well worth it. I only hope they will still have rooms available when I visit next! I've had reason to be here for over 12 nights over two trips in the past two weeks, due to my son being ill. They have gone the extra mile every time; on both trips I've needed to extend my stay, during periods which were sold out. But they found me space both times, and on this trip even upgraded my room at the same rate when they didn't have the room available for the nights I needed. All in all, I give the Candlewood Suites Polaris an A+rating. I've tried other hotels in the area, some much more costly, but this is the only place we want to stay!

Room Tip: I've found any room they have given me to be fine,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

CK,

Thanks so much for your words of encouragement and such a positive review. We value you as our guest and hope with all our heart your next visit will be one of relaxation and fun for you (and your family). We so much appreciate you letting everyone know how hard our team is working and look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I come to the Polaris area several weeks a year for work. This trip I chose the Candlewood Suites. When I arrived, the front desk employees were friendly and helpful, and check-in was quick. When I first entered my room, I was overwhelmed by the odor of cleaning chemicals; the smell was strong enough it was initially difficult to breathe. The room itself is large with a nice kitchen. The bed was just average, but pillow selection was good.

The first time I left my room and returned my key did not work. This happened three times my first night, and continued to occur even after the maintenance worker showed up to fix the problem. Between the overpowering odor in the room and the key issues, I requested another room, but the hotel was full.

I have stayed at several of the nearby hotels and for the same price I would recommend any of the following over the Candlewood Suites: The Holiday Inn Express Polaris, The Four Points Sheraton Polaris, or the Hilton Garden Inn Polaris. Of these, I like the Holiday Inn Express the
best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Mike W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know that your check-in experience went smoothly. However, I regret that this stay was less than satisfactory on many levels particularly with your room being a disappointment. Please be assured that your feedback will be used to consider for improvements needed.

Again, thank you for your time in writing us a review and we certainly apologize for the shortcomings.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I really enjoy this hotel and stay here at least once every two months. There are A LOT of other hotels within walking distance but I prefer this one. The two full bed rooms are large and have a full kitchen. The place is usually clean and the staff is usually great. My last stay though(12-21-13) proved to be a problem. Everything was great until I walked into the bathroom and found three little flat bugs running around the countertop. This usually doesn't bother me if I a 1 bug but three means there are a lot more not seen. I quickly got rid of them. Everything else in the room was as always, good. When I checked out I forgot my phone charger and didn't realize it. I called the front desk and they said they would check and call me back. Neither happened. I called later and was told they would check again. By this time I was back in town and went to the hotel because I never got a call back again. They let me check out my room which was all ready cleaned and the charger was gone. The gentleman at the front desk tole me he would note it in the log and talk to the cleaning staff when they came in. this made no sense because they were on two different shift. Either way I am out a phone charger. In the grand scheme its no major loss but it would have been nice if they would have done what they said they were going to do. All in all I still would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swimswsharks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

I'm so sorry you experienced problems during your stay. We do value you as our guest and I would love the opportunity to make the problems you experienced right. Please email me the specs on your charger, so I can look in our lost and found or find a replacement. I will also notify housekeeping of the insects found in a room. If you could also provide your room number via email, that would be most appreciated. I hope to hear from you soon! Mica Breese, GM mbreese@candlewoodsuitespolaris.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn North Polaris
Comfort Inn North Polaris
#35 of 145 in Columbus
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Columbus Polaris
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Polaris

Address: 8515 Lyra Dr, Columbus, OH 43240-2026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Columbus
#42 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $94 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Polaris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites Hotel - Columbus/Polaris. Our property features Studios with 1 Queen Bed, Studios with 2 Double beds, and One Bedroom Suites (a queen bed plus pullout sofa) and have fully equipped kitchens with amenities such as a full size refrigerator with an ice maker, 2 burner stovetop, dishwasher, and cooking and eating utensils. Relax in an overstuffed recliner and watch a complimentary movie (a DVD player is provided in your room). Enjoy other complimentary services such as free local calls and high speed Internet access. Visit our 24 hour convenience store, or work off some stress in our Fitness Center while you do your laundry in our complimentary laundry facility. Our hotel is also pet friendly so you can bring your dog or cat as well. (Fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Polaris Hotel Columbus
Candlewood Suites Columbus
Candlewood Columbus
Columbus Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Polaris Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing