We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very noisy hotel - if you have someone above you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Polaris
Ranked #63 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I am currently staying at this hotel on business (17 nights) and have a convenient room on the 1st floor. Although there are a lot of nice features (free laundry for one), the sound coming from above is unbearable when the person above me walks around. It is not too bothersome mid day, but when they get up (in my case, they are awake everyday at 4:30am), I can hear EVERY step they take. I'm not blaming the heavy footed person above me - when I mentioned it to the front desk, they said they get a lot of complaints about that. This person must be very fit, I can count the number of steps they take from one side of the room to another....over and over again. I have tried earplugs but the sound seems to resonate through the walls and ceiling, it's not just the sound......it's reverberation!
I have stayed in many many hotels - I travel constantly for business, have NEVER stayed in a place where I was able to count the steps of the person above me - EVER. Surely there is a way to have made this hotel more comfortable for anyone below someone else.
I haven't had a good night sleep since I arrived and even though there are many nice features in this hotel - for this reason I cannot give it a good review.

Room Tip: don't stay on any floor that has someone else above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junker1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of our property! We would like to inform you, we are under new management and invite you back to the property to see what’s new! We hope you like the changes and will let us know!

Best Regards,

Mica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 170 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

I have been a Platinum member of Priority Club for several years which means I stay in a lot of Hotels . I don't recall ever being greeted so rude. In addition to the rudeness they tried to charge me a rate MUCH higher than the confirmed rate which I had made on their Web Site. My stay was to be for 4 nights however I will stay for one night only(tonight) because I have no other options but I will check out tomorrow morning and NEVER come back.

Room Tip: Bring a printed copy of your rate confirmation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeorgeHermitageTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of our property! We would like to inform you, we are under new management and invite you back to the property to see what’s new! We hope you like the changes and will let us know!

Best Regards,

Mica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The candlewood at Polaris is one of my favorite places to stay when I'm in Columbus for work. It's right on the main drag and across the street from the mall and several restaurants. Every room is a suite with a queen bed, full kitchen, and updated bathrooms. The rooms are very clean. The only update I would suggest is a flat screen tv. I like candlewood because housekeeping isn't in my room everyday and I don't have to worry about my things being rummaged through.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krysten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of our property! We would like to inform you, we are under new management and invite you back to the property to see what’s new! We hope you like the changes and will let us know!

Best Regards,

Mica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I spent three days in March, 2011. Very good experience. I really appreciated the commissionary run on "the honor" syste. Wasn't lways fubling for dollar bills or pocket chance

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of our property! We would like to inform you, we are under new management and invite you back to the property to see what’s new! We hope you like the changes and will let us know!

Best Regards,

Mica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

While my first night stay with Candlewood Suites located on Lyra Avenue was wonderful. I was appalled to the interaction with the General Manager with Candlewood Suites. He was rude and demonstrated less than general manager professionalism than I was expecting. Due to this problem, I cancelled my additional night with Candlewood Suites ( 4 additional nights ) and a future booking of 10 rooms for my daughter's wedding to be held in May. As a result of me leaving before my 24 hour stay with Candlewood Suites, I was charged for two days. It is so sad that this great place had a less than professional manager to work there. I will make sure none of my friends or other families will be staying at this location.
Signed, one disappointment customer of Candlewood Suites -Polaris .

Minda Kay McCoy-Qualls

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadcustomer02182011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of our property! We would like to inform you, we are under new management and invite you back to the property to see what’s new! We hope you like the changes and will let us know!

Best Regards,

Mica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We are so happy to have discovered the Candlewood Suites chain on our roadtrip. On our trip we stayed at three different locations of this chain and each time had a very good experience.

We checked in with our three beagles with a small pet fee and no problems. We made our reservations on the road from about two hours away. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. The parking lot was well lit and there was a nice designated dog walking area.

Our room had a full size fridge, stove, dishwasher, dishes, etc. There was a workspace area, and a large tv with a DVD player. The room was spotless and smelled very good, especially for a smoking room. The bed was comfy. The hotel has a full pantry area (toiletries, snacks, tv dinners, etc.) and the prices are very reasonable (50 cents for a soda). There was a gym and a laundry facility with free washers and dryers.. you just provide the soap or buy some it the pantry. We had no outside or hallway noise in our stay. Several places for food, shopping, and gas nearby.

The only negative thing I can say about this chain is that you have to make ice with the icemaker in the freezer in your room. The icemaker is very slow. We just know now that when we stay with them we need to stop for a bag of ice nearby. Not a biggie for us.

After two stays in a Candlewood Suites we have decided that whenever we are on the road, dogs or not, it will be the hotel we look for first.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moviejunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of our property! We would like to inform you, we are under new management and invite you back to the property to see what’s new! We hope you like the changes and will let us know!

Best Regards,

Mica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

My husband and I love the Texas Roadhouse and thought for our anniversary it would be nice to stay near there so if we had a few drinks we could walk back to a hotel. (Also walking distance to Majic Mountain for the younger ones.) I booked the hotel and thought the price was great for a Saturday stay on short notice. The room was nice and just right for a family of 2, it was clean and the only problem was the toilet ran all might but we just shut the bathroom door. There is two computers on the 1st floor w free internet access and the pool was clean and got packed towards the end of the night. It was quiet to sleep and the bed was comfy. If you go there expecting someone to cater to anything- wake up calls, the free DVD library they advertise, directions etc. this is not the place for you. Often times there is no one at the front desk. If you can get around and don't need much service, it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madisonkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of our property! We would like to inform you, we are under new management and invite you back to the property to see what’s new! We hope you like the changes and will let us know!

Best Regards,

Mica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn North Polaris
Comfort Inn North Polaris
#41 of 145 in Columbus
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Columbus Polaris
0.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Polaris

Address: 8515 Lyra Dr, Columbus, OH 43240-2026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Columbus
#42 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $92 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Polaris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites Hotel - Columbus/Polaris. Our property features Studios with 1 Queen Bed, Studios with 2 Double beds, and One Bedroom Suites (a queen bed plus pullout sofa) and have fully equipped kitchens with amenities such as a full size refrigerator with an ice maker, 2 burner stovetop, dishwasher, and cooking and eating utensils. Relax in an overstuffed recliner and watch a complimentary movie (a DVD player is provided in your room). Enjoy other complimentary services such as free local calls and high speed Internet access. Visit our 24 hour convenience store, or work off some stress in our Fitness Center while you do your laundry in our complimentary laundry facility. Our hotel is also pet friendly so you can bring your dog or cat as well. (Fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Polaris Hotel Columbus
Candlewood Suites Columbus
Candlewood Columbus
Columbus Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Polaris Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing