We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a kind gem for Middle Eastern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nazareth Restaurant & Deli

Nazareth Restaurant & Deli
Ranked #241 of 2,212 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
WESTERVILLE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of a kind gem for Middle Eastern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Nazareth has been an institution in NE Columbus for 20 years - well-prepared and presented great food, reasonable prices, and a colorful owner who makes everyone feel at home. Start with the Gyro sandwich, then branch out to the Spicy Chicken and Rice. The only downside is the inevitable cravings that will haunt your taste buds. Check out the new location on N Hamilton Road. Fun place and wonderful food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, quick service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to Nazareth yesterday for dinner. We were seated and served very quickly. Our party would highly recommend the hummus, tabouli, gyros, greek salad and schwarma. You can order gyros and schwarmas "spicy", and it brings the heat, not hot enough, ask for extra hot sauce! Fries are fresh cut and easily shared as they come out in a big basket. The prices are VERY reasonable considering the amount of food in serving. A nice sized gyro with fixins and fries is $8. Hummus $4. Adding feta to my gyro was add'l $1. Owner spent time with customers making sure their visit was a positive one. I would highly recommend. I've had many gyros but this was impressive-- fresh and flavorful. Very yummy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SmartyGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cleveland
Level Contributor
325 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Fun place, really enjoy dining here, great fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've had a few things here but I usually go with the Rachel's Chicken Chicken Shawarma now. The house dressing is great. I also like the falafel. The prices are really good. You can get a Chicken Shawarma or gyro and fries for $8. The fries are excellent and you get a good portion. It's a great stop for lunch. The Rachel's comes with cheese, lettuce, tomato, and the house dressing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandBeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville
Level Contributor
208 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Middle Eastern Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The place is your basic gyro kind of place. However, the food is a step above the typical I have usually experienced. I have had the mini gyro, the hummus, and the baba ganoush - all were excellent and plenty big for a lunch sized meal. Food was well prepared and fresh. Even had a couple of my friends breaded cheese stick appetizer and they were very good, although I prefer the tomato sauce warm rather than the cold they served. Definitely added to our rotation on the lunch circuit...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Location, Same awesome food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nazareth Restaurant has moved to a nice new location in Gahanna, near Stoneridge Plaza. They are in a small strip center north of Stoneridge on the west side of Hamilton Rd across from Home Depot. New location is sweet, as like in the past the owner can see and greet you from where he prepares the fine food you are about to enjoy! The gyros and fantastic seasoned fries are still 'top of the bill' but you really should try one of the chicken and rice specialties and the grape leaves are out of this world! No alcohol yet at this location but you won't miss it. The food here is just fabulous and the staff is among the best and happiest in Columbus!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikponder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nazareth Restaurant & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Nazareth Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing